Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Freedom Writers

Jasmine, 14

5 out of 5
School
Bishopbriggs Academy
Review Date
8 October, 2014

Freedom Writers

Freedom Writers is based on a true story. It is about a teacher who moves to Long Island, California and starts to work in Wilson High School, a school filled with children split into gangs based on race and colour. Erin Gruwell gets stuck with a class who have no interest in learning and don't believe education is important, however she is determined to teach the class about how education can change their lives for the better. This film gave positive messages throughout the entire film, teaching the viewers that no matter what colour or race they are, they are human beings.
Erin believes she can change the class however they don't pay any attention to the education she is trying to give to them. She doesn't believe her eyes when she walks out to a school full of gangs and violence.
This film was acted very well, the actors conveyed their emotions well.

I rated this film 5 stars because i loved the message it gave and the diversity of the gangs.

Mulan

Zoe, 13

5 out of 5
School
County Secondary School
Review Date
11 October, 2014

Mulan

This is one of my favourite Disney movies ever. There is just so much woman power in it. It shows that girls can be just as strong and get things done just as well as a man can.

It shows that girls are powerful. And I love that.

It makes me happy to see that there is a Disney movie where the woman is just as good as the man. I really like the idea that little girls around the world can watch this and learn that they are just as good as a man. Cause some girls grow up learning that they are less able and not worth as much as a man; this movie tells them that what they have been taught to think is a lie.


This movie also teaches boys that they should never think that they are better than girls. That everybody should be taught equally.

By Zoe

Rio 2

Brooke, 11

5 out of 5
School
Henry Moore Primary School
Review Date
11 October, 2014

Rio 2

I love this film, I think that it really lets the children's imagination go wild and be free. I love it that it is in the amazon, because it doesn't have the same old setting that every other film has. it really makes you feel like you are a part of the movie and that you are flying free with all of the other birds. The birds all have different personalities but they are all still lovely apart from the macaws they are just grumpy! the film has many twists and turns that I bet you are all willing to see. although the movie is a cartoon and fun it also teaches you a lot about the birds and what people are actually doing to their home. I hope you all get the chance to watch this incredible animation and fly through the forest too. I would 100% recommend this film to young viewers of any age because even though there are the badies, there is not one moment were you want to look away. go watch it and help their home!

Spirited Away

Sahar, 8

5 out of 5
School
Dormers Wells Junior School
Review Date
10 October, 2014

Spirited Away

OMG!!!! This film is awesome nobody can beat this film. Really there were emotional bits and happy bits in the middle of the film I stated to cry a bit:( I wish I could watch this film again and again it's the best film in the world if you don't like this film I don't know what is wrong with you? But anyways I mean it it gives a lot of enthusiasm like chihiro she started to shout to get a job . I felt sorry for her she was getting teased just because she was a human and different to the others. I mean a giant talking TOAD it gets weirder but I'm not telling you you've got to watch it okay one last bit chihiro's parents turn into pigs I'm not telling you why even if you threaten me you've got to watch it!


The main characters are chihiro,haku,the owner of the work place(spa),the black monster and Lin


I would give this review infinity and beyond stars.(If I could )




This review is written by Sahar

Harold Lloyd Collection

Evie, 0

5 out of 5
School
Sherrier C of E Primary School
Review Date
10 October, 2014

Harold Lloyd Collection

Fantabulas is how I would describe it. It is sooooo funny, you wouldn`t expect black and white silent films to be so amazing. Trust me it was awsome. It is also amazing about how they did not have any special effects, stunt doubles or anything like that. If I were one of the people that were helping to make the film I would be so proud as to what I did with the help of all of these people.

Danny, The Champion of the World

devlin, 11

1 out of 5
School
Scoil Na Fuiseoige
Review Date
10 October, 2014

Danny, The Champion of the World

I didint like the movie that much. I mean it wasn't excatly top ten worthy.It had some good parts but nothing to get up of your seat for. I was thinking the turkeys were the main characters.
From the start to the end it just bored me. I like movies that make me think I am in the movie
and this movie didn't do it for me. Im giving this movie a one star because this movie didn't
make me fell like was a charachter in this film.

Wadjda

jack, 23

4 out of 5
School
Bishop Luffa C of E School
Review Date
10 October, 2014

Wadjda

The first ever film made in Saudi Arabia and the first film made by a female director in Saudi Arabia ever this film can in no way disappoint.
The film is about a young girl who is a Muslim who wants to ride bikes but this dream is often laughed at. Wadjda is a very good film but is not without certain issues. Issues like sexism. The film was not too long but there were ample enough for irrelevant scenes that could have been cut out completely. One scene really worth singleing out was the scene where Wadjda's friend asked if he could hang some lights on their roof and across the street from their home, it was perhaps one of the most irrelevant scenes that there were. Granted there were scenes that were irrelevant but were there to reinforce the point about life in the middle east for women.
While certain sub-story arks made sense, most of these did also intertwine and were made clear at the end of the film. The good of the film did outweigh the bad. Like the clear bond of friendships or the character who is by far one of the most inspiring I have ever connected with. Wadjda is a very good film but the point of it was to be serious but perhaps the comedy element at the end was a very good idea.
If I had to sum up the film in three words they would be: Beautiful, imaginative and inspiring. the film receives a four out of five stars purely because of the few minor disappointments. I do however strongly recommend the film. There is no way to fault it and its truly inspiring story.

The Fault in Our Stars

Nishfa, 14

5 out of 5
School
Reading Girls School
Review Date
7 October, 2014

The Fault in Our Stars

This movie is amazing. It shows true commitment between two wonderful people who are both facing the difficulties of having cancer. It shows how that even though they have cancer they are no different to ordinary teenagers. They go through some amazing obstacles yet they manage to overcome them with the help from family and friends. There is some truly extraordinary chemistry between Hazel and Augustus. It shows that even if we lose someone in life it doesn't mean we have to go too, because things will change. But once love has touched you, it has touched you forever. And you will forever be scarred by it's beauty. I would recommend this movie to everyone. Also I think everyone should read the book. It is absolutely terrific and definitely worth your time. John Green is a brilliant writer. The Fault in Our stars is EPIC....

Percy Jackson: Sea Of Monsters

Yousra, 10

3 out of 5
School
Holy Trinity Primary School
Review Date
7 October, 2014

Percy Jackson: Sea Of Monsters

This film was a mixture of fear, anger, fear, jealousy and wisdom. I enjoyed this film with the amazing and realistic sound affects that really drew a picture in my head about what the base of the story was all about. It also showed passion and bond between halfbloods. It was a real quest of justice and glory, friends and foes, good and bad and relationships. Annanbeth ,one of Percy's close friends and daughter of Athena the god of beauty and wisdom, died but with the help of the lifesaving golden fleace her life was restored and that is real friendsip.

I gave this film a 3/5 because the good thing was-as I explained in my first paragraph-that the sound affects were at the highest standard they could be along with the animations and the make up artists were very good with their job and succeeded but the story was kind of left with a unknown cliffhanger mystery which I didn't really like.

Thankyou for reading

I, Robot

Kyle, 16

3 out of 5
School
Isle of Man Education
Review Date
6 October, 2014

I, Robot

We have all thought of that possibility of robots taking control over us, but this film really highlights the real reason why we all desire to have our every whim attended to. We could be enjoying life without worry, only the thought that our robot helpers will take care of it. Like us, the robots must follow Laws, but also, like us they eventually break them. The visual effects of the film really captures what our vision of the new future is, we see the shining new cities and infrastructure that we could only dream of. But what seems like a perfect life can only imperfect at the same time. The film uncovers the dark truth that we are all well aware of, that mankind is never perfect. But this does not stop us from coming together to defeat a common enemy, what ever that may be. I guess films like this one must be interpreted by its moral meaning rather than our technological feats. Remember no system is perfect.

Mrs Doubtfire

Oliver, 16

4 out of 5
School
South Essex College Of Further And Higher Education
Review Date
4 October, 2014

Mrs Doubtfire

Mrs. Doubtfire is a funny, heart-warming family comedy film in which Robin Williams surprises us with a great performance, playing a woman and a man.
The story is that a man called Euphegenia Hilliard (Robin Williams) who’s a father that loves his children played by (Mara Wilson, Lisa Jakub, and Matthew Lawrence) but got a divorced from his wife Miranda Hilliard (Sally Field) so Euphegnia needs to get a job so he can see his children again. But when he hears Miranda trying to find a babysitter for the kids Euphegenia thinks if he can pretend to be a different person to be the babysitter, so he can see his kids again and the person he’ll be to be the babysitter is Mrs. Doubtfire.
The film is a landmark production that grabs your attention like the Statue of Liberty on Staten Island. It is a warm, cosy film which makes you feel like you are sitting around a log fire on a cold night. The characters of the film are normal middle class white Americans who are normal people having a normal life, like Euphegenia and Miranda. This realism is disrupted as reality when Robbie Williams becomes Mrs Doubtfire. The costumes were cleverly detailed and the make-up was incredible: the costume that really got me was when Robin Williams dressed as a woman and at one point in a scene I thought Mrs. Doubtfire was a real woman. Also the location looked good because it showed the characters’ environment which was the 1990s and it was like living in Disneyland. The lighting didn’t look so good in one scene were Mrs. Doubtfire got on to a bus at night time and it looked a little bit too bright to be convincing. Overall I think the film got its costumes, location and some lighting perfectly balanced. The music used gave the film an enjoyable feeling and sometimes it was very funny music to get you laughing. However the music also made the film more moving in scenes of deep emotion.
This film is a really enjoyable to watch and Robbie Williams is outstanding in this two sided role, where he manages to convince us in both characters. The rest of the cast did well and delivered well-structured performances. The strong storyline was like a thread that pulled through the film nicely. Highly recommended for all the family to go and see.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy