Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Wall-E

Terezia, 11

5 out of 5
School
Cranmore Integrated Primary School
Review Date
9 April, 2015

Wall-E

You can't get another film like this one. It is funny, heartwarming, well produced and colourful. I think the characters have been given strong personalities and you get to know a lot about them during the film.
I think that the interior of the Axiom was exciting, since it was so detailed.It was interesting how the makers of this movie thought through the ship's automated systems for its obese passengers. Also the way the Earth looked like in the movie was a bit sad since it was lifeless and there was so much dust, dirt and no plants, except for one.The planet's orbit was clouded with so many satelites and it made the Earth look grey! I liked the part when Wall.E was travelling on the rocket to the Axiom. I also liked the part when Captain was battling with Auto. It was also interesting that Wall.E and EVE had feelings and could talk even though they were robots.My favourite part was when the Captain said "On Earth you can grow food... like pizza!"

I do recommend this film to everyone who like sci-fi and adventure.( :

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts  No.19

Henry, 9

4 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE School, Louth
Review Date
20 April, 2015

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts No.19

I love this silly, wonderful film, it's great. The part I like is when Laurel kept making a silly sound after he talks. I also love this film because it is in black and white. I like black and white because it makes the film look more interesting.

The Wind Rises

Eva, 11

3 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
12 April, 2015

The Wind Rises

Although this film gave me a lot of hearty laughs, there wasn't a real conflict, so the result was that it was slightly uninteresting. If I was given a choice, I wouldn't watch it again.

A Japanese boy dreams of planes, but because of his eyesight, he is barred from it. When he grows older, he takes up designing planes for World War ||. Then he goes to the mountains and falls in love with a girl who has TB. As her condition worsens, he doesn't realise, and continues with his work. Will his luck change? Will the Wind Rise and guide his plane into the Sun?

The film drags on a bit, and doesn't excite you. You don't get emotional, or fear for the characters as you should. Not the best film, and I wouldn't recommend it.

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts  No.19

Henry, 9

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE School, Louth
Review Date
10 April, 2015

Laurel And Hardy - Pardon Us And Related Shorts No.19

** POSTCARD REVIEW **

I love this silly, wonderful film, it's great. The part I like is when Laurel kept making a silly sound after he talks. I also love this film because it is in black and white. I like black and white because it makes the film look more interesting.

Space Buddies

Ellis, 5

5 out of 5
School
Crakehall C of E Primary School
Review Date
10 April, 2015

Space Buddies

** POSTCARD REVIEW **

I liked it when a dog was very hungry. I liked it when the dogs came home. I liked it when the man was running from the fire.

Hero

Maria, 15

4 out of 5
School
U C L Academy
Review Date
10 April, 2015

Hero

** POSTCARD REVIEW **

The imagery in the film was very striking: the desert, the dark armies and the flowing white materials. The main moral of the movie towards the end focuses mainly on sacrifice for love, peace within the conflict and the fight for truth. Really enjoyed it!

Coraline

Eleanor, 11

5 out of 5
School
St Catherine's Catholic Primary School, Lowton
Review Date
8 April, 2015

Coraline

This strange fairy tale has haunted me science I was a young age of 6 but when I watched this strange fantasy, I realized, there isn't anything to be afraid of!

Coraline is about a small girl whose name is coraline as you may have guessed, coroline is a young curious girl of around about the age of 8 or 9 (I have no idea to be honest ,I am just trying to sound good!) When coraline moves houce to the most boringest place ever known (or at least that's what coastline thinks) coraline finds something new behind a small magical door, a better place filled with dreams that come true and fun parents, it's all perfect for coraline untill she sees the buttons...

I rate this film 5 stars because this haunting film isn't actually that bad! (by that I mean wow what a great film by the way!) I would say that this film is suitable for ages 7 and over or it may haunt them forever. (I may have egzadurated a bit there.)


I really enjoyed this film and am glad I watched it.

The Fault in Our Stars

jucemilla , 17

4 out of 5
School
West Thames College
Review Date
8 April, 2015

The Fault in Our Stars

The award wining director Josh Boone brings a amazing novel to life .
The Fault in our stars is one of those movies that sort of get you to believe that love still exists . The fascinating story of two teenagers with cancer that fall in love . Based on John Green’s bestselling novel. The film tells the story of Hazel Grace Lancaster (Shailene Woodley), a smart 16 year old girl that doesn't remember what its like not living with cancer . At the age of 13 she was very close to dying but due to a “miracle” treatment the doctors managed to put her cancer at a manageable level . Hazel has to breathe through oxygen tubes 24/7.
Her parents (Laura Dern, Sam Trammell) get worried that maybe their daughter is slowly becoming depressed , since she has no friends (in the movie) and spend her time rereading a Novel by Peter Van Houten’s postmodern cancer-themed novel, “An Imperial Affliction.” After her parents literally begging her to go she agrees to attend a weekly church-basement support group hosted by a guy obssesed with Jesus Patrick (Mike Birbiglia).
And that's when she meets Augustus Waters (Ansel Esgort) a 18 year old who stopped playing basketball because he got he's Legg removed due to he's cancer . After a few glances at each other through the meeting the two decide to talk outside . And that's when the most inspiring love story begins .
Personally I think the film was very realistic it wasn't the typical cliché Love story . It was very real and believable . The film yes like others might say don't exactly show all the bad points of cancer but its very close to reality. I personally think that the character Hazel Grace (which is very well played by Shailene Woodley ) is meant to remove the stereotype of cancer patients . She is strong and tries to live her life normally she shows no vulnerability since she tries to do everything alone even though her mum act like some form of shadow . I would personally say for a girl with thyroid cancer she shows great female strength and I personally think Shailene Woodley bought that to the screen very well . She gave the character of Hazel Grace some form of sas and smartness. The soundtracks from the film were amazing , music coming from artist like Ed Sheeran and Charli XCX . It was what bought the film to life the music helped you feel the characters emotions more which naturally made the tears flow .
I would recommend this masterpiece to anyone who's I looking for inspiration . Because it is definitely a 10/10 from me very well produced by Wyck Godfrey and Marty Bowen.

My Neighbour Totoro

Jacob, 10

4 out of 5
School
Carr Junior School
Review Date
7 April, 2015

My Neighbour Totoro

If you know me you know I LOVE anime(japanese animation) with a passion. This anime will always have a special place in my heart since It was the first anime I ever watched.(1 of the stars I gave were due to nostalgia) It is about 2 young girls moving to the country. There they meet a spirit of the forest, Totoro. It has the worlds best soundtrack ever and the ending song IS SO GOOD! My only problem with this is that the characters can sometimes can get obnoxious (looking at you May)

My conclusion: A great film with a great soundtrack!

The Princess Bride

Ella, 11

1 out of 5
School
St Catherine's Catholic Primary School, Lowton
Review Date
4 April, 2015

The Princess Bride

This film has been deemed as an amazing film for family which is just as great for kids as it is for adults. This is completely wrong. The princess bride is a film which instead of giving children admirable role models gives them bloodthirsty men who have dedicated their life to revenge and idiotic women who insist that their boyfriend will come and save them.This quite certainly gives girls the in adadaquat impression that women are delicate items who are made to look pretty and scream. It gives boys the message that revenge is the answer. I quite certainly disagree with primerly all the messages in this film which are as much sexist as this film is garbage.

Buttercup lives on a farm and her two favourite things to do is to horse ride and to pester the farm boy. When she finds out that she loves the farm boy and that he loves her back she is content with life and with Westly ( Farm boy). However when Westley goes out to work in order for them to have enough money to get married, he gets murdered leaving Buttercup heartbroken. Some time later Buttercup is about to marry a prince when she gets kidnapped and meets the man who killed her true love...

This film is as terrible in costumes and special effects as it is in the story. I know it's from the 80s but that's no excuse because in the same decade back to the future was made with stunning props,costumes and an amazing script.

This film is 98 minutes of pure torture and cringeing at the way the characters act woodenly and the way the script steroyotypes love. I highly do not recommend this utter failure of a film to anyone. If you consider to watch this film though ( Anyone with a brain would not after reading this.) do not show it to younger children as they would perhaps take it in and grow up thinking a boy will save me or that you must live preparing revenge on those who have offended you or your family.

The only reason I have given it one star is because the website will not allow me to give it none.

Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure

Cesia, 10

5 out of 5
School
Ysgol Iolo Morganwg
Review Date
3 April, 2015

Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure

Os ydych chi’n chwilio am ffilm ddoniol, hwyliog ac anturus Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure yw’r ffilm i chi. Byddwch yn chwerthin yn uchel yn y ffilm gyffrous hon. Cafodd y ffilm yma ei chynhyrchu yn 1989, a chyfarwyddwyd y ffilm yma gan Stephen Herek. Ser y sioe yw Keanu Reeves ac Alex Winter, a hyd y ffilm yw 90 munud. Mae’r ffilm yma yn ffilm gwerth ei gweld.

Ffilm am ddau fachgen sydd yn cael trafferth efo Hanes ydi hon. Mae ganddynt asesiad Hanes yn yr ysgol ac os dydyn nhw ddim yn pasio efo A+ bydd yn rhaid i Ted fynd i ysgol arall. Doedd ganddynt ddim syniad am beth i wneud ar gyfer eu asesiad. Yna daeth Rufus a dywedodd wrthynt i ddefnyddio’r blwch ffonio. Roedd y blwch ffonio yma yn mynd nol mewn amser. Defnyddiodd Bill and Ted y blwch a dod a chymeriadau o gyfnodau gwahanol efo nhw. Roedd Napoleon yn un ohonynt. Erbyn hyn roedd ganddynt lawer o gymeriadau ac yn gwybod dipyn mwy am hanes y byd. Pan mae Bill a Ted yn cyrraedd yr arholiad maent yn syfrdanu pawb efo’i hymdrech a’i gwybodaeth. Gwnaethant asesiad anhygoel o dda. Ond y cwestiynau sydd yn eich meddwl yw: A wnawn nhw basio’r arholiad efo A+ ? A fydd Ted yn symud ysgol? Ac a fydd eu cyfeillgarwch yn dod i ben?

Er mae ffilm ffuglen oedd hon roedd hi’n teimlo fel stori wir oherwydd yr effeithiau goleuo arbennig wrth iddynt deithio nol mewn amser. Dwi hefyd yn credu bod y cymeriadu yn wych, oherwydd hyn, weithiau roeddwch yn teimlo fel eich bod chi i fewn yn y stori. Mae’r ffilm yma yn dangos bod unrhywbeth yn bosib oherwydd roedd Bill a Ted yn anobeithiol yn Hanes ar y dechrau ac erbyn y diwedd roedden nhw wedi gwella.

Hon yw un o fy hoff ffilmiau i ac yn bersonol dwi’n credu ei fod yn ffilm wych.Roedd y ffilm yma yn glyfar iawn yn gallu gwneud i chi chwerthin yn uchel a teimlo’r tensiwn a’r cyffro. Byddaf yn argymell y ffilm yma i blant dros 9 mlwydd oed oherwydd efallai ni fyddent yn deall y stori i gyd. Dwi’n credu bod y ffilm hon yn headdu 5 seren.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy