Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

The BFG

Daniel, 10

4 out of 5
School
Fairisle Junior School
Review Date
19 March, 2017

The BFG

The BFG - an unmissable viewing, packed with lovable characters, a quick-tempered protagonist and a rather humungous being - certainly not worth skipping.

Sophie, an orphaned girl who lives an unfortunate life, embarks upon the adventure of a lifetime when she encounters a rather discombobulating species of giant. At first, Sophie is incredibly apprehensive but soon she becomes friends with the giant and, together, they hatch a plan to stop a malevolent band of blood-guzzlers from obliterating children with their teeth. However, will they succeed in their attempts? You'll have to watch to discover for yourself. Step into a fantasy land where anything can occur, even delivering dreams to children during their slumber. All you have to do is wish and you'll discover yourself enveloped in the wispy, enchanting landscape of Dreamland with a blanket of stars to gaze at above you or perhaps engulfed in the adrenaline surging through your fingertips of Giant Country with its rolling hills and mountains. Or, you could hop in a taxi to Sophie's orphanage. Either way, it's certain you'll be smiling 100% of the journey.

Far more realistic than the animated original (which was released in 1989), this film is one of utter magnificence and did not fail to impress me in the slightest by the way the Giants' faces resemble ordinary ones. This caught my eyes as an impressive feast to behold, almost like the feast the BFG ravenously devours. Another jaw-dropping feature of this scrumdiddilyumptious film is the way they've managed to grab the book and transform it into a masterpiece like this, but not only that. I feel as if they had to almost create a special bond between themselves and the featured characters in order to present them on a disc. As if they became the best of friends and this allowed them to transform it into the fantastic production which it has become by giving it that touch of humour to enlighten the viewers, who will be keen for more when they begin watching. These were the best characteristics of the film, in my opinion.

Although most of this film is sensational, one minor problem does appear to expose itself from the critical crevices of my mind. This being that some points were not as eventful or action-packed as I would have liked or they could have made it to be. This was the only thing that whispered 'disliked' in my mind. The rest was pure joy and humour.

This film deserves four stars due to the points I have just mentioned but if we could give half stars, I'd rate it a four and a half. So come on, what are you waiting for? Press the play button and become hypnotised in the world of theirs. Before I conclude, a massive round of applause to Steven Spielberg, Rebecca Hall, Penelope Wilton, Rafe Spall, Bill Hader, Jemaine Clement, Mark Rylance and Ruby Barnhill: The Director and main actors of this wonderful piece. Enjoy!

Spirited Away

Luca, 11

5 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
16 March, 2017

Spirited Away

The 2001 film Spirited away is an amazing film directed by the also amazing Hayao Miyazaki he is my favorite director of all time, his characters are so relatable and Chihiro (the main character in spirited away) is no exception.

Spirited away is about a young girl named Chihiro, when she and her family are traveling to her new house her dad tries to take short cut but what they find is much more interesting than a short cut the find a red tunnel in the forest, when they get to the end of the tunnel they find a town Chihiro goes to explore the town while her parents eat but when she comes back she finds her parents were turned into pigs, in the next few minutes more and more creatures fill the town then a boy named Haku tells her she is in the spirit world and that she must find a job before Yubaba the witch who runs the town finds her and turnes her into an animal like she did to her parents, will Chihiro find her parents and turn them back?

Over all I give this film 5 stars because I absolutely in love it the characters are relatable and the animation is great I would 100% rewatch this in film club.

The Good Dinosaur

Freddie, 10

5 out of 5
School
Goosnargh Whitechapel Primary School
Review Date
15 March, 2017

The Good Dinosaur

the good dinosaur is the best film i have seen so far in film club. It made me laugh and feel emotions i don`t usually feel while watching films. The part that made me laugh the most was when the little boy was dreaming and he was screaming and running around when all of a sudden he bumped into the dinosaurs head. I was laughing so much i needed the loo! I gave this film 5 stars because it had two types of emotions which were sad and hilarious. I would definitely recommend this film to my friends and family. It is a film for the whole family. I would say it is for 5 plus.

The Hunger Games

Paige, 10

5 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
15 March, 2017

The Hunger Games


Fighting, shooting and a scary game of grown up hide and seek, this film is an action film full of violence. If you like watching films with unfairness and death in it, this dramatic film is for you. The Hunger Games was released in the year 2012, following on from the book. The Hunger Games is a barbaric game which includes fighting for your life and your district.

Katniss Everdeen( the unlucky 16 year old) lives in the worn,torn district 12 and is chose to fight for her life. Shooting with a bow and arrow Katniss attempts to win the Hunger Games. She is very kind and helpful and stops to help people in the game on her way(this is unusual because everyone normally fight for their own lives. This is how Katniss Everdeen stands out.)

I like the way they have put the film together and its overall appearance. The computer generated imagery, which appears in most of the scenes is fantastic and so interesting how they have used it. The camera angles are really clear, so you an see everything that is happening, unlike some films. Dark scenes and light scenes, the lightening is used very carefully throughout the film.

I would strongly recommend this film to watch because of all of the effort and time that has been put into it to make it a high quality film. I think this film can be watched at all ages, yet if 10and younger you should be accompanied by an adult.

Overall, this five star, nail biting film is one of my favourites and i would proudly say it is an amazing film and great to watch.

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

Adam, 10

5 out of 5
School
St Francis Primary School
Review Date
14 March, 2017

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

When I heard we were watching Tintin I was so excited because it would be one of my favourite movies I love the way Tintin kept looking for the truth even if it had his life at stake I loved all the battles between the ancestors and the storyline was great. My favourite character was Captain Haddock he was so funny especially when he thought he remembered things but he didn't and I liked snowy (the dog) because he was vey smart. I liked the way Captain Haddock was so crazy. Apparently it cost like 60 million pounds to create and it definitely deserved profit on that movie. The animations were really good. It was funny when the opera singer smashed the glass to unravel the 3 and final scroll and after that the action was amazing. Top class movie loved it

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

John, 14

4 out of 5
School
Wren Academy
Review Date
14 March, 2017

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl is a coming-of-age/comedic film which, does put its point across, but after seeing it, I still feel that they could have done something more.

Gomez-Rejon's abstract camera shots look amazing - not the usual film that I would see for myself but I enjoyed. Nick Offerman and cast do a great job of acting as these characters (don't expect any cringy American one-liners) and give an emotional perspective on the issue of cancer and who it affects; however old the person may be.

I like the film; but I don't feel that it achieved its full potential. A solid five stars would have been my score if some of the other supporting character weren't so - generic. The emos, the wannabe gangsters, the pretty/popular girls. This made me feel that this was like any other American high school movie (other than that awful but still memorable High School Musical film).

I give this movie four stars; great film and you won't forget it. Don't expect any other characters not being all American film-generic emos or badboys.

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

Naoise , 10

3 out of 5
School
St Francis Primary School
Review Date
14 March, 2017

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

So, I thought TinTin wasn't the best to be honest because i don't really like crime and mystery movies I am more of a comedy girl.At the start i thought it was a bit interesting but then it started to get into all the history about ships and i thought it was boring, I don't know any names because every time they said the persons name there was always like guns being shot and explosives so I couldn't hear any of the names. I haven't done any research but to be honest i think they got the Oscar for the film because the animation was on fleek, it literally looked like TinTin was a real person and it mustv'e cost alot of money for the animation and because it was very long. I guess I could give them a little praise for the comedy off the captain, but the jokes were not making me laugh as hard as i usually would at jokes. My rating for this film is three because I dont really thinks it deserved higher than that.

Valiant

Matthew, 9

3 out of 5
School
Fairview Community Primary School
Review Date
14 March, 2017

Valiant

If you think only humans helped with the war effort , THINK AGAIN.
Valiant is about a group of pigeons that are highly trained in the royal homing pigeon service .
There mission is to deliver a secret message to great Britain .
However on this dangerous journey there not alone .Hunting them down are the German peregrine falcons .
Can the RHPS deliver the message in time before its to late?
This is a good family film so what are you waiting for , sit down , relax and enjoy

The Wind Rises

david, 13

5 out of 5
School
Lawnswood School
Review Date
14 March, 2017

The Wind Rises

I absolutely loved this , from the animation even to the tiniest detail everything was brought to life. I was flabbergasted at the imagery, effects and the time that must have gone into this production. As a person aspiring to become an aeronautical engineer it really spoke to me and warned me of events could rock an engineer's career like crashes or failed designs however the main character did not give up and neither will I.

All of studio ghibli's movies have been fantastic and I hope with his return from retirement the last and present movie he makes will stand up to and even surpass his movies standards, I am looking forward to seeing it, I recommend this movie to all japanese animation fans. It is truly amazing, watch it.

Rango

Lucia, 14

4 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
13 March, 2017

Rango

Let me tell you all a story about an idiosyncratic pet chameleon with a serious identity crisis. In a town called Dirt, he goes by the name of…… Rango (queue the mariachi).
Okay, so Rango gets deserted in the Mojave Desert – no pun intended. In need of water, he follows his shadow to the town of Dirt where he meets desert iguana, Beans and other company. This is where his identity crisis plays a huge role. He tells the rowdiest in town that he is a dangerous vagabond from the Far West who is famous for his work of killing the Jenkins Brothers with ONE bullet. He soon becomes sheriff of the town due to his sudden popularity with everybody which was due to him acting as someone he wasn’t. Long story short..........it’s a fantastic movie and I do recommend it to all. The humour in this movie is insane and overall it was an incredible animation.

Annie

Leah, 10

4 out of 5
School
Carr Junior School
Review Date
9 March, 2017

Annie

Roll up, roll up come and see Annie today. This amazing film starring Daddy Warbucks, Albert Finney, and Annie, Aileen Quinn, is great. I definitely recommend this to anyone 9 years or over because not many children under would enjoy musicals. This didn't really make me laugh however it was equally fun to watch. This is one of my favourite musicals because Daddy Warbucks starts off not liking Annie but grows to like her so much he's willing to adopt her. It is a very kind and 'adoptive' film and shows that all you need is friendship.

My favourite setting was daddy Warbuck's house because it is very fancy and is a dream house of mine. The actors were very good in their role by managing the dancing and singing at the same time. I loved it where the workers do lots of amazing stunts. The music was really expressive and really showed what was happening, and it really made me feel like I was there. Before the film I was thinking that it would be boring and old however I was extremely WRONG! I learnt one lesson from that: Never trust a film by its cover. Because, after the film my heart was beating rapidly because this film is brilliant.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy