Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

To Kill A Mockingbird

Nicolas, 0

5 out of 5
School
Kids Company Urban Academy
Review Date
16 June, 2015

To Kill A Mockingbird

I watched this film in a film and video class in a urban school at 15th of december.

Scout a 6 years old girl that lives in a village called Maycomb with her brother Jem and her father Atticus. She is a testify of the racism of her season inasmuch as her father is a layer and he support a black man called Tom. Tom represent the innocence because he is guilty of rape that he didn't do in this way we can explain the tittle '' To kill a mockingbird ''. the Film represent several social and moral aspects as racism and prejudice for example the racism that tom have to fight and the innocence that breaks in Scout.
It was filmed in Black and White film, and looks like it was an indoor set design but it was definitely very well filmed. The acting was very good and I was impressed by the young actors skills, they were both very persuasive.

Is a film club that happens at the Urban Academy on Mondays and Wednesdays, my teacher choses the films and the specific week it was screened the ''To kill a mockingbird''.


I like that the film is old. Also I like the fact that the film has several moral aspects like racism and prejudge. In the style way I like that the film is in white and black. I think that the film is in white and black for the division of black and withe persons that were in the past other opinion is that is cheaper than film in colour. I have read the book and the film is very close to the original writing.

 I think that in the end of the film, Boo has to be judged because in the eyes of the law we are the same, even Aticcus is a layer. Also i don't like that Tom dies but if he hadn't died the film wouldn't be that realistic.

I would recommend this film because it can educate  and offer feelings to all people,  especially to the younger children as this film is about human rights. A great educational material.

I have learned that the idea of the good doesn't vary in time. i really enjoyed watching the film and I would like to see more films in the near future.

Mean Girls

lidia, 12

5 out of 5
School
Park House School
Review Date
21 June, 2015

Mean Girls

I loved mean girls so much that i even went to the trouble of trying to find the DVD. The "thang" I loved most about the film was the humor,how the "ESPN" Karen thought only black people are from Africa and the "inventor of toaster shuddle's" daughter Grechin made the the "slang from England" catch phrase "that's so fetch." Also how Damien is "to gay to function" and how Regina discourages caddy from joining the mathlets because it's"social sewer side." Over all the film was a pleasure to watch and i just can't get over the whole situation that caddy "pushed Regina in front of the bus" and the film its self. But still it has a hidden message that is really inspirational.

Surf's Up

Tom, 9

4 out of 5
School
Bishopston Primary School
Review Date
19 June, 2015

Surf's Up

I loved this film because it is very good for learning stuff including how life goes. i recommend you to listen realy close so you pick up the infomation it is good for you in school trying to not show off because it is not nice to show off you can make someone upset.


i gave this film a 4 star because i like how the music in the backround and how it fits the seen.

ex;if there is a sad seen the would not put crazy happy music on like bright side of life it would realy effect the film
i recommend this film

Annie

Steven, 10

5 out of 5
School
Ysgol y Traeth
Review Date
19 June, 2015

Annie

WOW............JUST WOW my eyes were GLUED to the screen. Couldn't even eat my popcorn it was too good. Loved this film there was a story from both sides of the human life, the rich and the poor, the fame and and the slave the story of the road to victory and to make a friend.the story of an orphan and a campaigner. There was two lives totally changed from gloom to fame and to just a an amazing just ordinary life. LOVED IT.

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Iman, 11

5 out of 5
School
Beavers Community Primary School
Review Date
17 June, 2015

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

At first, I thought it would be very boring and that the film would not be my type at all seeing as I rarely ever watch movies from four years ago let alone the 1960's. However it turned out to be quite spectacular with a grand finale that took us all by surprise. Now I feel that I want to watch more movies around the late 19th century because they are very fascinating and funny. Also: the singing was out of this world and the songs are now stuck in my head. This movie and its actors are quite amazing which makes me want to watch it again and again..I even went to search for them online! *sighs* If I could choose one word to describe this film it would be PERFECT. I loved it.

Hans Christian Andersen

Matty, 11

4 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
17 June, 2015

Hans Christian Andersen

This film impressed me but there were also a few doubts about it to. When I first heard that I was to watch this, I felt as though it would be the worst film I would ever see because I thought it would be almost a documentary but I made a big mistake in expecting that.
It was a real charmer with a simple story line and quite a few characters with large parts which made it pretty interesting and fun to watch. This was an extremely creative idea as the actual film blended nicely with Hands' story-writing life. Although sometimes the setting wasn't perticularly realistic, it seemed like a real film.
I love how it was sweet and everything was very clear although perhaps a bit too clear if you know what I mean but that dosen't really matter. Another thing is that it made me put on loads of different faces like smiles and that face when you just want to say: "why did that just happen?" That isn't a bad thing however because it was funny in that way.
Moving on, it was quite a bit babyish although it was sweet and as I said before: a bit too clear. Additionally, there were too many songs for my taste and occaoisionally things were cheesy.
So, it was and wasn't my cup of tea so I think it was more a cup of tea with a bit of coffee in it. It is rather a family film but being most accurate I would recomment this for...seven, eight year olds. Don't let that stop you from watching it because you will most likely enjoy it. So what are you waiting for? Go on, watch it!

Mrs Doubtfire

Harry , 11

4 out of 5
School
Grove Road CP School
Review Date
16 June, 2015

Mrs Doubtfire

Mrs Doubtfire is a film with near impeccable writing and sophisticated humour while still packing a laugh for everyone.
This is Robin Williams (may he R.I.P) at his finest, while the genie in the Disney film Aladdin is still my favourite Robin Williams performance this is one in contention for second.
after divorcing his wife an imaginative and fun Robin Williams goes undercover as a babysitter and all around caretaker for his ex-wife.
It has a type of comedy for all, slapstick, witty, loud it has it all,

9/10, 4.5/5, I would buy it on blu ray, A, this is great stellar directing great writing and tremendous acting.

Calamity Jane

Kieran, 11

3 out of 5
School
Catrine Primary School
Review Date
16 June, 2015

Calamity Jane

This is my review for Calamity Jane

Is this the film/musical for you? Find out in my review

In this film, Calamity Jane, a rootin', tootin', shootin' hoyden in the western town of Deadwood. Jane promises the citizens of Deadwood that she can persuade classy Chicago stage star Adelaide Adams to perform at the local opry house.

This was a good film I liked it because the fact that Jane is not your average girl. I also liked it because of the romance and comedy



This started Doris Day and Howard keel and was produced in 1953

Ghostbusters

Christy, 13

5 out of 5
School
John Paul Academy
Review Date
16 June, 2015

Ghostbusters

Ghostbusters is a movie that gives me floods of memories when me and my dad watched it together. Although as a younger girl I was afraid of it, I now consider it to be a classic which I am up for watching any time.

The movie follows four men and their strange job of getting rid of ghosts. But of course our four hero's are not the brightest, and they come to face many obstacles which is highly comical. But when things get out of hand these four misfits are here to save the day!

This is a great family movie, although younger audiences should be careful. Its a movie that brings smiles and laughter to everyone (its not possible not to giggle, no matter how hard you try) and also includes a theme song that will forever more be stuck in the back of your head.

The only thing about this movie is its pathetic sequel, but that's a different thing entirely. The classic movie is in my opinion one of the film highlights of the 80's.

Remember The Titans

Ellis, 12

5 out of 5
School
Barry Comprehensive School
Review Date
15 June, 2015

Remember The Titans

Remember the Titans is a film based on racism back in the early 70's and is a true story about a high school american football team which was called T.C williams titans, the team had to mix so there was white and black people on the same team(which caused a lot of collisions), even though white and black didnt get on that much in the event of racism this team carried on with all the racist comments and united as friends but even called each other "brothers."

I would recommend this movie to people that are aged 12 and above, I rated this movie a five because I lovethe sport in the movie plus it is based on a true story however it shows it really doesnt matter about what other people think of your friends its what you think of your friend but also it doesnt really matter if your friend is a different religion,race,colour,etc.

My Brother The Devil

christopher, 17

5 out of 5
School
St. Ninians High School
Review Date
12 June, 2015

My Brother The Devil

'My Brother the Devil' deals with many different and important issues, all of which are prevalent in today's society. Gangs, drugs and knife crime are all clear issues at the beginning of the film, which is clearly relevant in many cities today. However, these issues are also tied in with the problem of homophobia in modern society. When I first started watching the film I was worried that I wouldn't like it as it didn't seem like my kind of film, however as the film went I was glad to see that I was wrong. The character development is very well done and as the film goes on you become more and more invested in the plot and characters involved. The film is very relevant to today's society and has a very strong and important message that unfortunately hasn't gotten the attention that it should have. It is important to point out however that this is definitely not a film for the faint of heart, though I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy