Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Drop Dead Fred

Natasha, 11

5 out of 5
School
Henry Moore Primary School
Review Date
18 October, 2014

Drop Dead Fred

lets just say this whole review is all about the most talented actor in show business. Rik Mayall who sadly passed away a few months ago. This film is the best film I have ever seen with Rik Mayall starring in because Bottom does not count as an actual film! Starting the film with slight rudeness but great humour. Our main character, Drop Dead Fred, was strangely trapped in a little girls jack in a box. One day, the little girl who then grew up to be a lady played by Phoebe Cates, was silly enough to decide it was time to open the box where Fred lived. Three. Two. One. Hello Fred...

This goofy character of a man, caused chaos left right and centre, messing with with poor Elizabeths mind until she was going crazy! The ultimate twist of the movie was only Elizabeth could see the comical Fred. This left everyone thinking that she had simply gone cuckoo! An even crazier end to Freds mind leaves Fred disappearing from Elizabeths mind completely. In the end, they had a great laugh and left Elizabeths with some crazy yet wondrous childhood memories that she treasured in later life. The actual ending to this extraordinary film is... Cant really tell you as it would spoil the fantastic film. All i will leave you with is this is a family film i recommend to humans of all ages. Now get down to your local film shop and search for this mind-blowing film.

Children Of Men

Samuel, 17

5 out of 5
School
Coleg Sir Gar
Review Date
19 October, 2014

Children Of Men

This film makes you love and hate being British. A scarily close to realism rendition of a dystopian future. This film will show you the impact that children have on the world. This film will show you the tragedies that people will endure to get children back. This film will show you that anyone can descend into madness if pushed over the edge.
A triumph in storytelling and doesn't hold anything back. There are not many films that I would recommend as highly as this. A must see on the idea alone.

Eraserhead

Shelby-Anne, 17

1 out of 5
School
Gwent College
Review Date
17 October, 2014

Eraserhead

What can I really say about the film Eraserhead? I literally have no words to describe my confusion after watching that film. I'm sill not entirely sure what the film was about, all i know is that after watching Eraserhead I wanted curl up into a ball and cry. It was both confusing and scary at the same time. I didn't really enjoy it and I don't think I will ever be watching it again.

Freaky Friday

Zaynab, 12

5 out of 5
School
The Compton School
Review Date
16 October, 2014

Freaky Friday

I loved this film. The mum and daughter swapped after eating a fortune cookie in this Chinese restaurant. I liked it for the fact that they swapped positions and could feel what each other were feeling. At first they didn't understand each other and just acted like themselves and didn't care. After a while, they realized that they needed to act like each other. The only way that they could return back, is if they understood each other and did what each other believed in and not act like themselves. They stepped into someone else's shoes- literally! It's a really great film and I wish I could swap with my mother to see her perspective of life! :) 5 stars definitely! Also, the actors were phenomenal at portraying their character so it made it feel like they really did swap and that's a key thing in a movie! That was one of the reasons in which I liked the movie! :) Great movie and I recommend it 100%!

Beasts of the Southern Wild

Diego, 13

5 out of 5
School
Little Ilford Comprehensive School
Review Date
16 October, 2014

Beasts of the Southern Wild

A beautiful and touching film based on true events about what happened in New Orleans and the people who adapted to their new environment and endured in the aftermath caused by the Hurricane Katrina. A little girl (roughly 6 in age) has been raised by a sick and disturbed father after being separated (supposedly) from her mother. It really gave you the idea of what happened and the meaning of the word "outcast". The end was probably my favourite part, as she comes head to head with her fears and conquers them, making her deceased father proud of her. She then becomes a role model-like figure for what remains of the outcasts, as they follow her lead. A very touching film and an inspiring one too, if I might add.

Matilda

Jasmine, 10

5 out of 5
School
Barley Hill CP School
Review Date
15 October, 2014

Matilda

Matilda: A funny and entertaining film!

This movie tells the story of Matilda. She is a little girl born to a very different family from her self. Unlike her parents and brother, who are all hooked on TV, computers, junk food and the like, Matilda has developed her mind from a very early age; for example at one year old she could already spell her own name! Mr and Mrs Wormwood are both confused and upset at having ended up with such a brain box in the family.

The movie also shows us Matilda attending the local school where everyone, including her teacher (Miss Honey), is utterly perplexed by her cleverness and skills. Soon the word gets to the head mistress (Miss Trunchpall) a vicious woman with bottle green shorts and leather tunic who firmly declares that little girls are stupid and arrogant and takes an instant dislike to Matilda.

In the course of the movie we see Matilda battle her unloving family, make new friends, deal with the wicked headmistress and find herself a true family. The movie is so appealing because it retells the story of any small child dealing with adults in the world; the injustice Matilda suffers in the world of grownups and the difficulty of handling rejection is something kids can identify with.

Overall, I truly believe that this is an outstanding film for everybody of all ages. Danny DeVito really sets the atmosphere from the beginning and Mara Wilson is a very convincing Matilda. The approachability of this film is entirely down to the fact that it reflects the world around us. The cast is hilarious and the story truly heart warming. I think that out of the 5 stars I have got to give it a 6!

Forrest Gump

Callum, 13

5 out of 5
School
Regent House Grammar School
Review Date
15 October, 2014

Forrest Gump

This is one of my favorite films hands down. It was a very heart warming concept, and there was never a boring moment. It's mixed with comedy, entertainment and education. It taught us that just because someone may be stupid or disabled, doesn't mean that they are worthless.
My obvious drawback with it though is the length, though 142 minutes doesn't sound long, it honestly felt like a lifetime. Also I don't mind sad endings, but this went overboard.
But aside from that, it is defintely a Masterpiece!!! RUN FORREST RUN!!!

2001: A Space Odyssey

Liz, 17

4 out of 5
School
The Sixth Form College
Review Date
14 October, 2014

2001: A Space Odyssey

When Kubrick’s science-fiction masterpiece begins, you expect something cosmically brilliant, something astronomically mind-boggling, and, in a way, you’re not disappointed. Unless you were expecting it to be quick.

The film opens during the suitably named Dawn of Man. Seeing as man was, most presumably, even more apelike than nowadays, the actors in costume do a fine job at making you wonder whether they are genuinely human beings. Their disguises can even withstand a close up. Before you wonder how Kubrick fitted a tiny person into a monkey costume, you should know that the small apes are actual small apes – of the baby chimp variety.

Kubrick’s deception doesn’t end with a collection of hairy costumes, either. Throughout 2001: A Space Odyssey he uses a myriad of techniques, including a giant, rotating Ferris wheel of a set that tricks you into seeing zero gravity in 1968. I was more than a little astounded when I discovered the year this film was made, because during that era I would still have expected to see the strings attached to the actors as they explored the solar system. Craftily shooting from beneath his subjects enabled Kubrick to create the illusion of swimming through a void. The memorable wormhole sequence also uses a stunning feat of cinematography, coupled with a shot of paint in a cloud tank to mimic said wormhole’s closing. Such methods look better than some modern CGI, which makes them all the more impressive. The production may have gone $4.5 million over budget, but it was money worth spending to build a believable realm of science fiction.

Another thing that jumped out at me was the cute, colourful and grimly realistic display of culinary evolution. Not to mention the actors’ unflinching ability to eat it. Such attention to detail again submerses you in another reality, one that most likely established the common conventions of sci-fis now.

Towards the film’s conclusion, after the aforementioned wormhole sequence, there are a series of baffling, or rather, ‘ambiguous’, scenes that make several theories spring to mind on what on Earth it’s all about. Fact is, it’s no longer centred on Earth at all and no theory you think of can really be proven, not without former knowledge of the novel this film is based on. For most audiences, this resolution might be a little dissatisfying, as you know it holds some kind of great, evolutionary significance, you just can’t comprehend what.

It’s here that you realize the part of the film you understand the most, the part with all the dialogue and the astronauts and the homicidal supercomputer, has almost dwindled into unimportance. When sandwiched between the humble beginnings of man and the cosmically confusing end, it dawns on you that the piece of space and time you currently occupy is infinitesimally tiny. Kubrick has set a benchmark with his film – one that I hope filmmakers of science-fiction recognize.

Just so long as they also note how ridiculously long some shots are.

Oliver!

Hannah, 10

2 out of 5
School
St. Mary Magdalens RC Junior School
Review Date
14 October, 2014

Oliver!

in my opinion I find Oliver twist magnificent show. It is one of the best I have seen. It made me feel rapturous and ecstatic. The characters are dramatic and there is a lot of drama going on at once and provocation. My favourite character is Oliver he is a very experienced kid with a tender mind and good knowledge and adventures. My favourite part of the marvellous movie is when Oliver found a rush houred place in London(market)it seemed like the atmosphere was dancing dazzling and dreamy. The vision was all to do with singing songs and from the movie the actors have a good ambition to sing and has a good talent, the gift to sing while they were singing it is like a gush of air dancing and slapping my face. It is like people tangoing around me imaginings I had a knot on my throat because of my head whizzing round . I quit like all the characters but found out that some of them are crewel and makes me jump. Apart from that I learnt things like cruelty can lead to misery I am still suspisiers in what happens next because I am engrossed in the move.

X-Men - First Class

Giodeep, 13

5 out of 5
School
Lawnswood High School
Review Date
13 October, 2014

X-Men - First Class

Today I watched X-men first class. My vote upon the film is bias because I have read the comics and I have watched the movie several times. Now that we have got that out of the way lets get to the actual movie. This movie is the astonishing "hip" if you wish reboot of the X-men franchise. This movie makes you feel the hardship the mutant race has been through and it makes you feel if you was a mutant (in the cold war) then you would have to go into hiding or fight. This movie definitely holds the element of suspense and surprise. I recommend this movie to those who loved the comics and those who love super-hero (and super-heroine) movies. If you have just watched this movie (like me) I recommend you to watch the other X-men movies and any super-hero (made after 2005) because they are all brilliant.

Thank you for reading film club fans
Yours sincerely Giodeep

Mulan

Zoe, 13

5 out of 5
School
Flint High School
Review Date
11 October, 2014

Mulan

This is one of my favourite Disney movies ever. There is just so much woman power in it. It shows that girls can be just as strong and get things done just as well as a man can.

It shows that girls are powerful. And I love that.

It makes me happy to see that there is a Disney movie where the woman is just as good as the man. I really like the idea that little girls around the world can watch this and learn that they are just as good as a man. Cause some girls grow up learning that they are less able and not worth as much as a man; this movie tells them that what they have been taught to think is a lie.


This movie also teaches boys that they should never think that they are better than girls. That everybody should be taught equally.

By Zoe

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy