Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Sonny, 11

5 out of 5
School
St Paulinus Catholic Primary School
Review Date
16 June, 2016

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

How could humans do this? The father learns his lesson, the hard way. It's an upsetting film, teaching us that these fascist cowards could do this to others. The camerawork is fantastic and the script and story are even better. The film follows the story of a boy, son to a nazi Commandant, murderer, who thinks his father is doing good work, the boy's grandmother and mother hate the father and Bruno (the boy) is totally ignorant to the work his father is doing. His Grandfather and sister however, think the father is a hero as the sister becomes very racist. Not very gory or graphic as you would expect but their is lots of implications of murders and deaths as we are seeing this film through a small boys perspective, obviously not understanding how evil some of the people around him are.

Inside Out

Lily-May, 10

5 out of 5
School
Ackton Pastures Primary School
Review Date
19 June, 2016

Inside Out

This was an awe-inspiring film. Jump into your mind with this Disney-Pixar animated movie were a girl called Riley fights her mind emotions throughout her days. My highlight of the film was when they directed her dream and she had no pants on and her teeth were falling out. I liked that part because it was humorous and remarkable. I did not like the part where Bing-Bong faded away because it was very sad. It was agonizing when sadness kept changing the memories because Riley kept getting very emotional. I also liked it when they combined two emotions together to make them double memories. Also, at the end they had more islands of her personality. Such as: huge family island, friendship island, argument island, fashion island, vampire island and boy-band island. They even got an expanded control console. Overall, I give this film 5 stars. This is one of the best Disney-Pixar films I have ever watched and is one of the cleverest films due to the concept of the story-line.

The Neverending Story

Mysha, 10

4 out of 5
School
Anson Primary School
Review Date
19 June, 2016

The Neverending Story

The Neverending story is about a boy called Sebastian who LOVES books. He could live in a library and never move out! One day, he managed to get his hands on a book called The Neverending Story. The book is about a world with no borders called Fantasia. Fantasia is in big trouble when the nothing comes and starts ripping it apart slowly. The Empress of the world is sick and that is really bad since she could stop the nothing. So then a boy called Atrayou goes out on a quest to find a cure for the Empress. Sebastian starts to get spooked out because the book says that he can save Fantasia. Can he? Ooohh suspense!

Despite the name 'The Neverending Story', the film does end. I mean, if it never ends, they would never end making it and they would never publish it. It's common sense. So if you're worried about that, don't be.

Labyrinth

Ewan, 9

4 out of 5
School
Axminster Community Primary School
Review Date
17 June, 2016

Labyrinth

I thought this film was amazing, except from the bad editing! You could clearly see that the long walk-way was just a small walk-way and there was a picture over the side to make it look longer. Also when the baby got thrown up, it was so clear that it was just a doll.

I liked how this film was set in loads of interesting places. I also liked all the funny characters including Ludo, the troll. It was exciting when Sarah got sent to all the different, magical and mysterious lands. Although I found it scary when Sarah was in the stair place and her brother (Toby) kept running away, I still enjoyed it though!

Finally, I felt really happy when Sarah got home, with her brother and all her friends came round.

Open Season

Olivia , 9

5 out of 5
School
Moyle Primary School
Review Date
16 June, 2016

Open Season

I thought the movie was fantastic. This movie really surprised me at the end. I would rate this as a family or +3. My favourite character was called Elliot. The movie really is a wee bit disturbing.
In the movie there is this big big scary weird werewolf that Elliot made up that was actually real.
Elliot is a weird character because he only has one antler. Elliot's best friend was called Boog.
This little dog called Mr Weenie really made me laugh. I think it was the best open season I have ever seen in my 9 years I have ever lived and that is my review of open season scared silly.

How To Train Your Dragon

jack, 9

5 out of 5
School
Scoil Na Fuiseoige
Review Date
15 June, 2016

How To Train Your Dragon

This film How To Train Your Dragon is a very magnificent and unbelievable film .This film is an Adventure film but sad too .The film is a very natural cartoon and I think everyone would like. In my opinion this film was amazing. My most favourite character was Hiccup and Toothless.
I thought Hiccup was very fantastic when he shot Toothless down.

Overall I think the film was great and suitable to watch during the day or at night .I particularly loved the film because it was very unpredictable at times and suspenseful but it didn’t spoil anything to fast paced which made the movie more interesting. .It was upsetting perplexing yet also heart-warming all at once.

This film was just brilliant I loved each and every character in the whole story

I would love there to be a How To Train Your Dragon 3

So I am very happy to give this film a five stasr[:`

Le gamin au vélo (The Kid with a Bike)

Charlie, 13

4 out of 5
School
Saint Thomas More Language College
Review Date
14 June, 2016

Le gamin au vélo (The Kid with a Bike)

This film is a totally different style of cinema to what I am used to, with very few camera filters or editing, and only three times can the sole song of the film be heard. It felt like a breath of fresh air, as the characters were very relatable and life like due to the exceptional character portrayals from the actors in the film. Although it isn't the best of international films, it is a film worth watching if you are interested in a new kind of film, as it feels like another world of cinema outside of Hollywood, one that should be discovered by more people and this film is a good place to start

The Iron Giant

Kira , 9

5 out of 5
School
Cilfynydd Primary School
Review Date
14 June, 2016

The Iron Giant

The iron giant is an emotional film because Hogarth thinks his best friend dies. Hogarths best friend is a massive iron giant. The iron giant is personnaly my favorite character. Near the end it was very creapy. And dont even say anything about the music, it was so dramatic and it made me feel like i was inside the film. It is also a friendship title film developed by a little boy and a giant. At the start of the film. I would maybe rate it a 5 because the music and the animations are very old and quite dated. The music came on at scary times or funny times and i feel like those are the best parts to put that kind of music in. The movie is different to other movies because the main character trys to save a giant, and at the end the iron giant sacrifices his life for hogarth.
OMG the music was amazing and a bit old fashioned. I loved the settings in the film because there is always exiting things to happen there.

Singin' in the Rain

Muminah, 9

5 out of 5
School
Greenfield Primary School and Early Years Centre
Review Date
13 June, 2016

Singin' in the Rain

Superb singing for a fab shower!

Although it was humorous , I gave this established movie four out of five because there were kissing which not much people think is appropriate. The fab thing about it is that it has a lot of comedy e.g tap dancing with funny faces.

Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly ) went to the premier with Lina (Jean Hagen. ) Next Don does some speech but Lina doesn't because she has a rubbish and a squeaky voice. They have fake love Basically.Because of Lina they did silent movies . But then disaster struck they changed it to talkie movies. Soon evreryone found out that it was actually Kathy ( Debbie )actually sang it and Lina mimed it.

Ithink over all it was really funny- the first reason is that when Cosmo ( Donald ) does the tap dancing. second reason is when Don Lockwood tap dances.

It also has good ideas like changing problems and people watching the movie in black and white.
The disaster is that is rude and gross.

In my opinion over all it wouldn't be acceptable for children under ten because there's a lot of kissing and they will be like uuugh!

By Muminah

Singin' in the Rain

Aqeeb, 10

3 out of 5
School
Greenfield Primary School and Early Years Centre
Review Date
13 June, 2016

Singin' in the Rain

Weird people singing... in the rain!

It may be comedy but this classic three star is quite sketchy... It is weird that people are not really singing in the rain because most of the scenes are not in the rain but since it is called there must be at least a clip showing them singing in the rain and there is!But it had a song...

This three star movie includes popular Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) which made the movie sensational.The song was so popular that cartoons and commercials used the song!Don Lockwood has weird adventure but some of the adventures are really funny.

The most hated bit are kissing,we all cover are eyes with our hands until it is finished.Nobody saw the kissing because we knew it will be gross!

It may be in the silent film era and there may be parts where it is black and white.The sound is quite and in the movie theatre the movie is in black and white.

I mostly like the dancing except when it was in the casino and I also like the singing .Nearly every time if there is singing there is dancing.

Overall I think this movie is not what you except.I think this movie is suitable for 11+ because there is a lot of kissing scenes and the best song that i like is gotta dance.

The Water Horse: Legend Of The Deep

Georgios, 9

4 out of 5
School
Bellyeoman Primary School
Review Date
10 June, 2016

The Water Horse: Legend Of The Deep

I thought the film was compelling because it combined the legend we know about Loch Ness with a virtual story that made it have a twist of realism. It was amazing how they presented the movie and like all movies that I always enjoy watching, the part that made it even better was the special effects. Furthermore, two points that encouraged me to keep watching was that it kept the same story line and the plot continues to be interesting all through the movie. I would be suspicious to see if the creators of the film will be interested and willing to carry on with a second film about the latest egg and a hatchling! Overall I would conclude that if you are looking for a excellent family film with a satisfying plot then this is recommended for an rainy Friday night.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy