Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Mulan

Olivia, 6

5 out of 5
School
Our Lady And St George's Catholic Primary School
Review Date
26 April, 2016

Mulan

I like the film because MULAN loses her teddy bear and pretends to be a boy. All she
wanted to is save her father. I also liked when there was an army and the master pops out of the snow.I think it was a good movie because they fight in the palace.The story is set in china
where only men where aloud to go to war and no women are aloud.They where preparing to go and fight.They were thinking woman should not fight.

Howl's Moving Castle

Dulcie, 9

5 out of 5
School
Fairlight Primary School
Review Date
29 April, 2016

Howl's Moving Castle

Howls moving castle is a film representing that everything is possible. This is one of the best movies i have ever seen!!!! The illustrations are wonderful. It stars Christian Bale who plays batman and Howl!!!! I loved the film and thrilling vibe of every surprising bit! Excitement ran down my spine the minute Howls castle was in sight! This film reminds me of zootropolis because of the tension but I think howl is even better because zootropolis took it too far. Its exhilaration would have excited anyone, anywhere. The reviews i have read so far about this movie have not exaggerated how good this movie is!!!! I would personally recommend this!

The Water Horse: Legend Of The Deep

Nampreet, 10

5 out of 5
School
Graiseley Primary School
Review Date
29 April, 2016

The Water Horse: Legend Of The Deep

CRUSOOOOE!!!This film has got everything a movie needs; action & adventure, comedy, emotional, suspense etc. In my opinion, I absolutely love this film because of the amazing storyline and the great acting. However, I think that children under the age of 8 should by assisted by their guardian as some scenes may be scary or hard to understand. I think that the fact that it's set in WW2 (world war 2) it makes the storyline more powerful and gets you stuck in so you can't turn away. I would highly recommend this film as I enjoyed it remarkbly lots.

The Princess Bride

Tanya, 9

5 out of 5
School
Barham Primary School
Review Date
28 April, 2016

The Princess Bride

Wow ,wow and wow, you know after watching this , I think I would like to watch it again because it's a thrilling film that has lots of love, fighting and action. Some people might not like it because of the kissing parts, but I think kissing is okay.

My favourite character is... the princess, because she's confident and gets to go on these incredible adventures plus, she's kind to a boy who, she worked with in a farm.

This firm carrys' lots of adventures which hopefully you would love.

Doctor Dolittle

Maya, 10

5 out of 5
School
Lent Rise Combined School
Review Date
28 April, 2016

Doctor Dolittle

WOW, this was a really interesting movie, I enjoyed every second of it. I would watch it again, if I had the chance! I think having the ability to talk to animals is cool, imagine being able to talk to your home pet, or any animal you see. this film was, mysterious, funny and just...funny. I think having Eddie Murphy as Dr Dolittle was a great idea because he has great expression in his acting. this movie was good because the actors were so good it felt like you were in the movie! whoever made (created) this movie was very talented. this is a great movie, therefor I give this film 5 stars!

The Red Balloon (Le Ballon Rouge)

Katie , 10

5 out of 5
School
Old Hall Junior School
Review Date
27 April, 2016

The Red Balloon (Le Ballon Rouge)

This film had a very unusuall frenship with the boy and the red balloon. Also the film maker makes me think how he make the balloon float and you are not able to see any string so Ihave got no idea how tey do it. Mabye you could work that out ? The film is a very old film and it is really impressive and I hope that you will enjoy this film and you will watch it. As well as that it made me realise that a friend could be anybody no matter how big or small or a person or and object but they can always be your friend. This film is very short however it has a lot of imfomation and you can learn a lot from it. Ihope that you will watch this film some day.

Chicken Run

Rameen, 11

4 out of 5
School
Barham Primary School
Review Date
25 April, 2016

Chicken Run

This film was unique as it was from the point of view of chickens. It was about the determination and resilience animals and people can have when they set a target for themselves, which pushes them to accomplish the task they want to. Being another example of "If you don't succeed at first, try, try again", it is inspirational for children, encouraging them to be risk-taking and not to give up easily. Also, it gives children an idea of the feelings humans and animals encounter in difficult circumstances, giving them a chance to compare themselves with the chickens. Watching this film gives them the opportunity to see the similarities and differences between them and enables them to approach problems in a different way. The chickens had a positive attitude and found methods to tackle the obstacles in their lives, which will have a similar impact on the viewers.

I would recommend this film to children who enjoy comedy and apply what they learn because they will be role models to others but will love the hilarious moments.

Matilda

Summer, 7

5 out of 5
School
Stockwell Primary School
Review Date
25 April, 2016

Matilda

I have never watched Matilda in my whole life.It was really good though,it is probably is the best film
in film club.The main characters are Matilda,Miss Honey and Miss Chrunchable. (My favourite character is either Matilda or Miss Honey.)My favourite part is either when Matilda uses her power to make her breakfast or when the whole school gets rid of Miss Chrunchable by throwing stuff at her like toilet roll,cake and more.

WOW words to describe the film

Awesome/Amazing Fantastic/Fabulous

Sixteen Candles

Sinead, 12

5 out of 5
School
Lyndon School Humanities College
Review Date
25 April, 2016

Sixteen Candles

This is the best film I have ever watched, this is because characters in the film were very active the only thing that I didn't like about this film is the atmosphere it was a little like the olden day film but think that it was really good the camera work was really wonderful how they make most films so brilliant that the setting was also really good also the plot was all about the girl having a really bad day because all of her family had forgotten about her birthday. I also thought that is was really funny when her sister had been getting married and then she had taken 6 pills didn't really have the best wedding. The next day Samantha had the best day because all of the boys had started to like her and then after she had finished at her sisters wedding she had went out side and her crush was out there waiting for her and because they both had , had a sortspot for each other the boy had taken her to his house and he had a birthday cake for her and then they had started snoging the part that touched me the most is when Jake had said go on then make your wish and then she had said It has already came true.

The Polar Express

Maaria, 8

5 out of 5
School
Cottage Grove Primary School
Review Date
25 April, 2016

The Polar Express

I love this film so much because it's all about Christmas and it makes me so enjoyable. The movie makes me so inspiring and comfortable to watch.There is a little boy who joins the train and makes a bit of trouble. After that, there was another little boy who sang a beautiful song with an amazing girl.It was funny when the people from the train were singing a song and gave the other little children hot chocolate and it was also sweet when the little girl saved a glass of hot chocolate.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Sara, 13

5 out of 5
School
Cardinal Newman High School
Review Date
24 April, 2016

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

This movie was the highlight of 2015 for me. I had been anticipated it for years and I wasn't dissatisfied. Both the new and old characters made me feel great joy and it was very enlightening to see a female protagonist in a Star Wars film. J.J. Abrams did an amazing job using more practical props instead of adding stuff in post. My only problem with it was that it was a bit too much like A New Hope. Other than that, everything else made my heart feel all nice and warm and fuzzy.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy