Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Dumbo

Zofia, 6

5 out of 5
School
Our Lady And St George's Catholic Primary School
Review Date
11 May, 2015

Dumbo

This film was terrific. Dumbo was so cute and adorable when he was unwrapped from the bag-like big tissue that the four proud elephants gasped. The film was sometimes funny and sometimes moving. I would recommend it to other children at the age of 5 and above. It was superb, even though it's an old film.

Lars and the Real Girl

Antoni, 18

5 out of 5
School
The Sixth Form College Farnborough
Review Date
15 May, 2015

Lars and the Real Girl

Film Club is going to be one of the things I'm going to miss the most when leaving college, not only did it allow me to watch and experience films with a few like-minded people, but it also introduced me to some truly great and unforgettable titles - 'Lars and the Real Girl' is without a doubt one of those titles.

I think it's pretty obvious that I'm a fan of Ryan Gosling as well as the projects he chooses, and this project happens to be a quirky love tale with an unconventional premise which, unsurprisingly, suits Gosling wonderfully. This light-hearted yet thought-provoking story focuses on the character of Lars - an innocently adorable, insecure and "delusional young man" who falls in "love" with a doll, and as a result of this, affects the people around him on a psychological level. If this synopsis doesn't seem appealing to you, or instantly makes you label this film as "ridiculous", then simply don't watch it. However, if you're like me and you appreciate experimental films that succeed in and go beyond being entertaining... this film will be a pleasant treat for you.

Besides a great and certainly unique performance from Gosling along with respectable performances from the rest of the cast, the film unexpectedly brings a lot of profound emotion and social commentary. 'Lars and the Real Girl' is one of those films that will make you think if you engage yourself in its cleverly crafted subtext, and on top of that, all the charming characters and whimsical scenarios make this experience even more rewarding. On the whole, this is one of those precious stories that provides something unique in almost all aspects, and absolutely succeeds in getting to your heart in a way you'd never expect.

Finding Nemo

Emilie, 10

5 out of 5
School
Stratton Primary School
Review Date
15 May, 2015

Finding Nemo

This animated film, released officially in 2003, is a wonderful story about two clown fish, a father Marlin (voiced by Albert Brooks) and his son Nemo (Alexander Gould) who love each other really but find it hard to show so.

Join Marlin, a very pessimistic father who is always seeing his glass half empty, and his son Nemo in the Great Barrier Reef. Nemo is fed up of following his dads over protective lead and to defy him swims up to a fishing boat, but disaster strikes and Nemo is caught by divers and taken away to Sydney. His father then goes on a desperate search for him. Along the way they make new friendships, the most important one being Marlin's friendship with Dory. But will they ever find each other again?

I really enjoyed this film with all it's emotion, drama and humour (especially the seagulls "Mine,mine,mine!"). They were very strong and to be honest I'd only been watching it for a few minutes and my heart was thudding. My favourite feature of this film has to be the humour that Dory (voiced by Ellen DeGeneres) brings to it. Her character is the very opposite to Marlin (her glass is definitely half full) and this unusual friendship helps Marlin to succeed in finding Nemo.

The beautiful animation really brings this film to life, the colours and movement of the water scenes especially.

This film can be enjoyed by anyone at any age, I still love watching this film again and again. It is a really feel good film and will make anyone happy.

By Emilie 10

P.S Just keep swimming :)

Arctic Tale

LILY, 10

5 out of 5
School
St. Thomas Primary School
Review Date
15 May, 2015

Arctic Tale

***POSTCARD REVIEW*** I loved it. For somebody who loves horror, finding out the truth of nature is interesting and slightly upsetting. I laughed at the human noises the walruses made but when the polar bear was killed, it brought tears to my eyes. It was educational and gave me a real insight to nature.

The Lord Of The Rings - The Fellowship Of The Ring

brendan, 13

3 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
14 May, 2015

The Lord Of The Rings - The Fellowship Of The Ring

Everyone agrees that the perfect movie cannot and will not exist. Well out steps The Fellowship of the Ring which throws the theory that a perfect movie cant exist out the window. This movie has everything. It has quality action which is 10 times better than your usual high flying action movies. It has romance (that I personally don't like but I know some people do). It has beautiful C.G.I that makes your eyes fly out their sockets. And lastly the acting is AMAZING!!!
Frodo is a Hobbit who gets left a mysterious ring by his uncle Bilbo but when his friend Gandalf the wizard tells him that this is the master ring forged by the dark lord Sauron so that he could rule over all of Middle Earth (the place where the movie is set). Frodo is then forced into quest where the world rest in his hands. He is aided constantly by his gardener Sam who is played by Sean Astin. Sam portrayed by Astin does not only pluck your heart strings.He strums them to a beat. The Lord of the Rings, The Fellowship of the Ring takes your breath away and keeps on making you want to get closer to the action. Like I said before, its the perfect movie.

Ernest and Celestine

Abbie, 11

4 out of 5
School
Giffnock Primary
Review Date
14 May, 2015

Ernest and Celestine

Ernest and Celestine is a heartwarming story about an unlikely friendship between a mouse, Celestine, and a bear, Ernest. The effects were amazing, and the hand-drawn animation has a vintage touch to it. The story's moral is, just because people want you to be a certain kind of person, it doesn't mean you have to be that certain king of person, it's better to be your own person, not someone elses.

The story begins in a mouse orphanage underground, where the owner keeps the abondoned children in order by terrifying them with tales of the 'Big Bad Bear'. Celestine, a little mouse feels that the bear is not what she is told. She grows up to be an apprentice dentist, but one failed assingment leaves her with the task of collecting fifty teeth. She ventures up, to the world of the bears. In a task to collect the teeth she meets Ernest, a bear rejected by society. Together they go on an adventure full of twists and turns. Their friendship grows stronger throughout the movie, and they realise that the two communities are not so different after all.

This adorable film will make you realise that people that you think are different may not be as alien as you think, and that you should always give friendship with new people a try.

Celestine is the cutest little mouse ever!!!!

The Maze Runner

Christy, 13

5 out of 5
School
John Paul Academy
Review Date
12 May, 2015

The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner is by far one of my favourite movies of 2014. Based off of the brilliant book that was so cleverly written by James Dashner, its action-packed and filled with thrilling moments that will truely keep you on the edge of your seat.

Its based on boys who are sent up to the Glade, by who or why are unknown. For years the same thing happens, a boy is sent up oce a month with supplies to keep them going. But things go haywire when Thomas is sent up. He is special, and could be the possible way to escape the maze.

I believe the messages of the film are to never give up, as Thomas always keep going no matter or what stands in his way, and also trust in others because all the boys (and girl) have to stick together to survive and work well in a team, mostly.

I think the Maze Runner is a incredibly exciting movie and has a great cast. The acting is great and the visual effects are simply stunning. I would definitely give this movie 5 stars because its the type of genre I like and a all round amazing movie!

Bean - The Ultimate Disaster Movie

Olivia, 10

4 out of 5
School
Crakehall C of E Primary School
Review Date
12 May, 2015

Bean - The Ultimate Disaster Movie

** POSTCARD REVIEW **

I love Mr Bean his character he is funny and strong at the same time but at his age he should know more things than he does and he should know more about other countries (he should go back to school) and listen! It was AMAZING.

Fantasia

Chardonnay, 10

3 out of 5
School
St. Thomas Primary School
Review Date
12 May, 2015

Fantasia

** POSTCARD REVIEW **

I like this movie because it has nice soothing music in it and I like music. The music changes temp easily when you don't expect it. It is also quite funny. I don't like it because the narrator speaks with no expression. I don't like it because it keeps repeating the words. I like the tempo of the music.

Those Magnificent Men In Their Flying Machines

Aida, 10

4 out of 5
School
Valley Primary School
Review Date
12 May, 2015

Those Magnificent Men In Their Flying Machines

Do you love flying machines? If so, I have the perfect review for you. This film is a jam-packed adventure where a group of men try to defy gravity by each making their own flying machine to race from London to Paris. The prize was 10,000 pounds, something that everyone wanted. As well as that, two men were on a quest to win a woman who was too beautiful to let go of. That meant the race was more important to them than to anyone else. Alas, I cant tell you about the dramatic ending, so if you want to know what happens, watch this death-defying film.

Project Almanac

Audy, 11

3 out of 5
School
Witchford Village College
Review Date
11 May, 2015

Project Almanac

This was a very fun film for me, because unlike most of my family i can grasp the concept of time travel, there was nice little hints to them time traveling in picture etc. And it stood out from other time travel films. A nice feature to mention is that we saw the whole film from their camera (a few times we saw them without the camera). I really enjoyed this film and the whole adventure aspect of it.My only complaint is that it took a bit of time for them to start time traveling, but it was very fun watching them build it and find out what it could do. Remember this is only my opinion and if you would like to see the film i do recommend it.Some people might not like how it is filmed from the home camera but i thought it was a very nice touch.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy