Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Johnny Ray, 15

5 out of 5
School
St Patrick’s College
Review Date
19 July, 2014

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

I really liked 20th Century Fox's reboot of the "Planet of the Apes" films: "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" from 2011 and was really looking forward to seeing its sequel "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes". After seeing it in the cinema I have to say that not only was it better than the first film it is my favourite film of the summer so far. It's hard to know where to start when writing about "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" but if I had to sum it up in one word it would be "Amazing".

I think that perhaps the best thing about this film is that it is so smartly done in pretty much every aspect. It takes its premise of a post-apocalyptic world with a society of intelligent apes seriously but also manages to intertwine it with some extremely impressive visual effects and action scenes. There are actually only a few action scenes in this film but they don't feel underwhelming because the scenes before them build up to them by creating tension. This film really focuses more on story and characters than action. This might sound odd as a great majority of the characters are CGI apes but the apes are all very well developed characters and even more interesting than a lot of human characters in big summer blockbusters. One of the flaws in "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" I thought was that it didn't focus enough on the ape characters which were the most interesting characters in the film. "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" focuses on human and ape characters in equal measure to great results.

This film was directed by Matt Reeves the director of "Cloverfield" which I liked but I thought would've been better without the found footage gimmick and if it didn't show its giant monster as sparingly as it did. Reeves really showed his craft in this film with a lot scenes being very artistically done. The actors and actresses in this film were all very good as well. I'd say that the two performances in this film that stood out to me the most were the motion capture performances of Andy Serkis (the king of motion capture acting) as "Caesar" the leader of the apes and Toby Kebbell as "Koba" Caesar's devious second in command. Of course none of this would be possible without a good script. This film was written by Mark Bomback, Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver who have written an engaging easy to follow story and interesting characters that have clear motivations.

On the topic of this film's visual effects not a bad word can be said. Simply it's the best CGI that I've ever seen. It's so convincing and realistic looking that you forget that what you're watching isn't real which is just about the best thing that an effect can do in a film. The Academy Awards idiotically snubbed "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" for the best visual effects award and didn't even nominate last years brilliant "Pacific Rim". If they're stupid enough to not give "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" the award for best visual effects I'll get so angry that I'll eat my own hat. Except I don't have a hat though so I would go out to the nearest clothes shop and purchase the cheapest hat there and devour it in a fit of animalistic rage.....okay I'm kind of straying off topic. The point is the visual effects in this film are among the best I've ever seen if not the best.

I think the only complaint that I have about this film is that one of the characters in it felt the slightest bit one dimensional but that's such a minor complaint that I may as well have not even written it. If you can find a way to unread the last sentence do it. Or don't your head might explode from too much concentration.

My most anticipated film of the summer is Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" which I'm sure is going to be great but it's going to have to do a lot to beat "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" to win the title of my favourite film of the summer. I loved "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" and would recommend it to anybody looking for a really good movie to see this summer. Trust me this film is worth your money. I would give "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" a 5/5 and will definitely see its sequel if they make one. If this review didn't make you want to see this film then maybe this sentence will: It's very likely that this is the only film that you'll see this summer with a bunch of chimpanzees on horses with machine guns in it.

Toy Story 3

Ashley, 11

3 out of 5
School
Gwernyfed High School
Review Date
28 July, 2014

Toy Story 3

I thought the film was good because its great for kids about five not to leave your toys behind dont forget about them. I also thought there was to much evil because the cuddly bear all of a sudden turns evil, dont forget that a toy or teddy is part of you precious life. If you dont want them give them to someone you trust.

The Iron Giant

Emily , 12

4 out of 5
School
St John's CofE (c) Primary School
Review Date
28 July, 2014

The Iron Giant

This is a film for families becayse anyone can watch it. I would rate this film 4 stars. The film is called the Iron giant. The book is called the Iron man it is published by Ted Hughes. The book is about an Iron man comming and defeating the space bat angle dragon although in the film he saves the world. This is a cartoon so it is not real so please don't go looking for metal monsters in the wood.

Postman Pat: The Movie

Jack and Hazel, 14

5 out of 5
School
The Willink School
Review Date
18 July, 2014

Postman Pat: The Movie

it's postman pat, what's not to like.

Maleficent

milly, 10

5 out of 5
School
Friars Grove Primary School
Review Date
17 July, 2014

Maleficent

MALEFICENT...more like magnificent!

I wastn't to sure about it at first but by the time I had got to the cinimar and saw it on a poster where ever I looked I knew it had to be good...and guess what...I was right!

It was by far the best I've seen by a mile.
This film,staring Angelina Jolie,was packed full of features that once put together,like this one of a kind film has done,forms a mind blowing creation!

Robert Stormberg has done a fabulouse job by inventing this wonderful storie including a battle between magic and mortal rolled up in one!

If you're looking for a thrilling adventure this film for you!!!

A 2014 creation full of 97 minutes of pure entertanment is...well.....UTERLLY EPIC!!!

What are you waiting for GO,GO,GO!!!!

Diary of a Wimpy Kid 3: Dog Days

Eric, 9

5 out of 5
School
St Thomas Aquinas Catholic Primary School
Review Date
16 July, 2014

Diary of a Wimpy Kid 3: Dog Days

THis film was the most arkward film I have ever watched in my life. My eyes focuesd on the entertaining film. It blew my mind. This spectacular film is mainly about Gregs life. His life was not really awsome. If you watch this film your mind will go gargantuan with full of amazing thoughts about this film. You will be extremely mesmerising and when you review it. You will give it an amazing five stars.

Charlotte's Web

Ella, 10

5 out of 5
School
St Catherine's Catholic Primary School, Lowton
Review Date
15 July, 2014

Charlotte's Web

One girl , one pig , one spider and one amazing web! This wondrous combination makes charlottes web.

When Fern Arable finds her father about to slaughter a runty little pig she protests against it and ends up feeding the pig on a bottle and looking after it as her own pet. She names the pig Wilbur. When Wilbur is too big she sells him to her uncles farm. Little does she know what he is plotting...

Watching this film is a treat for all the family. The children will love the animals and the fact that they talk and the adults will love the cast.

I love this film and I would recommend it as a family film as it is a heart warming tale.

This film is an all rounder and it ticks all the boxes

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

mason, 9

4 out of 5
School
The Cathedral School Of St Mary
Review Date
14 July, 2014

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

This film is very emotional. It portrays the horrors of the Holocaust and the melancholy of the so called 'prisoners'. The film has expert acting and makes the settings as realistic as possible. I was amazed by the amount of realism behind this story. The characters are loveable and you would be crying by the end of this masterpiece. But it has its flaws, like a lot of questions were left unanswered and still bother me now. I did really expect a bit more happiness in the ending but evidentally i was wrong. Overall an outstanding film with a great casting choice and a depressing feel.

Matilda

Hassan , 10

2 out of 5
School
Dixons Marchbank Primary
Review Date
14 July, 2014

Matilda

I liked Matilda a bit because it was really funny. Also i really liked the ending when Mrs Trunchball got hit with whiteboard rubbers and after that everyone threw food and pebbles on here face. The thing i didn't like about it was when a fat boy was called to the stage and got whipped by the evil headteacher Mrs Trunchball .And he was forced to eat tons of chocolate cakes with his bare dirty hands it was such a nasty event . I didn't like it that much. i would give it 2 out of 5 stars.

Frozen

Chloe, 12

5 out of 5
School
Flint High School
Review Date
14 July, 2014

Frozen

Frozen, is another brilliant Disney film, directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee, I though the film was amazing, it shows the viewers that you don't always need a man to be in love, and to love the people around you, there are lots of funny moments in the film, but also some sad moments, I love this film, this is by far one of my favorite Disney film, I highly recommend this to any Disney fans or anyone that enjoys films like this.

Frozen

Emma, 10

3 out of 5
School
More Park Catholic Primary School
Review Date
11 July, 2014

Frozen

A wonderful disney fairy tale , a young girl called Elsa finds out something very magical. But accedently its frozen her village. On a quest to put things right Elsa meets her true love. But, Prince Hance is up to no good and all gos bad......
With this epic adventure there is love and cunningness. Its a fantastic and amazing film with lots of happiness furthermore you can join in aswell in the songs.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy