Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Freedom Writers

Laura, 14

3 out of 5
School
The Boswells School
Review Date
7 April, 2014

Freedom Writers

People so often feel as if they are forced to follow a certain path in life, it is this single idea that stops millions of people from achieving their dreams in life. Whether most people want to admit it or not, there is a point in life where people choose what they want to do and what others want them to do or expect them to do

Freedom writers follows a young teacher, Erin Gruwell- played brilliantly by Hillary Swank- who begins teaching in a neighbourhood riddled with gangs, crime and death. Her students conciser it a successful day if they live to see the sun go down. Erin, however, is determined to teach her class, who dismiss education and care not at all towards it, about tolerance, love and the importance of education, while both in school and in later on in life. I believe that a film with such strong and powerful messages like this should be viewed by all in order for everyone to learn such important life lessons about the important of being yourself and the ability that we have to be able to learn and not to take advantage of that. I think that this film was acted fantastically, the character development- particularly from the students- was terrific, and some of the scenes brought a tear to my eye, to see how for some a free education is their only chance to get somewhere in life. It definitely made me consider how lucky I am and how grateful I should be to have the opportunity to live a life with a free education and to live in a part of the world where I can have so many incredible and amazing opportunities.

However having said all this, I must add how this film does very much revolve around the idea of the white saviour complex, how the white female is able to save the day and help everything get better for everyone else. This, I feel let the film down for me, as it makes me think how our society is still very much prejudice towards white people being the saviours and other people need help from them, which is not at all the case. So this film explores many positive and negative issues and similarly gives of positives and negative view, however, as I said previously, I do think that this is an important film to watch and teaches many important life lessons, that will- at least for me- remain in your mind constantly.

Monsters University

Eimear, 7

5 out of 5
School
St Peter's Primary School
Review Date
17 April, 2014

Monsters University

I thought it was brilliant because it was funny, (I laughed my head off!) The carectors were really good because they were drawn on computer. I'd reccomend it for 6 year olds.

Batman & Robin

Jack, 9

5 out of 5
School
Ysgol y Traeth
Review Date
13 April, 2014

Batman & Robin

This exquisite adventure is through the roof amazing, it is about a crime fighting superhero called batman and his sidekick robin that try to save there home city called gotham city,the cold-hearted Iceman and poison ivy try to freeze the jolly city.
So while the crisis is running the two heroes thought they needed help so they hired another hero so Batgirl was born! and they but kicked the villans out of there socks!!! If you haven't watched this brilliant film you have to watch this spellbinding film its WICKED!!!!!

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Eloise, 14

4 out of 5
School
Wilsthorpe Community School
Review Date
10 April, 2014

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

The second installment of the 'Hunger Games' trilogy ,Catching Fire, is far superior to the first film. With compelling storylines and more twists and turns than a rollercoaster, this film is sure to keep you hooked through-out.
Although Katniss won, it isn't a happy ending after all, the Capitol still want revenge on Katniss and try to do whatever in their power they can to get her killed.
Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell) with the intention to kill Katniss.
All previous winners are against one another in this epic and action-filled film, which is sure to leave the whole room wanting more.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Lewis, 14

3 out of 5
School
King Edward Vi School
Review Date
9 April, 2014

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Perks of being a wallflower is the hartfelt tale of a shy teenager starting highschool and just trying to fit in.The author of the novel it's based on is also the screenwriter and director but despite this the film dosn't seem to know what it is doing. The pasing is erratic and leaves the viewer unsure of where they are which was really offputting which is the same for the characters who seem under developed . There were some good performances from the suppoting cast but Logan Lerman seemed weak on his feet and didn't potray Charlie very well. It seemed like a good story that didn't have enough time to be told which is a shame; I suggest reading the book.

Rise Of The Guardians

Jodie, 11

4 out of 5
School
Clifton Community School
Review Date
9 April, 2014

Rise Of The Guardians

I was thoroughly disappointed with this film. I had never seen it before but had high hopes when I went into Filmclub last night. When I saw the trailer, I thought that it would have been adventurous and unique but the storyline was obvious, as though I had already seen the film a thousand times. The characters surprised me because they were so different to what I had in my imagination from when I was younger. Why did Father Christmas have two swords with him and why did he talk in a funny accent?! This is not the character I had in mind when I watched the film. I think that if younger children watched this film, they could have their 'lights turned off' by giving them the wrong impression about their favourite childhood characters.
It would not really have been my choice of Easter film; I would rather have watched something more entertaining like 'Hop'.

Big Daddy

Dylan, -1

4 out of 5
School
Brynteg Comprehensive School
Review Date
8 April, 2014

Big Daddy

Big daddy.... in most homes an Iconic name......
Big daddy is an amazingly spectacular film that doesn't even have to be watched the whole way through to be loved (exactly what happened in my case)
I managed to only see half of this comical film and still absolutely adored it.
I wouldn't go as far as to say it was a masterpiece as it didn't really fall into my favourite category of film.
I would have to say that this films unique look from the point if view of two troublemakers(that are both not doing well off in life).These two 'troublemakers' cross paths and start off a sweet and hilarious film which in the end both end up making each others lives much better.
(Beware this film leaves you feeling butterfly's and a void in your heart, this film has got me the closest to crying in a loooooonnnnnggg time,but does sort of patch it up in the end)
Over all this film isn't in my top 10 favourite films but does earn a place in the big book of enjoyable films for a family and friends (with not too young kids around)

Gregory's Girl

Colin, 18

4 out of 5
School
Cleveden Secondary School
Review Date
8 April, 2014

Gregory's Girl

If there was 3 films necessary to represent Scotland as a nation, Braveheart, Whiskey Galore and this, Gregory's Girl would be the films l would choose.
This is because of the very accurate picture, that is created, of both Scottish culture & the unique nature of it's people. Being a proud Scot myself, l really enjoyed the little reminders of my life in this great country. The trips to the 'chippy', the difficulty of interaction between the sexes, the 'special' role that certain 'characters' take on.

It is rightly inured within the Scottish psyche as a humourous, colliqual impression of the Scottish way of life, which many people feel is under threat with the idea of an independent Scotland ever taking centre stage.

Now is not the time to get messed up in political shenanigans but the film acutely show us the apects of our lives that we hold most dear and, considering the current contexts, most relevant.

Doctor Dolittle

ellie, 10

4 out of 5
School
St Catherine's Catholic Primary School, Lowton
Review Date
7 April, 2014

Doctor Dolittle

Dr. Dolittle was a very hilarious film, but sad at the same time. The sad part was right at the end where a tiger was going to die of blindness, but you will have to find out if he dies or not. I like the guinea pig because he always says funny stuff and sing crazy songs, but hes not my favorite character, Lucky is. Lucky is a dog, he's my favorite character because my favorite animals are dogs and he says funny stuff to as well as the guinea pig. All the way through the end i got a little scared that the tiger might die, i was clinging on to my water bottle hoping he would survive. Any who, i loved the film so much that i would like to see another film that would trick me again, it was an excellent film.

Hop

Anna, 5

5 out of 5
School
Wellington Primary School
Review Date
7 April, 2014

Hop

The film was called Hop. First the rabbit met his dad and his dad asked him if he would like to come to work with him. He said yes. His dad was the Easter bunny and he was making all the candy for Easter.Then he took him for a tour and there was a machine making chick candies and he stole some. Then he ate one.He saw all the other machinery.

My favourite character was the Easter bunny. The funniest bit was when it was Easter because the chicks were the reindeers.

Wadjda

Katy, 15

4 out of 5
School
Loreto Grammar School
Review Date
4 April, 2014

Wadjda

This film is about a young girl named Wadjda who wants to be different to the environment she's living in. She wants to buy a bicycle and ride it freely on the streets but in her society, that is not allowed. During the film we learn that being different is okay when your society's views aren't moral. We also learn about the ways Muslims live on a day to day basis.

We thought this was a very mind-opening film that made us aware of the lives of oppressed Muslim women living in Saudi Arabia. It brought to life the realisation that gender equality is still not present all over the world. We believe that by watching this film it will make you want to strive to have gender equality everywhere because sexism is unjust.

We recommend this film to teenagers and above because the viewer should be mature to understand the issues addressed in this film.

We enjoyed watching this film because it had an underlying message that even though the girl wanted to be different, she had people supporting her.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy