Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

ET (E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial)

callum, 11

4 out of 5
School
Kings Heath Primary School
Review Date
8 July, 2014

ET (E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial)

This film emphasises the fact that children have a wider imagination and are open to new ideas more than adults, the writers do this by having the adult characters (especially the mum) very scared of E.T. before they even find out anything about him or interact with him in any way. Whereas children, just like you and me, would be open to finding out everything there is to know about him. A lot of films with aliens in, portray them in a nasty, horrible and evil way but not E.T.. People have assumed that all aliens are horrible creatures otherwise they wouldn't be evil in movies but how do you know if that is a true assumption? Maybe there are aliens looking down on us if we're as evil as we are in they're films!
I kind of forgot about it before coming to write this review but the relationship between Elliot and his older brother grows throughout the film from his brother mocking Elliot when he says he's seen a alien to them becoming allies to save E.T.
I don't really know why I've given it four stars instead of five, it's just one of those films where if I get a choice I wouldn't choose to watch it but when I do I enjoy it quite a bit.
E.T. is a amazingly-crafted motion-picture that has been bringing families to tears for thirty-two years and will carry on to do so for many more.

Frozen

Emma, 10

3 out of 5
School
More Park Catholic Primary School
Review Date
11 July, 2014

Frozen

A wonderful disney fairy tale , a young girl called Elsa finds out something very magical. But accedently its frozen her village. On a quest to put things right Elsa meets her true love. But, Prince Hance is up to no good and all gos bad......
With this epic adventure there is love and cunningness. Its a fantastic and amazing film with lots of happiness furthermore you can join in aswell in the songs.

Planes

Eloise, 11

4 out of 5
School
Didcot Girls' School
Review Date
10 July, 2014

Planes

I rated Planes a 4/5, it's about a plane whos regular job is going up and down a corn field spreading manure all day long. He's got a lot to prove if he wants to make it to the big leagues of racing (including TAKING A SHOWER!!!!!!). I think it would appeal to 4-10 year olds because there are planes that talk, wich doesn't 100% float my boat. WARNING: contains romance.

Mad Hot Ballroom

mischa-lou, 10

5 out of 5
School
Drake Primary School
Review Date
10 July, 2014

Mad Hot Ballroom

WOW wasn't expecting that much emotions. It was like when they were upset I was upset and when they were happy I was happy.The thing I liked about this film was how the children really tried and pushed themselves to get first place in the dance competition.But unfortunetly some groups didn't get in so I felt extremely bad for them.

This is why I gave this film a fabulous 5 stars.

The Indian in the Cupboard

Grace, 9

4 out of 5
School
Barming Primary School
Review Date
9 July, 2014

The Indian in the Cupboard

I have enjoyed this film and have been so excited to write a review on it! its about a nine year - old boy who discovers an Indian (little bull), that he got from his birthday and has this magic cupboard that if you put a toy in it then close and open the door it will come alive....
I really liked how they shrunk the actors in the film because it makes it so realistic. My favourite part was when the indian built a house/den thing.
This film was produced in 1995 and the director is frank oz. It's an enjoyable 96 minute film and i will so recommended it to film lovers if you are looking for a film thats not the type you would usually watch.
I gave it a 4 star rating because it was an amazing film but it can get a bit boring because there a parts that i dont think they really need.

Spirited Away

Darlene, 8

5 out of 5
School
St Thomas Aquinas Catholic Primary School
Review Date
9 July, 2014

Spirited Away

This movie is about a girl called Chihiro someone took her name and replaced it with Sen. It is mesmerising and it makes my mind a whirlpool of fear and suspense. A character I like is Haku (spirit of Kohaku river) because he helped Chihiro and was brave. My favourite part of the movie was when Haku led Chihiro into the human world.

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2

Daisy, 10

5 out of 5
School
Bridport, St Mary's CofE Primary School
Review Date
8 July, 2014

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2

I loved the film, it was really imaginative and the way the foodimals had their own feelings, names and voices. My favourite character was Steve because he didn't know what was happening, even when they were being chased by a cheese spider. When Flint and the others saw all the different species of food appearing out of the water and trees, it was the best bit of the film.

Bedtime Stories

Florence, 10

3 out of 5
School
Harrison Primary School
Review Date
8 July, 2014

Bedtime Stories

This funny, family film shows that even in the toughest of times, you can make simple enjoyable things come true, just with a little help from Bedtime Stories. Nothing can beat what families provide for you and whatever happens can happen to those who don't expect it. Magic, but real, exactly what you want.

Where The Wild Things Are

Joshua, 8

3 out of 5
School
Haynes Lower School
Review Date
7 July, 2014

Where The Wild Things Are

This film was very different to all the other films we have seen, because it was set in a strange world, with weird creatures and it was very dramatic! My favourite part was when all the creatures had a mud fight with Max, as it was very funny! I would recommend this to anyone over 4.

Eight Below

Georgia, 10

3 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
7 July, 2014

Eight Below

I loved the film. It was a bit sad at times. When teardrops had to flow down your worried face. I was scared and sad for all of the characters at one moment or another in the movie. For example, when a guy nearly fell down a cravasse. Maya was my favourite huskies, although all of them were great. It was amazing how the film director go the huskies to act.

When I got home I had tears down my cheeks and all i thought about was leopard seals, snow and huskies. It was a bit predictable at times but I still enjoyed it. That's why i gave it three stars.

I can't tell you the story but all I can say is that the film was about scientist and huskies set in the Arctic. Visually it was amazing to look at.

ET (E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial)

Stan, 8

3 out of 5
School
Saint James' CofE Primary School
Review Date
3 July, 2014

ET (E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial)

I DIDN'T ENJOY THIS FILM THAT MUCH BECAUSE IT WAS VERY SAD BECAUSE I HAD A WORLD OF TEARS INSIDE MY BODY!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy