Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Basil The Great Mouse Detective

Milly, 10

5 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
2 February, 2017

Basil The Great Mouse Detective

Hey you, yeah you the one in the back row do you like mysteries??? If so then Basil The Great Mouse Detective is the film for you. It is jam packed with excitement and fun you will be hanging off the edge of your seat!!! No film can beat this one!!! Come on, help Olivia, Mr.Dawsal and Basil on a mission to defeat Professor Ratigan in his evil tracks.

Olivia Flaversham , who is an adorable, cute young mouse, lives with her father in a toyshop for mice. On Olivia's birthday her father gives herva handcrafted ballerina doll. All of a sudden the windows smash and the lights gooff when they turn on her father is gone....... When all hope is lost Mr. Dawsal finds Olivia in a moldy, crusty boot. Mr Dawsal realises what happened so he took Olivia to Basil the great mouse detective. Is all hope still lost or with Basil on board will everything change???

Basil The Great Mouse Detective is similar to Sherlock Holmes because Basil solves mysteries like Sherlock Holmes. To add to that, Sherlock has an assistant : Doctor Watson and Mr Dawsal acts like an assistant to Basil the great mouse detective.

I thought the film was very thrilling because although the film is 30 years old the animation was truly amazing. Well the music built some tension to the watcher, it was very quiet at points but that is what builds the most tension really, it being silent and then it just goes BOOM!!! I literary nearly fell off my seat, it was that good :-D!!! I felt as though I was there in the room or the streets with them following the whole way.

This is definitely a film to watch with the whole family. You may even sing along
'Even meaner? You mean it?
Worse than the windows and orphans you drowned?
You're the best of the worst around
Oh, Ratigan
Oh, Ratigan
The rest fall behind
To Ratigan
To Ratigan
The world's greatest criminal by mind'

I recommend this film 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sausage

Kyle, 15

4 out of 5
School
Into Film
Review Date
4 February, 2017

Sausage

As a person who doesn't regularly watch short films Robert Grieves' 'Sausage' has made an impression on me. From the use of sound to slapstick it did a very good job of transporting its strong message through its 6 minute runtime. Centred around the story of a baker and sausage vendor who are threatened by and fast food vendor, this was a personal favourite of mine for a short film.

The use of simple sound effects and jaunty French sounding music really helped to set the scene and gave a clear setting for the short films events. The sound effects were used masterfully as they chose not to use language but these sound affects translating the emotions of the characters very well.

The animation felt very personal as every character had a different shape to them, the same for the shapes and sizes for the town centre where it was set. Coupled with the use of colour it did a really good shop of showing the individuality of the baker and the sausage vendor, and how the grey, boring world of the businessmen and women was transcended to colour through the individuality of there food and how the fast food chain couldn't manage to do this, and after he'd gone the town returned to colour.

Saving Private Ryan

Louis, 14

5 out of 5
School
Witchford Village College
Review Date
3 February, 2017

Saving Private Ryan

This is a fantastic WW2 movie, probably the best one I have ever seen! Everything in this movie shows the horror and devastation of the war which was responsible for the deaths of over 60 million people. The plot of this film is brilliant and the acting in it is amazing, it really shows how horrible WW2 was. I would definitely watch this movie again and I recommend it to anyone who has interest in the war.

The main character which this movie focuses on is John H. Miller (Tom Hanks), I personally really liked this character because he was very determined and smart. He was very good at thinking tactically and he was determined to complete any mission he was sent on so he could return home to his wife, not once was did he refuse an order or give up. Captain Miller was an amazing character in my opinion and he inspired me.

The plot of this movie is really good, Captain John H. Miller is sent on a mission with his squad to find Private Ryan and bring his home due to the sad news that his two brothers had been killed in action. It isn't an easy mission however, there is multiple German territory which they have to cross and there are many dangerous obstacles in their way. The plot is almost touching because of the horrors which Captain Miller and his squad go through just to get this Private Ryan. There are many sad, gruesome and exciting moments in the story and as mentioned before, it really does show the devastation which the war brought to the world.

This film took the horrors of WW2 to the next level, with gory, intense scenes and scenes where soldiers are screaming in pain. There are lots of deaths in this film and non-stop combat, the film almost was like a simulation of the war. You can see the conflict between soldiers thoughts on the war during this film, some see the opposing side as unforgivable animals which should be slaughtered even if they are unarmed whereas others still see that war is wrong and that even the unforgivable still deserve a chance. I loved the fact that the film did this.

Some of the camera shots in this movie are quite shaky and unsteady but I like this because it is like I am there. The cameras use no filters so it is almost like you can see exactly what it would have looked like during the dreadful combat. I loved the sniper in this film, Private Jackson (Barry Pepper), he was really impressive and stealthy. The film also showed the devastation of the tank when and how they are capable of killing hundreds.

I would love to see another one of these movies with a similar plot, it would be fantastic if it was set in WW1 because it would show how different the two wars were. I give this films five stars without hesitation and I will definitely be watching this movie again. In my opinion, this beats all the other war movies which I have seen and I recommend it to anyone who has an interest in WW1, WW2 or war in general. It is a great film.

Inside Out

Craig, 13

3 out of 5
School
Mearns Castle High School
Review Date
1 February, 2017

Inside Out

This movie was... complicated. The plot just bounced all over the place. The way they portrayed how you think by making your emotions actual living beings was really clever and smart. They made the colours of the emotions match what they are like anger is red and joy is yellow. I personally am a huge sci-fi nerd myself with my favourite movies being the star wars saga but this movie was probably... actually I can't think of a genre for this. I also found the fact that Riley emotions were the only emotions not to be specific to the people like gender and hair and facial hair. This was probably the most bizarre pixar movie In existence but That's Not necessarily a bad thing. All of this and many other features make this a movie I could not really recommend to people in my type of age group

The Chronicles of Narnia - The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

Daisy, 6

4 out of 5
School
Laugharne V.c.p. School
Review Date
1 February, 2017

The Chronicles of Narnia - The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

I liked this film, my favourite bit was when the whole family found the wardrobe. I didn't like it when the lion was on the stone table because he looked like he was dead.
I would recommend this film to mum, dad and my cat

Ghostbusters

Sam, 11

5 out of 5
School
Coed Glas Primary School
Review Date
1 February, 2017

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters is a great film in the 1980's staring Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Sigourney Weaver it is a great family movie it's a action packed with the genres of Comedy, Action and horror.It is very different to the newest film tending to the fact that the old one has three men and the new one has three women.It has been a great hit in movie club everyone loved it my favorite character was the man across the room from the lady cause he had a massive crush on her but she didn’t feel the same but no matter what he always kept trying.It is a very entertaining movie with some very talented actors if you like comedy and action movies this is for you.It is great movie to watch with your friends and family if you like to laugh and of course go ahead and watch the new one it is great but I'm not going to spoil anything.
Ghostbusters to this day is one of the greatest films I have ever watched so if your thinking of watching it go ahead and do it now.

Dead Man Walking

Joe, 19

4 out of 5
School
Stratford-upon-avon College
Review Date
31 January, 2017

Dead Man Walking

I liked the idea of Tim Robbins making a film about subject matter he is firmly against while still leaving the idea of capital punishment open to debate, the film follows Sister Helen a nun trying to have a prisoners sentence reduced from death to life in prison. The film tries to make you sympathise with Matt a character who may may not committed a horrific crime but inter-cuts with flashbacks to the night the crime was committed, this technique is great at not letting the audience settle into a side of the debate early on and keeps them subconsciously arguing with themselves not just about who the guilty culprit is but also whether or not this punishment is morally right regardless of the crime. The characters are fully fleshed out with individual backgrounds and Robbins does a great job of giving each character (ranging from the victims parents still distraught after 6 six years and Sister Helen who tries to comfort the victims families while also fighting to have Matt pardoned) a moment in the spotlight to give the audience an idea to what effect the crime has had on them.

Overall i think the film does a great job of not being biased when it comes to the debate of capital punishment by telling a compelling narrative and creating characters full of depth that will keep the audience questioning their beliefs on the subject of capital punishment.

Pride

Laura, 16

5 out of 5
School
St. Helens College
Review Date
27 January, 2017

Pride

Uplifting. Inspiring. Heart-warming. 'Pride' is an ode to activism, and an illustration of how hearts and minds can be changed through the actions of a few, and the support of many. It is funny and smart without trivialising the issues that it deals with, and follows on from The Full Monty and Billy Elliot as a story set in Britain's shattered industrial base.

Pride follows the workers of the Welsh mining community of Onllwyn in the Dulais Valley, and their unlikely allies - a group of homosexual fund-raisers who storm the streets of London with buckets in hand, collecting money for their community. Joe (played by MacKay), is a middle-class, entirely normal young man who attends a Pride march in London, which his equally middle-class, far more homophobic parents would not be pleased about. There, he is offered a banner saying 'QUEERS: better blatant than latent'. At the march, he meets Mark (Schnetzer), a young, LGBT rights activist who makes the plans for fundraising, founds LGSM (An LGBT group working in support of the miners), and has managed to drive the minibus to Powys before you can say even Bronski Beat. In Onllwyn, the group meet Dai (Considine), Cliff (Nighy), and Hefina (Staunton), who are organizing a separate fund-raising for the miners in their village. Their initial mistrust softens as easily as butter, and the two very different groups come together for a good cause.

The story is entirely true, and the members of LGSM showed their support for the miners because Mark saw something in their cause that reminded him of his own. They were one and the same - mocked and demonized in the tabloids, at odds with the police, labelled a nuisance by their own community, loathed by Thatcher's government, and in some cases, disowned by their loved ones. It has the same dramatic motor driving it as the modern, contemporary Britain we know today. Of course, things have changed; there are no coal miners on strike, LGBT marriage has been legalized, and the LGBT community is no longer labelled as something to be feared or disgusted by. Yes, there is still tension and taboo that surrounds being LGBTQ+ or questioning, but there is a range of support and systems in place to help people - young and old - to come to terms with their sexuality, and laws in place to protect those people. We are still a long way off a society in which being LGBTQ+ or otherwise identifying is perfectly accepted, but we are making so much progress. This is what makes movies like Pride so essential - it is in equal parts inspiring and warm, supportive and controversial, confidence-building and barrier-breaking. Pride is a shining example of LGBTQ+ cinema, and wonderfully explores so many aspects of queerness that goes so far beyond a coming out story. Pride is hopeful. Pride vibrates all of the energy of its West End counterpart. Pride is everything that a young queer individual needs to see, and it will tell them 'you have a voice'.

LGBTQ+, questioning or otherwise, I implore you; watch this movie.

(If this movie has teaches you anything, it will explain why I shouldn't have to censor the word gay. It's 2017.)

The LEGO Movie

Chloe, 11

2 out of 5
School
Morpeth Newminster Middle School
Review Date
26 January, 2017

The LEGO Movie

The Lego movie is about a normal person (Emmet) who is mistaken to be a master builder who will help save the world. The movie has really funny times which makes the movie an easy must see. The movie can be incredibly annoying with it's repetitive (but catchy) song Everything is awesome. Along with funny parts of the movie the movie can show you how to really access your imagination.
I have a favourite character who I think is amazing because she has two sides and her name is Uni-kitty. I don't like the character Vitruvius because even though he believes in emmet the whole way through I just disagree with his judgement at most times. I didn't like the scene of Taco Tuesday because it was confusing and too fast to take in. I did enjoy the scene of the starter scene because it was a really nice way of getting you settled into the movie. It also has a scene (that I like) which involves a scene where the Son and Dad talk which then sheds light onto the situation Emmet and his friends are in

Stuart Little

Leah, 10

5 out of 5
School
Carr Junior School
Review Date
25 January, 2017

Stuart Little

This is no ordinary film, however, he is an extra-ordinary mouse! This film would be enjoyed by ANY age. This is a lovely film revealing the true meaning of family. This film made me cry with laughter. I enjoyed this film so much and my 100% favourite character is Stuart because he is so brave and VERY clever. Stuart Little was so intriguing when I had finished this film I was hungry for more. I loved the park setting at night because it made it look exceedingly mysterious and slightly scary. George was extremely good in his role, because his appearance was perfect and he took the role as if it were real life. However it did lack something that would have made it that little more tense! Music. The chase between Stuart and cats would have been perfect for some chase music. Before the film I was thinking " Whaaaaaaaaaat" I really thought this would be absolutely crazy and too young for my age. However I decided to give it a chance! After this film I automatically looked back on all the sad times and the super fun times in my life. I couldn't help thinking " I wish I were Stuart." Therefore, anyone who likes adventure watch Stuart Little IMMEDIATELY!

Hop

Edward, 10

4 out of 5
School
Scargill C of E Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
25 January, 2017

Hop

If you want a film that will make you laugh then this is the film for you! This hilarious film will get you laughing your socks off. So make sure you pay attention and watch this amazing movie. Have you ever imagined what life would be like as the Easter bunny? Join the magical world of chocolate eggs! Imagine if the world was black and white? How boring would that be!? Well at least in this film you join a bright and colorful world! Can the Easter Bunny ( voiced by Russel Brand) save Easter and get rid of Carlos the evil bunny (voiced by Hank Azaria.) In my opinion this is a really great film and is friendly for all the family. It is really an adventure to watch! So if you want a hilarious movie, if you want to save Easter, then this is the film for you! Watch as this 4 star film blows you away with what is about to happen to Easter!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy