Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

To Kill A Mockingbird

Alex, 13

4 out of 5
School
Upton-by-chester High School
Review Date
18 June, 2017

To Kill A Mockingbird

When I first read this book, I thought it was amazing and then to find out that it has been turned into a classic 60s film made me dying to watch this, though the movie was convincing and as the film rolled I just remember all these parts of the book coming back into my head…

The acting was very convincing particularly the performance from Gregory peck who played Atticus and delivered the punch lines beautifully whilst helping create a classic yet inspirational and moral court scene. I liked the boo Radley scenes created by the children Jem, scout and dill (I can’t be bothered to find the actors names) though I felt Collin Wilcock’s crying seemed a little staged- BGT style and James Anderson went over the top on looking like he had too much to drink- does anyone remember the cap scene that replicated a walking dead type scenario. Robert Duvall played his part of Boo Radley very well making him pretty like the book with the help of the makeup department.

I thought the general sound was a bit muffled (not because of the speakers or background chatter) but due to the sound of the film that caused me to kiss important lines and become slightly disoriented. On the other hand, the black and white helped hide any effect mistakes that would probably have been obvious on camera so a considerable bonus for a cheap film with little technology.

I’m not too sure about the background narrative, I felt it lacked tone and power but was important for the storytelling aspect of the film.

Another thing I must add is that there was one important bit of the book I felt the film missed out- yes I do know when making films it is hard to compress everything down- it was the courtyard scene before the characters enter the court and Scout or Mary Balham (have a guess which one is the film name) was talking to the reverend and also the part when Calpurnia (Estelle evens takes Jem and scout into the church to meet all the black people. I think this left a loose end over the links between the finches and the black people( anything else would be racist, i've tried not to offend anyone) which made me confused over why the reverend seemed to know Scout so well. I know of other scenes missed out too but for the sake of being concise will stop now.

May I say, I quite liked the exterior and interior of the courtroom in the film but Boo Radley’s house was way too close to Atticus’ house.

Now for the sound effects, well only one sound effect- the gunshot. I’m not 100% sure whether I liked it or not as it sounded to distant so became likewise to the banging of a drum but served its purpose well enough. The music was a bit muffled alongside the sound but on the whole I thought it was effective at gripping the viewer and portraying the different character’s emotions.

An amazing book and an amazing film. I enjoyed watching it and thought it was extremely morale small mistakes aside, despite the fact they take up half my reviews because I like to observe them. Thank you for reading my review.

Spirited Away

Andrew, 11

5 out of 5
School
Morpeth Newminster Middle School
Review Date
16 June, 2017

Spirited Away

I've learnt over time not to judge a book by it's cover, however it wasn't until I watched this to learn not to judge a film poster either. Because in short this film is a masterpiece. Though I had heard of the film before and heard how positive the reviews were for it, I never took the time or effort to actually bother watching it. That was a big mistake. I have never been a fan of Anime or Japanese films, so this was new for me. Hayao Miyazaki just has a way of hooking you in and not letting you go. It's sort of a Japanese 'Alice in wonderland' type of story, but it is 10 times better than it. The characters are extremely memorable and they are going to stick in my mind for ages, Probably the last thing to add is the music. Wow. I'm blown away. The music is in two words: Absolutely Incredible! I have never heard more peaceful and rhythmic music in my life, and that is saying something huge. It's overall a fantastic and joyous experience. Definitely worth a watch.

The Lion King

Ruby, 10

4 out of 5
School
Llanharan Primary School
Review Date
16 June, 2017

The Lion King

I really like this film but when I was a baby I did not like it I was so scared of scar he frightened me but the scary thing was I was 2 and I watch it in 3D and my mum thought it was so funny so did my nan . But now I really like it and I find it funny and enjoyable . My favourite character is simber's girl friend but I've forgotten her name . My least favourite character is you probably know it's scar I still hate him at this moment and I'm 10 so I would say I'm a little bit of a wimp. My favourite scene is when simber's child is born and they sing that song the circle of life and that is one of my favourite Disney song's . I rate it 4 out of 5 because it's a good film

Up

isabelle, 17

5 out of 5
School
Stratford-upon-avon College
Review Date
14 June, 2017

Up

Up (Pete Doctor, Bob Peterson) is a heart- warming, animation which tells the story of seventy-eight year old Carl Frederickson and his journey to complete his and his late wife's dream to visit paradise falls. Carl became bitter and lonely after the passing of his wife realising their dreams were just that, wanting to escape this life he quite literally flies away accompanied by Boy Scout Russell and animals that join along the way. This tale explores grief and recovery in new ways, giving beautiful visuals and using colour to its fullest potential to give connoted meaning.

I didn't expect to enjoy or connect with the movie on the level that I did, first watching it when I was 14 it had me in tears as it explored the meaning of family and giving a beautiful message that trying new things, with people that you truly love can help you achieve your dreams and you have to break from your comfort zone despite past restrictions, and no matter how many times I watch this brilliant movie, it evokes the same feeling each time.

The use of colour in the first sequence instantly helps tug at the heart strings of the audience, the bright colours and lack of dialogue helps us connect with the images. The colour used to show Carl's younger life connotes happiness and joy, however the quick contrast of colour when switching to present day, helps us sympathise with the main character straight away. I found, the symbol of Ellie's book, found by Carl showing that all was not lost, really latched onto me and I carried that with me throughout the movie.

When we are faced with Carl's idol Charles Muntz, we see a huge contrast in personality as we are faced with someone who is not who he seemed, and became the villain to Carl, this sequence also reflects modern society, as we all idolise celebrities despite not knowing who they really are. Carl realises Charles is a selfish, cruel man using animals to build his status. And while this ruins his childhood idol it gives him the motivation to complete his task for his wife and, in turn do what's right.

This wonderful movie can be enjoyed by anyone, whether young or old, joining these characters on their journey, all of them evoking an emotional response including the, silly but lovable animals. This movie can be compared to other Pixar movies such as inside out, which focus on the emotions of people and really explore the deeper meaning. I believe overall the movie grabbed my attention and got to me on an emotional level, holding it very successful.

My Cousin Rachel

Leonard, 18

5 out of 5
School
Into Film Belfast
Review Date
12 June, 2017

My Cousin Rachel

My Cousin Rachael

My Cousin Rachel directed by Roger Mitchel is a movie adaptation of a novel by the same name. The film is a dark romance mystery drama about our protagonist Philip trying to deal with his grudge against a woman named ‘’Rachel’’ who he suspects to be the cause of the death of his guardian, however as soon as he begins interacting with Rachel in person he develops conflicting feelings for her. As a person who doesn’t watch romance films that often, this film holds a lot of layers and dynamics between the relationship of our main characters, thus makes the film all the more captivating to watch, seeing how our characters progress within the story as they slowly begin to uncover hidden truths about one another.

Throughout the movie we get to see our main character Philip change over time as he slowly develops a close relationship with Rachel, but as much as he developed strong feelings towards her he also begins to question her loyalty to him and what her true intentions are. One of the main aspects which I love about this film is the acting and chemistry between Philip (played by Sam Claflin) and Rachel (played by Rachel Weisz), as the audience we’re enticed by the plot and drama of the film due to the fact that the actions which our characters undergo within the film are realistic and believable due to their circumstances which they face. Seeing both main characters develop and connect with each other as they slowly begin to understand one another eye to eye and witnessing the mental conflict which Philip has within his mind about weather or not he should trust her. The side characters of the film are also great within this film, the reason for this is because they all play a role in changing Philip’s understanding of Rachel, and in addition to this they also subtly highlight and point out flaws of our main character. Pointing certain traits such as being too naive and easily manipulated by others through his emotions and feelings, this can be seen with his conversations with Philip’s close friend Louise (played by Holliday Grainger) who secretly has feelings for Philip. Everyone’s actions within the film holds weight and carries repercussions within future events.

Another aspect as of the film which I personally love is it’s pacing. I believe Roger Mitchel has done a great job at pacing the plot of this movie regardless of the film being two hours long, you’re fully immersed into the mystery and drama behind the characters of the film, witnessing them getting to know one another and uncovering their deep hidden truths about each of the main characters. Throughout the movie I never felt like scenes were paced too long or too short. Regardless of the main focus of the film revolving around the perspective of Philip, we’re given a lot of time getting to understand his backstory and at the same time we also uncover Rachel’s backstory as well. Another particular part of the film which I admired was how the director kept a lot of information about the characters hidden throughout the movie, this is especially evident within Rachel’s character because throughout the film we journey through Philip’s desire to love her yet cannot seem to fully trust her.The cinematography of the film was superb, it was used greatly to show the dynamics of Philip and Rachel relationship showing that regardless of how strong his feelings are towards her he still feels distant and conflicted on whether or not she’s someone he can trust. This is also reflected upon their character designs, at the beginning of the film we see that Philip wears dark clothes reflecting the anger and bitterness he has within him ever since the death of his guardian, but as he begins to get to know Rachel a lot more we can see him change wearing lighter coloured clothes reflecting to us his calm state of mind. In addition to that Rachel for the majority of the movie is presented wearing black clothes, this was done intentionally not only because she’s a widow but also to reflect the fact that as a character within the movie she’s distant to our main character, regardless of how much he may try to get close to her or try to understand her more, she’ll always feel like a mystery to Philip, never being fully understood and always kept in the shadows. Another particular aspect which makes this a very interesting film is because of it’s setting, the film makes use of the lack of good communication within its set time period. Not only does this makes the film very interesting but it also makes the film a lot more engaging seeing how Philip tries to uncover the truths behind Rachel and who she really is. As much as there wasn't much of an antagonist or villain within the film, at the end we realise that he/she was manipulating the whole situation subtly through deception and false beliefs.

Throughout my experience watching the film, I cannot really point out a flaw about the film. Personally the only issue I would take note of would be it’s age rating, not that it’s a problem that it’s rated 12A but it just doesn’t seem like a film for people within this age group (in my opinion).

Aside from that minute problem I highly recommend this film, it has a great compelling plot which left a large impression on me after watching the movie. It has a great cast of characters which adds a lot of depth to the complexity of our main characters, and the complex romance between Philip and Rachel is interesting to witness as they get to know each other a lot deeper with one another.

The Mummy

Zak, 15

1 out of 5
School
Into Film
Review Date
10 June, 2017

The Mummy

"Whatever's in there has been safely hidden for two thousand years. This isn't a tomb, it's a prison."

The Mummy.
Dir: Alex Kurtzmann.
Cast: Tom Cruise, Russel Crowe, Sofia Boutella, Annabelle Wallis, Jake Johnson.
Cert: 15
Runtime: 110min

In the lead up to the film's release, Universal thought it'd be clever to announce that there is officially a "Dark Universe" set in place for future films, starting with The Mummy. I can't blame them, I had no intention in seeing The Mummy till they announced the shared universe, and the talents included in them.

For starters, the first ten minutes of the film is exposition. Which suprisingly, was actually interesting in my opinon regarding the history of The Mummy and where the first originated, in this case London. As the opening scene occurs with Tom Cruise and Jake Johnson in Iraq, the tone shifted massively until the climax of the scene and for me it filled the film with uncertainty, it stayed there throughout and lingered over the film like a curse.

Also might I add, the opening ten or so minutes of pure exposition was gripping, purely down to Sofia Boutella's "Ahmanet". Boutella shows great charisma and pure horror as Ahmanet, and captured the backstory of her and her attitude to life after being mummified brilliantly. Her character and her malevolent purpose gave the film a great bit of tension. She for me, was the stand-out and funnily enough, a geniunely scary villian.

The film though, is very unique, but mediocre, lacklustre, messy and downright confusing. You go from a nice scene between characters that has to automatically connect with the plot, to a cheap jump-scare or two and an average eerie score by Brian Tyler, to a huge action spectacle that is key to the narrative.

Accompanied with a poor, cringeworthy screenplay written by David Koepp, Christopher McQuarrie and Dylan Kussman, the negative aspects do not stop here.

Style over substance, little character development, shambolic errors, messy camerawork and no directoral drive from Alex Kurtzmann was shown, and it's a shame really because I do enjoy some of his contributions to a few films, but his main directoral debut was a shambles.

Tom Cruise. Yep, he's absolutely dreadful, and gives one of his worst performances to date. Granted, his stuntwork shown here is exceptional and I can't take away that from his overall performance, but I thought as a character, Nick Morton was laughably bad. Russel Crowe was average, and that is truly saying something. He's awesome as Henry Jekyll, but as the plot progresses, he slips in and out of being a fairly good part of the film. Annabelle Wallis was okay as Jenny, too.

Will I see the rest of the Dark Universe? Yes! As long as Kurtzmann and the writing team is as far away as possible. Everything was just so rushed and all over the shop, and they really could have handled it better in which he could have made a stronger, crisp film without relying on style over substance, cheap jump-scares, the ancient egyptian lore, bad one-liners and jokes, and finally, laughably woeful CGI World War Z esque zombies that first occur in Surrey of all places!

The Mummy has promise, but the drive just wasn't there. It's unique in the way the film starts, but obscenely mediocre for the rest. Sofia Boutella carried the film which I commend her for, but as for Hollywood big-guns like Tom Cruise and Russel Crowe, it was quite an embarrasing affair.

Still better than the last two films in Brendon Fraser's "Mummy" trilogy though.

Peter and the Wolf

Sharayah, 10

3 out of 5
School
Reepham CofE Primary School
Review Date
8 June, 2017

Peter and the Wolf

Peter and the Wolf.

If you like animations that are sometimes hilarious and at other times creepy, this film will force a reaction out of you! It is directed by Suzie Templeton and based on the musical by Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev.

On a stormy day- in Russia -a sorrowful boy (called Peter) was slowly walking through town back home, until people started treating him like he's worthless. One day he had an idea to go against everyone's rules. A clumsy goose, a black bird, a chubby ginger cat, Peter and the wolf, have a life changing experience but some for the worse. This shows love, hatred, and forgiveness but all around I think it's a really good film. In some parts they should've done smaller gaps between each significant part because it looked a bit strange but everything else was great.

If you like stop animation, if you want to watch an adventure packed film then you should watch Peter and the wolf.

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts

Carmen , 9

4 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
7 June, 2017

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts

We watched the Music Box with our parents.
(the first time my mum had ever watched a laurel and hardy film!)
'Out of small acorns grow tall trees' ..... and that is exactly how to describe this film... it's a simple idea - a piano delivery - which results in a film full of laughs, surprises and cheeky moments!
This film follows laurel and hardy trying to get a colossal piano up a big flight of stairs but as usual some has to go wrong.Through the use of funny facial expressions and exaggerated actions as well as the common slapstick comedy this movie got me laughing from start to finish.I particularly enjoyed when the first distraction arrived - in the form of a very unhappy mother!
If you like bold colourful movies with lots of dialouge then this film is certainly not for you.
I think the main aim of this film is to encourage lighthearted laughter.

I would recommend film to ages 4 and above because even though this is a very old,short film you will probably enjoy it from a very young age.

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts

Natalia, 9

5 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
7 June, 2017

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts

This is one of the ones that are slapstick comedies. I especially liked this one because it was very funny.
For starters, this wasn't a film that took place in lots of places. The setting was stairs and a house which Laurel and Hardy took a piano to. Secondly, it was naughty because Laurel and Hardy kept hitting each other and one of them hit a lady!!!! The piano, which they tried to heave up the stairs, was made slide down because something was in their way.

The actors were dressed in a 19 century way as postmans which weren't made for it! The bowler hats were made in a characteristic way which they always mixed up. The cameras point of view wasn't really in a good space . I would prefer it to be in front of them.

Did you know that in Poland Laurel and Hardy are called Flip and Flap?

I would recommend this for over six years old because under sixes would not laugh so much.

My Life as a Courgette

Corin, 10

5 out of 5
School
Bridge Integrated Primary School
Review Date
6 June, 2017

My Life as a Courgette

I think this is a great film to watch. It takes you through the journey of a nine-year old boy who likes to be called 'Courgette'. This is in memory of his mother who called him that before passing away after a hard life. When he goes to the care home after she dies, we meet lots of other children who all have different back-stories and think there is no-one left to love them. But as you watch this enchanting and colourful film, you realise that, even in the worst of times, there is always love to be found in the world, even if you have to dig deep to find it. I highly recommend this film so I am going to give it five stars!

Howl's Moving Castle

Adenike, 7

5 out of 5
School
Our Lady And St George's Catholic Primary School
Review Date
6 June, 2017

Howl's Moving Castle

I really love this film!My favourite part was when (Grandma) Sofie met Turnip Head.The funniest part in the film was when Howl got all slimy so (Grandma) Sofie had to take him for a quick wash but when she looked back,she saw that Howl's towel fell on the first step on the stairs so he was naked!The scariest part in the film was when the Witch of the West came to (Grandma) Sofie's house and she cast a spell on her and when she fell asleep,she is young but when she wakes up, she turns old again.The saddest part was when (Grandma) Sofie was dreaming that she was young again and she was looking for Howl and he was a monster!The happiest part in the film was when the Witch of the West was being nice which is not quite right.I would like to recommend this film to children and teenagers who are angry,sad,disappointed and stressed.I will never stop watching this film till eternity!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy