Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

The Wind Rises

Adam, 11

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
13 July, 2015

The Wind Rises

Is the wind still rising? The wind rises is an absolutely beautiful movie, my eyes were glued to the screen for the whole two hours. The film is easy to watch, giving you a wonderful sense of anticipation the whole way through.
A young man, Jiro, longs to become a pilot, but his short sight prevents it. One night, he has a dream about the famous Giovanni Battista Caproni who tells him, building planes is better than flying them. Soon, Jiro embarks on a long journey, meeting the girl of his dreams on the way. This was HIS destiny.
Overall, the wind rises captured my heart and inspired me to build what had not been built before. Even a five star is majorly under rated for such an incredible film

Raymond Briggs' The Snowman

Alex, 0

5 out of 5
School
The Glebe Primary School
Review Date
18 July, 2015

Raymond Briggs' The Snowman

The main highlight of Christmas is the presents, but nevertheless,
no Christmas can be complete without this animated short.


It is based around a young boy who builds a snowman,
but that snowman
comes alive and takes him on a journey.

But that's not the main highlight, is it?
No, the REAL highlight is the animation.
This goes back to Disney's early days:
Snow White, Fantasia, Dumbo, Pinocchio, you know what I mean.

Raymond Briggs must have took months sketching this all out.
He has to make twenty-four frames just for a single
second. Yes, one second is twenty-four frames,
so overall, there's about thirty-thousand frames in this movie,
if not more.

I know that it's six months till Christmas (I'm writing this part on
9th June and I don't know when I'm gonna upload this), but
The Snowman is an essential part of Christmas. And I
can't believe I'm saying this, but I'd take it over Home Alone
any day.

Shocking.

Positively shocking.

007 fans rejoice, cause that quote was from Goldfinger.

Tim Burton's Corpse Bride

Ayesha, 10

3 out of 5
School
Greenfield Primary School
Review Date
17 July, 2015

Tim Burton's Corpse Bride

I love this film it is so cool but it kinda freaked me out when Victor had been practising his vows and he put a ring on a hand shaped branch and the hand had a whole body stuck to it. But it was so cool when Victor got to go to the underworld. I especially liked it because I am a singing type of person and this film is like a musical Love it when the music layout changes because it gets you in to so many different moods while the film goes on.

Jurassic Park

Bethan, 9

4 out of 5
School
Bowhill Primary School
Review Date
17 July, 2015

Jurassic Park

This really makes you think if your terrified of demands! Now you will probably be terrified of dinosaurs! I think that this film should be a 21 plus. Really I am now quite petrified of anything dinosaur. My favourite character is Lex because like me she is petrified of even vegetarian dinos. If there is anything called Jurassic Park coming to England than I don't think I will be going anywhere near it. I was scared enough of the Dino Jungle thingy ma bob ride at Crealy with out this film influencing my fear. My favourite part was when Donald the Government Inspector guy was eaten by a dinosaur after hiding while sitting on the toilet. He was obviously not doing his business he was just hiding. I feel so sorry for Tim! (the boy who got sadly electricuited by an electric fence and nearly died but happily didn't) (YAY!).

Jurassic Park

Mia, 10

5 out of 5
School
Bowhill Primary School
Review Date
17 July, 2015

Jurassic Park

these films always blow my mind the way the dinosaurs eat is very fascinating and grouse. I hate and liked it when the Terex ate the people and the falosarapters. the graphics of the dinosaurs was amazing. the way the characters were like when the dinosaurs attacked was so realistic I actually thought it was real. all the affects blew my mind away with the details just spectacular. most of the characters were so great at acting. I didn't have a favourite character they were all so good. and when Jurassic world comes out we have got to watch it... ta ta.

Annie

Megan, 10

5 out of 5
School
Whitefriars Junior School
Review Date
16 July, 2015

Annie

Thia film is amazing and a great watch.
This is an amazing copy of Annie with a bit more funk.
If you like musicals in moremoden times then I would recomened this for you.
I would also recomened this too anyone who has a soft spot for children and feels sorry for those who are less fortunet than us, or who have lost their loved ones. ( mum and dad)

Flight Of The Navigator

Akbar , 10

4 out of 5
School
Greenfield Primary School
Review Date
15 July, 2015

Flight Of The Navigator

Amazing, mind-blowing and funny. Who would know it was nearly 30 years old?!
I would give this film 4 out of 5.

I think that this movie is not suitable for small children like toddlers and children aged 5, 6, 7, and 8 because they are still learning and they will learn the bad language and say it in an inappropriate way. Juniors, teenagers and adults are mature enough to understand. Whereas little children will not understand. This movie could be improved without the bad language so the smaller kids could watch and enjoy because this movie is great for them.

David goes to the woods and falls down a ditch and travels eight years into the future. David goes to NASA lab where he meets Max a robot in a UFO who wants some info from David’s brain . Max calls David the navigator so Max gets the info he needs. Eventually David goes back in time along with his mystical vampire bat.

This movie was a great sci-fi movie along with its characters. I liked this movie because it was funny my favarioute part was when David and Max had an argument.

The make-up in the film was great, they used prosthetics to make the parents look old in the second half of the film. The use of foundation in the film was good as you didn’t really notice it.

This film used different special effects quite well for the time the film was made. They used animation for the time travel section of the film, green or blue screening for the flight scenes and puppetry for the alien creatures onboard.

Although the film was old it was very entertaining, enjoyable and captivating.

Mr Peabody & Sherman

Sarah louise, 11

5 out of 5
School
Amma Centre
Review Date
15 July, 2015

Mr Peabody & Sherman

I loved this film it was so fascinating I could not take my eyes of the screen. I don't know what outher people would think of it but I found it brilliant. I highly recommend it if you have not seen it befor. I found that the best part of the film was when Mr Peabody and Sherman helped each outher charge the way back again some times it made me sad and sometimes it made me laugh.This movie has mixed emotions and I loved it. I Can't wait to see what the next two movies are going to be next week I really loved my first day of film club I am super excited for next week I really liked this movie because it is different to all the outher movies it has a great story line and it proves that if you work together you can do anything and you can accomplish brilliant things and really try to see this movie.

Rio

Alfie, 13

5 out of 5
School
Lipson The Co-operative Academy
Review Date
13 July, 2015

Rio

The film is centered around a rare highly domesticated blue macaw bird named Blu. However, one day when it is discovered that Blu is the last male blue macaw on earth, him and his guardian Linda Gunderson are invited to Rio de janeiro by Brazilian ornithologist Túlio Monteiro on the condition that Blu mates with the last female macaw. Linda excepts and their on their way to Rio... However, once Blu and this female macaw named Jewel meet it becomes apparent that Jewel is a fiercely independent blue macaw longing to flee into the wilderness. Neiver of them want anything to do with each other and in fact they can't even stay in the same room as each other without Jewel trying to strangle poor Blu. However after Blu and Jewel are kidnapped by smugglers planning on selling them to the Black market, they'll have to work together in order to escape. Once out they'll have to rely on each other and friends in order to avade the smugglers and a very dangers and persicant Sulphur-crested Cockatoo named Nigel. On this adventure However they will discover courage, friendship and even love.


I may not have made this film sound promising, but, it truly is a colourful light hearted film full of laugh out loud moments and great slapstick comedy. For the best Experience, I would recommend this film for young viewers however watching this at any age is fine

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves

Rozalia, 11

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
13 July, 2015

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves

I had watched this film many times before it was shown at film club, but never had I really thought about it. Namely Kevin Costner’s pathetic attempt at an English accent. For the one role of a true King and for country Englishman, I thought he could have tried a little harder.

This story is a more deep and complex version of Robin Hood, Marginally more believable than perhaps the Disney version. I liked the way that this film was mixed with crusades, as the makers obviously realized this as the same era. It is interesting to see the ignorance of all the English crusaders towards the Moors. On a related subject, there is an additional character, Azim, who is sworn to return the favor of saving Robin Hood’s life when he did the same in the crusades. Azim is practical, and a good fighter, but he also educates the English people to the fact that Moors are not savages. So in many ways, this film is about racism.

The acting was very good (not excellent) and other than his appalling accent, Kevin Costner is undoubtedly a good actor. Of course, Alan Rickman was an amazing sheriff.
Unfortunately, I felt this film could not decide on a genre and jumped between them, leaving the watcher confused of emotions. Other than that, and the accent, this film was perfect. It would actually be three and a half stars, but I will up it to four.

The Lion King

rohail, 12

5 out of 5
School
Prestwich Arts College
Review Date
12 July, 2015

The Lion King

Easily one of the best animated movies of all time, in my opinion, i could watch this movie over and over again yet still not get bored. The gripping animation and the story line itself is striking. When it first was released in the year 1994, it was instantly recognized as one of the best Disney movie created! The system that it is based on, as the lion as the king of the other animals, the hyenas being the anti heroes, it truly and most definitely is creative. It story line is emotionally moving, a son trying to avenge his father, take back his throne. Truly heart touching. If you have not yet watched this movie, you've not lived! I can't recommend this as recommend does not even begin to describe how much you should watch this movie!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy