Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Singin' in the Rain

Camille, 10

5 out of 5
School
Honilands Primary School
Review Date
10 May, 2016

Singin' in the Rain

This movie is called “Singin’ in the rain”. It takes place in a studio. It is located in Hollywood America. The movie is a very nice musical, and is set in the 1920’s, but is actually made in 1952. Did you know that, up until the 1920’s there were only silent movies! Which meant no sound, it was soundless. How would you know if there were special effects? For example if there a man falling off a cliff you wouldn’t know if he was hurt, because you would not her the ouch sound. Anyway, there were four main characters in this film, they were: Cosmo, Kathy, Don and Lina Lamont. Together they do a lot of singing, dancing, performing and tap dancing. But on the other hand, Lina Lamont is very mean-spirited, and very rude towards Kathy. Lina Lamont’s attitude made me fell appalled.

One of my favourite scenes is when Don and Cosmo went to the diction tutor and they were learning how to speak Standard English, but after some time, they turned the learning into a sing along song. It is so hilarious, the tutor was covered in pile of rubbish when they were singing because they through all sorts of junk on him.

I rate this film 5 golden, glittery, glamorous stars. This movie is exiting, and I hope you enjoy it as well.

Big Hero 6

Katie, 6

4 out of 5
School
St Patrick's & St Brigid's Primary School
Review Date
15 May, 2016

Big Hero 6

This was a very funny movie. Baymax looked like a big, fat marshmallow. I liked the bit where they went into the police office and Baymax put cellotape on his arm. My favourite part was when he petted the cat and said hairy baby. It was very sad when the brother died near the end. At the end it was very action packed. I think that everybody enjoyed it especially me! I would definitely watch it again. I would recommend it to my granny because it's very witty and so is she.

My Neighbour Totoro

Karola , 9

5 out of 5
School
Fairlight Primary School
Review Date
12 May, 2016

My Neighbour Totoro

I honestly loved my neighbour Totoro because Totoro was a really impeccable creature!The main characters where: Satsuki, Mei and the one and only Totoro !I though think that they could have really made the bus stop bit better by putting the dad in the cat bus and letting the mummy and daddy meet Totoro!A movie I thought was quite like it is Beauty and the Beast because they both didn't mean to meet the creature. But a difference was that they didn't really fall in love with him!Though it quite suprised me that Mei didn't listen to Satsuki because she always copies her! It was a really emotional film and overall tells you to always be kind and help full to anyone or anything around you.And to also always listen to people and always think about the positive side of something not the negative side! If you do have this movie please make sure to make the most of it and watch it ! I Also your really lucky! Also I think that people haven't exaggerated how good this movie is within their emotions! Also please watch this film to get major information about it! thank you for reading my extremely long report and bye!

Inside Out

cassandra, 11

5 out of 5
School
Quarry Brae Primary School
Review Date
12 May, 2016

Inside Out

I really liked this movie because it was fun to watch and also sad at times . It taught me how to make someone happy when they are left out .my favourite character was Joy and Riley. I would recommend this movie to people that find it hard to express themselves and how to deal with those emotions.

Edward Scissorhands

Jasmine, 14

1 out of 5
School
Ysgol Bryn Alyn
Review Date
12 May, 2016

Edward Scissorhands

I love this film as it is funny and interesting and reflects how prejudice is used when people group together to overcome there fears of the new and strange. It also shows how easy it is to influence someone's mind. the director has used amazing special effects that boggle the mind. the actors are also wondrous including the great actor Jonny Depp and Vincent Price. These actors/actresses use their amazing skill with words to create a complex and astounding world and a place you could only imagine in your dreams.

An elderly woman tells her granddaughter a bedtime story of where snow comes from, by telling her the story of a young man named Edward who has scissors for hands. As the creation of an old Inventor, Edward was a human-like boy who had everything except for hands. The Inventor suffered a fatal heart attack and died before he could give hands to Edward.

Local Avon saleswoman Peg Boggs visits the decrepit Gothic mansion on the hill where Edward lives. She finds Edward alone - at first startled, but, upon realizing he means well and is virtually harmless, takes him to her home. Edward becomes friends with Peg's young son Kevin and her husband Bill. He later falls in love with the Boggs' beautiful teenage daughter Kim, despite her initial fear of him.

Peg's neighbours are impressed by Edward's adept hedge-trimming and hair-cutting skills, though an eccentric religious fanatic named Esmeralda and Kim's overbearing boyfriend Jim are fearful and contemptuous of him. Joyce, an ageing, unfaithful housewife in the Boggs' neighbourhood, has become fascinated with Edward and suggests that Edward open a hair-cutting salon with her.

Captain America: Civil War

jonathan, 14

4 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
11 May, 2016

Captain America: Civil War

Me and my pal Oliver went to go and see Captain America Civil War, it was okay. However the title should be Avengers Civil War but then again Spider Man is in it so it should Spider Man Civil War. Black Panther was in it as well so it should be Spidey Panther and the Avengers without Thor and Hulk. Right to the plot there is none never mind to the Bat mobile there isn’t one either it was blown up in the Lego movie. This film consisted of about 12 maybe 13 heroes I lost count once Ant Man was in it. Wait a minute its now Ant Spidey Panther man Civil War. To the invisible jet wait it was blown up in the Lego movie too. To the door out of the cinema because its rubbish and I don’t like it.

Animal Crackers

tom, 13

1 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
11 May, 2016

Animal Crackers

Animal Crackers has no reason to be called Animal Crackers as it is nothing to do with animals or crackers. It was a massive disappointment as it was hyped up to be brilliant and it was awful. It was confusing, boring, not very funny and very elongated. I didn’t find it at all funny and the plot was impossible to follow no matter how intelligent you are. All of the characters were as good as they could be with the terrible script. At certain points I could have died of boredom. There was nothing that happened for long periods of time and then was bursts of fast action and confusion. I don’t see how such good film makers could make a terrible film. Groucho, Harpo, Chico, and Zeppo Marx had set such high standards of themselves that I am surprised that not all the people in 1930 were as disappointed as me. A truly awful film deserving of this lowly one star. The entire story-line was almost non-existent with no proper plot or defined heroes and villains. A complete and utter waste of time.

Captain America: Civil War

Oliver, 14

1 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
11 May, 2016

Captain America: Civil War

Recently I watched Captain America Civil War with my pal Jonny. The movie was really stupid and I really HATED it as marvel never fails to put on a bad show. The story was about the avengers splitting in two, because captain America was a selfish brat and wanted to save his friend who didn’t even remember hi m and wanted to kill him. Captain America didn’t even deserve the title it should called to many super heroes fight in an airport. Save yourself the 147 minutes of pain. The only good part was spiderman as he brought some humour.

The Little Mermaid

Stanley, 10

5 out of 5
School
Garden Suburb Junior School
Review Date
10 May, 2016

The Little Mermaid

This movie is a real family favourite. Most people say “This is all for girls!” but I completely disagree. The story follows the mischievous mermaid Ariel who falls in love with a human. She’s friends with a fish, a seagull and a lobster, who are all guaranteed to put a smile on your face. However, the sea witch wants to steal her voice so she is no longer hated! Sebastian the lobster and King Triton need to work together to stop the witch, Ursula, from cursing Ariel for eternity but can they do it? ……… Well don’t just stare at me! Go watch it!

Inside Out

Libby, 9

4 out of 5
School
Elmlea Junior School
Review Date
9 May, 2016

Inside Out

I think that Inside Out was a very good film from Disney Pixar, it took a different approach at what the normal large budget film usually is. There were some scenes that were interesting and fun to watch, such as the look inside into the mother and fathers brain, but there could have been more of these scenes as they seemed to not be expanded upon to their potential. Inside Out will send you on a roller coaster of emotions from happy and funny moments, to parts of the film that will make you want to shed a tear. I like the use of pathetic fallacy to further show the individual characters emotions, especially when (spoiler alert) Disgust made Anger angry so that he would burn through the glass to let Joy and Sadness in as i think this was well thought out and made me laugh. Over all i think it was a very fun and enjoyable film to watch with the family, as even my big brother laughed and found it funny!!

The Princess Bride

Gilyanna, 11

5 out of 5
School
Barham Primary School
Review Date
8 May, 2016

The Princess Bride

The Princess Bride is a very misleading movie as for the title you would think that its all girly and boring but actually it has more to to the movie that has been said through the cover. This movie teaches us a lesson a lesson that I finally actually understand is that you should never be fooled by whats on the outside because on the inside there is a different story.This movie really grabs your attention by always making you think you know whats happening but you actually don't.I hope when you watch this movie you can feel the same passion as I do because there is something you can always learn from just watching a movie.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy