Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Rear Window

Rozalia, 10

4 out of 5
School
St. Michaels School
Review Date
19 August, 2014

Rear Window

The Rear Window: white knuckles clinging to my seat, this film turned my blood rocketing around like Niagara Falls having a nervous breakdown. Although the pace of this film was slow at times, but for most of it the film sped up like a snail in a race car (surprisingly fast).

This film is a murder mystery, yet the whole thing unveils itself viewed from one window, hence the name of the film. The screen on which we were watching the film sprung to life and invaded the room, packing it tight with adrenalin.

Watch this film if you don’t mind a slightly slower pace than that of the average 21st century film. If you’re one for thrillers with exploding stuff and car chases, stay where you are. Even pressing the fast forward button won’t help you.

War Game

Honey, 9

4 out of 5
School
Padiham CP School
Review Date
29 August, 2014

War Game

Brilliant, this film is about 3 boys who go to war. They think it will be an adventure, and they think it will be over by christmas. Are they right? I would reccomend it for 8+ years. It is verry emotional. It tells you alot about WWI. Some bits are funny.

Bartok The Magnificent

Mamadoo, 9

5 out of 5
School
Cottage Grove Primary School
Review Date
23 August, 2014

Bartok The Magnificent

I love Bartok cause he is really funny he ws a comedien at first and he id lie to people about he bear which was really funny he thought he was a fake hero but then at the end when he rescued the people he was the real Bartok the magnificient

Guardians of the Galaxy

Michael, 12

3 out of 5
School
St. Richards School
Review Date
21 August, 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy

Marvel films have recently improved: Avengers assemble and X-men days of future past stood head and shoulders above the past marvel films plus received positive reviews and overall acclaim. I went into a screening of Guardians of the galaxy with high expectations. As a well known fact the DC cinematic universe has proven to be quite a challenge for other publishers such as: Marvel, vertigo and dark horse (image comics doesn't count for lack of cinematic releases however The walking dead is a serialised tv drama). People's problem with Marvel is that it all revolves around mutants being outcasts and social unacceptance which was fine in X-men but is a theme which has been exhaughsted to the point of no return... until Days of future past was released. Online reviews claimed Guardians of the galaxy to be an all-round thumbs up. I disagree with their tedious positive reviews. The opening scene shows the main character (note that he is an outlaw similar to outcast) studding the geography of a cave before putting on a set of earphones and listen to a tape donned as "Awesome mix volume 1". The tone set up from that opening scene was one so toe-curling, vomit inducing and generally irritating that I was in the right frame of mind to leave the cinema at that point. However I endured having paid it seemed sensible to watch it to the end. Critics and the general public claimed it to be mostly based around comic elements. I didn't laugh once throughout the entire duration of the film infact I laughed more in the adverts that in the film. However things took a drastic turn the second half of the film was just as good as any massive blockbuster (despite Dawn of the planet of the apes and a few other modern sci-fi films with a big budget). I went from tired to enthralled as the second have justified for all the monotonous gags and character building which failed spectacularly despite the flaws James Gunn delivers a reasonable addition to the Marvel universe. I have taken into account the retro soundtrack which has been claimed to be "The best soundtrack since Pulp fiction" I can assure that it isn't as great as peolpe claim. Verdict: It is your average "can't take itself seriously" film but answers and age old question. Guardians of the galaxy concludes that: DC is better than Marvel in every aspect.

Jurassic Park

Max, 10

5 out of 5
School
Combe CofE Primary School
Review Date
21 August, 2014

Jurassic Park

this film was an inspiration. I love dinosaurs so this immediately gives me excitement. then it has Steven Speilberg as a director. then they add in a bucket-and-a-half of talented actors and you get this. The dinosaurs were extremely realistic and believable and the suspense took my breath away. The addition of slight comedy didn't work at first but the filmmakers persisted and made it work. this awesome, thrilling and outstanding performance makes this an Oscar-scoring, all round family film for all of time.

Shaun Of The Dead

Tom, 14

4 out of 5
School
Thomas Gainsborough School
Review Date
15 August, 2014

Shaun Of The Dead

A mixture of beer and blood is combined to make a truly gory zombie apocalypse but added with British humour to make 'Shaun Of The Dead'. It has some great comical moments and it looks and feels like a proper horror movie rather than a comedy making it in some places more of a serious horror movie. Because of this, the movie becomes even more hilarious and it really delivers to its target audience. I think fans of both (British) comedy-genre and of course your typical 'Zombie' horror movies will really like this film. Visually though this film is really good looking with its gore, make-up and visual effects. From the title you may think it is a spoof of the much loved 'Dawn Of The Dead' but really this film is much more than that. The movie is fun and enjoyable and it creates a generally good story on its own making it more than just your average spoof movie. The characters in the movie are all well written and funny in the film making it an engaging film all the way. The acting is also good as they really change from their humorous scenes to their more serious scenes in the movie. As well as the main stars it also has Bill Nighy playing role in it where he once again seizes that comedy role acting again. Edgar Wright does a brilliant job with this film on all levels making it a true British comedy with heart still there.

Peter and the Wolf

Mia, 11

2 out of 5
School
St Theresa's R.C. School
Review Date
14 August, 2014

Peter and the Wolf

Peter and the wolf is in my opinion, very boring with no excitement at all. However, saying that this film has won an oscar award which means some people may enjoy watching the film. This film is about a boy called Peter who is not allowed to go outside and his only friend is the duck. He goes through a small adventure around the streets of this town which wasn't very amazing to watch. The biggest let down for me about this film is that is has no speech and not much bright, beautiful colours. It is mainly grey, black, brown and white. Also this movie is made by taking a photo, moving to slightly then taking another photo etc so the animation itself was very bad.

Personally I wouldn't use my time watching this 40 minute film but we all have different opinions. I rate this film 2/5 stars the best thing about this film was the music to describe the emotions of the characters. I don't recommend this film.

Despicable Me 2

Beatrice, 10

5 out of 5
School
Edinburgh Primary School
Review Date
12 August, 2014

Despicable Me 2

Super villain Gru is back... he's just not so... Well, super-villanny. In fact, Dispicable Me 2 is the exact opposite of what it is. I mean, going undercover to save the world? You could hardly call that dispicable. But anyway, it's a great film. Yeah, really. No, honestly. Watch it. WATCH IT I SAY! Oh, fine, have it your way. It's still a good film.

Summer Cinema Reviewing Competition

Sophie, 15

4 out of 5
School
Review Date
12 August, 2014

Summer Cinema Reviewing Competition

The Lego movie:
Everything is Awesome.

Definitely ticks the right box for this movie phenomenon, a brilliant mix of laugh out loud comedy, impressive visual effects and a fast-paced storyline which keeps audiences of all ages engaged and entertained.

My expectations for the movie weren’t high; I imagined it to be aimed at much younger audiences with a fairly predictable plot.

Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised.

Emmett, voiced by Chris Pratt, is an ordinary construction worker, going about his daily duties in accordance with the instruction manual provided to all Lego citizens by President Business, the master of evil, whose idea of power and conformity leads to his plan of freezing the Lego world in super glue.

By accident, Emmett discovers mythical Piece of Resistance, an ancient relic spoken of only in prophecy that can be used to save the Lego citizens from their impending doom.

Mistaking him for ‘the special’ he is saved by the beautiful Wyldstyle, who whisks Emmett away and brings him before the Master Builders; the man who spoke of the prophecy, a god-like Vitruvius[Morgan Freeman], 1980s astronaut Benny [Charlie Day] and Batman [Will Arnett].

Together they form a plan to defeat Lord Business and save Lego city and all its civilians; by infiltrating his massive high-rise fortress, whilst on the run from the terrifying Good Cop/Bad Cop [Liam Neeson], Lord Business' most loyal henchman.

A combination of stop motion and CGI animation, the film is visually dynamic.

The story starts with an insight into the Lego universe, expertly designed and crafted and the detail that has been taken to create this universe is astounding.

The story is simple enough for children to understand and follow, but being multi-layered it appeals to adults, and can definitely make more mature audiences laugh out loud.

The casting was spot on, Chris Pratt delivers an incredible character to Emmet and I was also really impressed with Will Farrell who voices Lord Business. Morgan Freeman was brilliant as ever, but my favourite was Liam Neeson, the good cop/bad cop who delivered an amazing, hilarious character and voice for both. The other supporting voice actors were incredible, and no character felt out of place.

From the outset, The Lego Movie fires an endless array of jokes at its audience from seemingly every angle. There are so many character references, including some brilliant batman puns and lord of the ring references which were hilarious!

I recommend this fantastic film to all ages – you are guaranteed a laugh!

My Neighbour Totoro

Rosa, 11

5 out of 5
School
Fairfield Junior School
Review Date
11 August, 2014

My Neighbour Totoro

This is litrallly my new favourite film

i adore the manga animation style and this film in particular was very well animated and the story line was expressed extremely well using the cartoon form

this film included amazing magical goings on and alot of tantrums from the smallest of the children

i rate this film 10/10 because of the crazy magic and beautiful animation

Frozen

Jessica, 11

5 out of 5
School
Henry Moore Primary School
Review Date
7 August, 2014

Frozen

Amazing and exciting; unforgettable and memorable; I may be too old for this film but it was easily the greatest Disney Princess film ever made. Every character was easy to empathise with which I find very important in a film. In my opinion, the best character out of the whole film was Olaf. His overall character was generally hilarious and I especially enjoyed his wondrous song about Summer! If I am being honest I would definitely recommend it to all ages. This is because older children will understand the heart-warming storyline whereas, the younger children will enjoy the singing and the characters. A wonderful film that I will definitely remember throughout my life.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy