Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Song of the Sea

Luca, 11

5 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
3 July, 2017

Song of the Sea

Fun, unique animation and symbolic shapes and colours accompanied by beautiful Gaelic/celtic music. If this doesn't describee an interesting film I don't know what does.

The story is about Saorise and her big brother Ben who live with their father in a lighthouse as their mother died when Saoirse was born. On her 6th birthday Saoirse and Ben's grandmother comes over to see them, she is surprised to see Saoirse can't speak yet. That night Saoirse grabs Ben's shell flute and plays it it leads he to find a coat and when puts it on it fits like a glove she goes down to play with the seals, and she turned into a seal. The grandmother finds Saoirse washed up on the a shore. This was the last straw for grandma, she besides to take the kids with her to live in the city. They take the flute but their father the throws the coat into the ocean Saoirse plays the flute,this awakens fairys who tell Saoirse she is the selki who's song will save all. Without her coat the selki will die. Will they make it in time?

The music is out of this world, it matches it all perfectly, it's beautiful I don't know how many times I have listened to the soundtrack, but I can tell you that it us more than anyone can consider healthy.

If you look closely you can see alot of teardrop-like shapes like the rocks, trees, shadows, the seal, owls, water and even the dog I don't know why it is like this put I like it. As for the colours the family has bright haIr but Saoirse's colour palet reminds me of the sea.
And for your information, no I did not cry at the end I have just so happen to have hayfever...

Doctor Strange

Mia, 12

5 out of 5
School
Lyndon School Humanities College
Review Date
9 July, 2017

Doctor Strange

I have to say this film was so visually incredible I am completely blown away with its graphics. It really shows how far we've come in technology! For the story, I give it an A+ solely due to the fact that there was no obvious following from one scene to the other. The characters aren't cardboard and shallow but dynamic and dimensional like they should be. I think Marvel has really created a world - a society - with their movies. This is most noticeable as at the end of Doctor Strange there are extras where Thor is interacting with Doctor Strange etc. I am definitely giving this movie a 5!

Spider-Man: Homecoming

Vincent, 13

5 out of 5
School
Saint Thomas More Language College
Review Date
9 July, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming

It's been a long time since I've done a review, huh?

Anyways, Spider-Man: Homecoming is set months after Captain America civil war, and it focuses on Peter Parker trying to prove that he's actually Spider-Man; he's trying to prove that he's not just an ordinary superhero, and he trying to become an avenger.
And I like this movie. (and no it's not just because I'm a Spider-Man fan.)

First off, there is not a time wasting, we already know it origin story of Spider-Man. THANK GOD. There is not a 32 minute introduction to Spider-Man (Spider-Man 1 and the amazing Spider-Man did this) that think that we don't know the origin story of this hero and wastes our time explaining it, there is none of that. The only way to know the origin story of Spider-Man is through the lines of dialogue.

Second off, the actors are good in this movie. Tom Holland and Robert Downey Jr are especially great, the rest are good actors.

Third off, the characters are great. The version of peter Parker here is not just a 24 year old adult who does everything perfectly, no, Peter Parker here is a 15 year old(ish) who is a normal kid. He makes mistakes, and learns from them. And you can feel throughout the movie that he's learning every single word of the line "With great power, comes great responsibility". Also, the vulture is a good villain too. He's not just a villain who's just there because we need a anti-protagonist, he's a villain who is developed and has a actual good reason for fighting Spider-Man.

The things I didn't like were the stakes. In Spider-Man 2, you can really feel the intensity of when Spider-Man has to rescue a bunch of civilians who are trapped inside a train that is going to crash and possibly kill everyone. In this one, the stakes are family friendly (even though there are a bit of swear words in the movie)
There are other things i didn't like in the movie but they contain spoilers, so I won't tell them.


Overall this is a good movie from marvel and I like it.

War of the Worlds

Kiera, 12

4 out of 5
School
Macmillan Academy
Review Date
5 July, 2017

War of the Worlds

What is the first thing that comes into your head when someone says Sci-Fi? Most will say Aliens. They are the extra-terrestrial creatures that lurk the vast world of space and are iconic in many Sci-fi films. Some of them play on the Alien comes to earth and wreaks havoc cliche and War of the Worlds is one example that may send shivers down your spine.

Where to start with this movie? First of all, the plot is generally ok and watchable. The story is quite interesting but is not really the best thing in this movie. Next, they must have had a pretty high budget for this movie as the effects are quite good and the alien scenes can be quite chilling. The characters are good, do have a bit of variety in the personalities and overall are played well. With all that in mind this movie was pretty enjoyable to watch and should give it a night if you have some time on your hands for a good sci-fi film.

There are some improvements that could be done in this film. Like I said, the plot was ok but could add a hint of other emotion in it as the movie has the emotion of a negative-scale until the end. The characters have no happiness in them, even when they are safe which kind of brings the movie to a depressing mood the whole way through. The ending is the only real turn of emotion and even that does not really feel climatic. Another thing to add on with the characters: one of them called Rachel does not really have much purpose in the film. She does not help at all and all she does is scream. It is kind of annoying.

This movie is one that I would maybe recommend to ages 12 and up as the themes may be disturbing for those of the younger age. You should give this film a watch if you like the theme of aliens, sci-fi films and want to watch one that is on the bone-chilling side.

Batman - The Movie

Megan, 11

2 out of 5
School
Queensbridge Primary School
Review Date
4 July, 2017

Batman - The Movie

I did not like this film it was quite boring and very cheesy. It just looks like grown men dressed like the super hero stars batman and robin. Just a warning this review will probably just be me ranting about how much I don't like it and why it annoyed me. Cat woman, I mean come on she is constantly her humongous gold nails and wriggling like a worm: at first I thought she had ants in her pants! Also the jokers makeup! UGH! It was coming of and flaking it looked like the cheap one from asda . I would not recommend this for young people as for me it was incredibly boring. Although, old people may like. This film though was absolutely hilarious!

Fantastic Mr Fox

George, 11

4 out of 5
School
Fairview Community Primary School
Review Date
3 July, 2017

Fantastic Mr Fox

Fantastic Mr Fox, a Roald Dahl classic! Although the book was published in 1970 (now 47 years old) it's still loved by people aged 0 - infinity! This film was published in 2009, making it 8 years old!

I enjoyed this movie because not only was it in different views, it was also a proper motion of clay film. The reason it is in different views is because there is the main plot; this is split into three stages as well as Kristofferson joining them and helping with many missions. The scenes were astounding! I was intrigued by the detail and appreciated the time and money that had been spent making the scenes.

The movie is about a fox who used to steal squabs (a type of bird, similar to a pigeon) then worked for the local paper after promising his wife he wouldn't hunt anything ever again! 2 human years later, Mr Fox buys a tree above the ground and that's where the three staged plot begun!...

Although I loved this film, there was one thing that disappointed me! It was due to the fact that Mr Fox's catchphrase was a whistle and two clicks. I came to the conclusion that it became a overused.

Overall, it was a great film but could have been better. Thank you for reading my review.

Sing

Rachel, 11

4 out of 5
School
Bell Lane Primary School
Review Date
3 July, 2017

Sing

I rate this movie 4 out of 5, read this review to find out why.

This was an extremely excellent movie, I enjoyed it thoroughly this movie was really funny and seemed really exciting! One thing that made me love it even more was that there is a life message behind it which is: No matter if you're big, small, tall or in between you can still sing or have a beautiful voice and not judged about it.

I only gave it a 4 because what happened in the story was kind of predictable but there were still sometimes where I was surprised, I just think that this would have tremendously took the movie to a whole new level which would attract more people to watch this movie.


To be honest I think that people from ages 7 and up should watch this movie so they have a better understanding of it and the dilemmas that come the characters way

Goosebumps

Daniel, 9

1 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
30 June, 2017

Goosebumps

I would give this 0 stars if I could. Absolutely hated this film about a young boy Zach and a very odd girl living next door. This film should be 12+, not a PG because, seriously, for a 9 year old to be watching it I don't think it's very appropriate as... I really don't want to put in this review what what freaked me out like hell, but I really would recommend this to like 13+ or something because I think I'm going to start having nightmares about the thing I saw in a couple of the scenes: and I'll give you a clue: it wasn't the weird giant mantis squishing every single car the saw, or the zombies. The only real- life thing that my friend told me was just a 2016 thing and no one really talks about them anymore. However it will probably creep me out so much because last night I slept with my light on and was looking at the door basically the whole time. Definitely not appropriate for my age but if its hard to scare you then go ahead but I guarantee if you are my age you are making a grave mistake.

Baby Driver

Auden, 15

4 out of 5
School
Denbigh School
Review Date
29 June, 2017

Baby Driver

As a massive Edgar Wright fan, my anticipation for this film was verging on ridiculous. Thankfully the film didn't disappoint me, as I think I might have died.
The whole gimmick of the film is that the action and events are set to the music Baby is listening to. It's pulled off so brilliantly! The soundtrack is awesome, as is Wright's direction. His shots and use of editing or so inventive and fun, and the attention to detail and the meticulous planning for every shot just makes this film something else. Some of the most entertaining action in recent years can be found here.
I don't think this is Wright's strongest script however, as the film can lack depth in places, most notably the romance. It's cute but it doesn't feel very developed and the motivation of Lily James character isn't very well written. Her character is essentially 'pretty, likes music and wants to leave town' and that's it. It's not bad at all, it just doesn't elevate from being just fine. A couple more minutes to flesh out her character wouldn't go amiss.
The plot isn't groundbreaking or anything, but it isn't trying to be. The film clearly takes a lot of inspiration from other films, but Wright manages to add his own, stylish spin and the film feels completely original.
Baby is a really good protagonist. He's likeable and well-developed, and Ansel Elgort fits the role really well and is charismatic enough. Jon Hamm is the standout of a really great cast. He not only has the best written character in Buddy, but he plays it with such intensity and foreboding emotion. Jamie Foxx also completely kills it, and Jon Bernthal and Flea are very entertaining and make impressions in small roles. Kevin Spacey is on good form, and his character is fun enough, although he doesn't really do much. Eiza Gonzalez - call me.
I really can't wait to watch Baby Driver again and again and again. This is an incredibly fun, original and surprisingly violent (which is awesome) heist-car chase-thriller-rom-com-musical. It would be great if we could get more movies like this rather than the seemingly endless schlock we get in theatres every week. If you can see this in theatres I would highly recommend it, as it's not only completely captivating, but you'll be supporting Edgar Wright who is one of the best working directors and his films don't exactly have the best box office record.
Also, I loved that sneaky Mint Royale easter egg!
8/10

Fantastic Mr Fox

Alexander, 9

5 out of 5
School
Fairview Community Primary School
Review Date
28 June, 2017

Fantastic Mr Fox

This movie is a bit unique compared to other films because it made from models which must of taken a while and I'm assuming that it wasn't that fun but it was all for our entertainment. It is also a stop-motion so when the fur moved when they talk I thought it was just really well thought out.

This movie is about 1 particular fox who wanted a bit of food but then it turned into one big adventure. Though what he didn't know was that these men which he stole from aren't the ones for suttlety. They're Bean Bruce and Bunce. 1 tall 1 fat and 1 lean.

My favirote part was when they introduced the 3 men because I just found it intreaging to see what everyone's personality was like. My favirote character was Fantastic Mr. Fox. because he always had a bit of fun and hope inside of him.

I would recommend this movie as a 4+ and people who have a good taste of every single type of movie.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

charlie, 10

5 out of 5
School
Kings Heath Primary School
Review Date
28 June, 2017

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

I thought this film was brilliant as it features many fabulous actors such as Jonny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Roald Dahl has given the characters perfect names to match their personality. The songs were beautifully composed (my favourite was for Augustus Gloop). the actors perfectly matched the characters description in the book. When Willy Wonka appears in the fairground scene his laugh is quite strange as he is laughing while ventriloquist dummies are burning! Grandma Georgia is hilarious as when Willy Wonka and Charlie burst through the ceiling in the great glass elevator, she says, "I think someone's at the door!
This is a fabulous family film and has not aged with time.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy