Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Frozen

Jamie, 10

1 out of 5
School
Hatherleigh CP School
Review Date
10 November, 2014

Frozen

The film is about two sisters, Anna and Elsa. Elsa has magic powers which she shares with her sister Anna. Elsa does not realize how dangerous her powers are and Anna gets hurt. When they are older Elsa becomes queen and has to hide her powers. But at her coronation everyone finds out about her powers and everything goes wrong…

WORST FILM EVER! I don’t think Disney made an effort to make it interesting for all audiences, particularly boys.

The songs are very annoying because they happen every 5 seconds and the lyrics are not in sync with the rhythm and I felt the lyrics were rushed. It was stereotypical for a Disney movie, candy coated and happy. The dilemma had none of the urgency needed to create tension in the story. The lack of tension made the film plain and boring. I think this film is more of a merchandising opportunity than a narrative. I think they made the film around the toys. That’s why the story line is all jumbled up. For example, she runs away, waves her hand and then a castle appears. Why? The characters are unrealistic and too perfect.

Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid

Owen, 12

5 out of 5
School
Lawnswood High School
Review Date
16 November, 2014

Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid

You're ridin' the west, keepin' the baddies behind you and robbin' every bank you come across. You're gesturing 'coolly' with your Smith and Wesson and feelin' that epic feelin' o' knowin' you're the main character in an epic blockbuster western!. HELL YEAH!
'Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid' is a classic western full of shootin' the bad guys, escapin' the bad guys, callin' out epic punchlines to the bad guys. But wait a second aren't Butch Cassidy and Sundance kid outlaws? Ain't they the bad guys? Yeah, but they're really cool bad guys.
I think that the choice of actors is a very good one; Butch Cassidy 'the thinker' is played by Oscar winning Paul Newman, (you can't beat those awesome sea-blue eyes) and Sundance Kid, the marksman, is played by Robert Redford (well he's just plain cool)! The two 'lovable rogues' are very hard to dislike yet they can also be very easy to dislike; considering they're both outlaws, killers and can sometimes be very spiteful; it's a big emotional gunfight within your head!
According to official records Butch and Sundance formed a gang together called 'The Wild Bunch' who were known for their flair and daring not their violence. But with success came sheriffs and their men. Fearing for their lives Butch Sundance and Etta (Sundance's fiancee) ran to Bolivia and with large success robbed banks and trains. Eventually (according to the report by the government) the two of them were trapped in a town and Sundance was shot down and Butch shot himself. But is that necessarily true? There have been many people claiming that they escaped and lived out their lives in peace. One man even claimed he was Butch Cassidy!
This has to be one of my favorite films ever; with its daring, exciting fights and humorous tone. But what I thought was great was the fact that in many westerns the story-line falls into cheesy soppy romance but with this it gave you a grim but funny view on 'the wild west'....with a sad ending that made me don my cowboy hat and vow to hunt down the Sheriffs who did this to the lovable rogues, Butch and Sundance.
100% awesomeness guaranteed!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Ola, 0

5 out of 5
School
Sherrier C of E Primary School
Review Date
14 November, 2014

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

One word AMAZING!!!
You might sit here and think, 'Another film from Harry Potter? What!!!'
But once you see it.... OH ONCE YOU SEE IT!!!! It will take you in a magical and mesterious, spooky and fantasycal world... Of magic... You will travel through endless worlds , fight enemies, enjoy the fantastic landscape. and don't you say HARRY Potter is not a good film !!!!


FIVE STARS AND A HALF!!!

{available on dvd and bluray now on a combo pack}

p.p.s So buy it......

Interstellar

James, 14

5 out of 5
School
Ballyclare High Grammar School
Review Date
13 November, 2014

Interstellar

As the film began, and the titles rolled, I was scared. I'd heard the mixed reviews and I was frightened I wasn't going to like this film. I was wrong. I loved this film. This film is near perfect, there are very, very few things wrong. These things? Topher Grace's character was a bit underdeveloped, and some words were a bit hard to hear, but that was about the height of it. The rest was all exceptional. The acting, the cinematography, the sets, the locations, the effects, the score, the direction, it was all some of the best I've seen this year. Matthew McConaughey was sensational as Cooper, and he was wonderfully supported by Anne Hathaway, Michael Caine, Jessica Chastain and Bill Irwin as TARS. I heard talk of plot holes as big as wormholes in the film, but I didn't notice any. Hans Zimmer created a brilliant, and moving soundtrack that was perfect with the film. So, if you're going to watch the piece of trash that is Gravity, don't bother with that! Watch a film with an actual plot, watch Interstellar.

The Woman In Black

Rhys, 12

4 out of 5
School
Simon De Montfort Middle School
Review Date
13 November, 2014

The Woman In Black

This movie was amazing. It had a very thick, gothic atmosphere and made you feel a huge sense of dread. The story was very good and I won't spoil it here. All of the actors were very good and felt like the people they were portraying. But most importantly the movie scared me which isn't an easy task to do. The only problem was that some of the characters felt pointless and didn't need to exist. The film puts time into them but none of it pays off as they are pretty much useless. It is also quite heavy jumpscares which are very lazy rarely done right by anything , not just this (with exceptions being five nights at Freddy's and SCP: containment breach). other than that this movie is great and I would highly recommend it.

Son of Rambow

Karina, 10

5 out of 5
School
Staverton CofE Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Review Date
12 November, 2014

Son of Rambow

The 'Son Of Ranbow' is about two different boys.One living a very Religious life living by the strict rules but dreams dreams even though he isn't supposed too this boy is called Will.The other boy (Lee Carter) lives a rich life in a care home because his Spanish dad works there.His mum went with his dad to Spain leaving Lee's brother in charge so he can have freedom without anyone telling him off (unlike Will).Their shared dream of making a movie leads them into a lot of exiting and chaotic adventures!When Will is sent to a public school he isn't aloud to watch any videos according to his religion so when being sent out of the room,whilst the others watch a clip it is then when he meets future friend Lee Carter.

I really liked the story-line of this film.I don't hate it but it got a bit boring after a while and I completely lost where we were.The film had a lot of things happening lots of dilemmas and conclusions but for me not every dilemma was solved.Apart from that I really enjoyed it has everything comedy,drama and you might even need some tissues!

Tangled

Skye, 9

5 out of 5
School
Stratton Primary School
Review Date
11 November, 2014

Tangled

I love Tangled! Well lucky for me I don't have 70 metres of long hair {thank goodness for that}! I mean, wouldn't it take hours and hours to brush all the knots and tangles out?! Maybe that's why they call it 'Tangled', because Rapunzel has masses of hair, so she needs to brush all the tangles out? Anyway, maybe having masses of magic hair with healing powers wouldn't be so bad would it? Note for the parents, if you get older don't use a magic flower to make you younger like Mother Gothel.

Here are a few things that Mother Gothel does that is 'being the bad guy' {by the way that is a line from the film}.

1. Stealing a baby princess.
2. Hoarding the girls power and using it to make yourself younger - creepy right...?

A tip, if you're like Flynn Rider and you're fighting I would recommend using a frying pan!

Second tip. If you have loads and loads of hair I wouldn't recommend sliding down it whilst trying to escape from a really high tower. It will almost certainly hurt!

And finally - watch Tangled. You'll love it!

The 400 Blows

Holly, 12

4 out of 5
School
Beauchamp Middle School
Review Date
11 November, 2014

The 400 Blows

This is the first French film I have watched. I found it interesting as the characters are realistic and not perfect like in other films. My favorite part of the film, was when the boys skived school which I also found realistic as that is what boys probably do at that age. They were swearing and doing things of that sort, as kids of this age group would do whilst they were at school. what I also found out in the film, is that they learn English in France the same as we learn French in England.

2001: A Space Odyssey

Elliot, 16

4 out of 5
School
The Sixth Form College
Review Date
10 November, 2014

2001: A Space Odyssey

"I'm sorry Dave... I'm afraid I can't do that..."

I had been wondering what my thoughts would be about this film for a long while, especially since it is the first film I have seen from Stanley Kubrick. Now that I finally got the opportunity to watch the film I can give my thoughts!

... Hmm... Actually... I should probably change 'watch' and replace it with 'experience'.

The film follows space... To be honest, that's all you need to know going in. You can call me lazy for not writing a short synopsis but to be truthful, you should go in knowing next to nothing.

2001: A Space Odyssey is a beautiful looking and sounding film... The fact that this was made in 1968 is what truly impresses me, I'm sure I don't have to mention the score. The direction from Kubrick is utterly masterful, his choice of shot duration definitely allows the imagery to sink into your skin.

The acting was also superb, with an excellent performance by Keir Dullea and a truly haunting one from the voice acting of Douglas Rain as the titular antagonist (again, not giving any specifics).

My main issue with the film is (like with many others) struggling to sit through it. It was about 140 minutes long despite feeling like... Well... 9000...

Overall I am very glad I got the opportunity to watch it, it showcased some outstanding performances and music, I would happily call it a visual masterpiece. But I'll be honest, I would struggle to sit through it again.

The Fault in Our Stars

Dinil, 12

5 out of 5
School
Ormskirk School
Review Date
10 November, 2014

The Fault in Our Stars

John green's faboulse books has been created into a world class film that has shocked the world with its originality.the movie starts with two star crossed lovers that have been fight cancer that has been tearing away at thier lives like a infected cut on you leg tearing away at you skin.soon they can see that this is the only love that they will have and that they are not going to be able to love anyone else for the rest of thier lives but cancer carn't stop them from doing what they want and soon that are setting out on a edventure of a life time.this movie made me think of how lucky we are in that we have so much time to spend with our family and friends and we are lucky that we don't have to go through the pain of cancer eating at your life and when people say that life is too short.I always think that this is our life and tht this is is the only chance that we have to live a happy and rewarding life with the people that you love.This film showed us how strong love can be and how as a family that you can get through everything that life throughs at you.

This movie makes you fell how lucky you are not having to go through the pain a greff of cancer and that life is a gift that we all have been given and we have to remember that thier can always be someone out thier doing worse than you.in my opinion this movie is one of the best movies I have ever watched it made me think of my life and what I could do to have a sickperson smile and help the people that are less fortunate than me also to help other people get through cancer in thier lives.
But I have to congratulate all the people who made this film because they would have had to work so hard to create a film of this standerd and what is most intresting about his movie is the name and it makes me think before I start to get an idea of what the title of the film could mean.All and all the director did a wonderful job of making this movie page to page of the book and even adding some of the lines from the original book so over all this movie is one of the best movies I have ever watched.If you have not so you should really go and watch is amazing movie because it will make a tear run down your eye.

The Fox and The Child

Joyce, 10

5 out of 5
School
St. Mary Magdalens RC Junior School
Review Date
9 November, 2014

The Fox and The Child

Parents need to know that this extraordinary family film does something that few movies can do: it takes a modern child and places her in the natural world without losing believability. The child's relationship with the fox does border on obsession, and there are moments where she is in peril, but she learns a valuable lesson that will ring a bell with viewers of all ages. There is a scene near the end of the movie that might be shocking and distressing to younger or more sensitive viewers . The movie teaches people that you can have a love for nature but wild animals have to be wild animals ,and that fox's are wonderful animals. As i watched the film I became even more intrigued and the inspiring bravery of the the girl really helps grab viewers attention. Her love for nature is impeccable too.This story shows friendship,trust,love ,and magic. This was a amazing use of 92 minutes.I love the way that the overvoice shows that she learned from her lesson and that she never forgot about her brilliant experience . This movie is the perfect movie for inspiration. Luc Jacquet is a brilliant Director and should be proud! I give this movie 9.9/10.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy