Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Shaun Of The Dead

Tom , 14

4 out of 5
School
Thomas Gainsborough School
Review Date
15 August, 2014

Shaun Of The Dead

A mixture of beer and blood is combined to make a truly gory zombie apocalypse but added with British humour to make 'Shaun Of The Dead'. It has some great comical moments and it looks and feels like a proper horror movie rather than a comedy making it in some places more of a serious horror movie. Because of this, the movie becomes even more hilarious and it really delivers to its target audience. I think fans of both (British) comedy-genre and of course your typical 'Zombie' horror movies will really like this film. Visually though this film is really good looking with its gore, make-up and visual effects. From the title you may think it is a spoof of the much loved 'Dawn Of The Dead' but really this film is much more than that. The movie is fun and enjoyable and it creates a generally good story on its own making it more than just your average spoof movie. The characters in the movie are all well written and funny in the film making it an engaging film all the way. The acting is also good as they really change from their humorous scenes to their more serious scenes in the movie. As well as the main stars it also has Bill Nighy playing role in it where he once again seizes that comedy role acting again. Edgar Wright does a brilliant job with this film on all levels making it a true British comedy with heart still there.

Peter and the Wolf

Mia, 11

2 out of 5
School
St Theresa's R.C. School
Review Date
14 August, 2014

Peter and the Wolf

Peter and the wolf is in my opinion, very boring with no excitement at all. However, saying that this film has won an oscar award which means some people may enjoy watching the film. This film is about a boy called Peter who is not allowed to go outside and his only friend is the duck. He goes through a small adventure around the streets of this town which wasn't very amazing to watch. The biggest let down for me about this film is that is has no speech and not much bright, beautiful colours. It is mainly grey, black, brown and white. Also this movie is made by taking a photo, moving to slightly then taking another photo etc so the animation itself was very bad.

Personally I wouldn't use my time watching this 40 minute film but we all have different opinions. I rate this film 2/5 stars the best thing about this film was the music to describe the emotions of the characters. I don't recommend this film.

Despicable Me 2

Beatrice, 10

5 out of 5
School
Edinburgh Primary School
Review Date
12 August, 2014

Despicable Me 2

Super villain Gru is back... he's just not so... Well, super-villanny. In fact, Dispicable Me 2 is the exact opposite of what it is. I mean, going undercover to save the world? You could hardly call that dispicable. But anyway, it's a great film. Yeah, really. No, honestly. Watch it. WATCH IT I SAY! Oh, fine, have it your way. It's still a good film.

Summer Cinema Reviewing Competition

Sophie, 15

4 out of 5
School
Amersham School
Review Date
12 August, 2014

Summer Cinema Reviewing Competition

The Lego movie:
Everything is Awesome.

Definitely ticks the right box for this movie phenomenon, a brilliant mix of laugh out loud comedy, impressive visual effects and a fast-paced storyline which keeps audiences of all ages engaged and entertained.

My expectations for the movie weren’t high; I imagined it to be aimed at much younger audiences with a fairly predictable plot.

Nevertheless, I was pleasantly surprised.

Emmett, voiced by Chris Pratt, is an ordinary construction worker, going about his daily duties in accordance with the instruction manual provided to all Lego citizens by President Business, the master of evil, whose idea of power and conformity leads to his plan of freezing the Lego world in super glue.

By accident, Emmett discovers mythical Piece of Resistance, an ancient relic spoken of only in prophecy that can be used to save the Lego citizens from their impending doom.

Mistaking him for ‘the special’ he is saved by the beautiful Wyldstyle, who whisks Emmett away and brings him before the Master Builders; the man who spoke of the prophecy, a god-like Vitruvius[Morgan Freeman], 1980s astronaut Benny [Charlie Day] and Batman [Will Arnett].

Together they form a plan to defeat Lord Business and save Lego city and all its civilians; by infiltrating his massive high-rise fortress, whilst on the run from the terrifying Good Cop/Bad Cop [Liam Neeson], Lord Business' most loyal henchman.

A combination of stop motion and CGI animation, the film is visually dynamic.

The story starts with an insight into the Lego universe, expertly designed and crafted and the detail that has been taken to create this universe is astounding.

The story is simple enough for children to understand and follow, but being multi-layered it appeals to adults, and can definitely make more mature audiences laugh out loud.

The casting was spot on, Chris Pratt delivers an incredible character to Emmet and I was also really impressed with Will Farrell who voices Lord Business. Morgan Freeman was brilliant as ever, but my favourite was Liam Neeson, the good cop/bad cop who delivered an amazing, hilarious character and voice for both. The other supporting voice actors were incredible, and no character felt out of place.

From the outset, The Lego Movie fires an endless array of jokes at its audience from seemingly every angle. There are so many character references, including some brilliant batman puns and lord of the ring references which were hilarious!

I recommend this fantastic film to all ages – you are guaranteed a laugh!

My Neighbour Totoro

Rosa, 11

5 out of 5
School
Fairfield Junior School
Review Date
11 August, 2014

My Neighbour Totoro

This is litrallly my new favourite film

i adore the manga animation style and this film in particular was very well animated and the story line was expressed extremely well using the cartoon form

this film included amazing magical goings on and alot of tantrums from the smallest of the children

i rate this film 10/10 because of the crazy magic and beautiful animation

Frozen

Jessica, 11

5 out of 5
School
The Henry Moore Primary School
Review Date
7 August, 2014

Frozen

Amazing and exciting; unforgettable and memorable; I may be too old for this film but it was easily the greatest Disney Princess film ever made. Every character was easy to empathise with which I find very important in a film. In my opinion, the best character out of the whole film was Olaf. His overall character was generally hilarious and I especially enjoyed his wondrous song about Summer! If I am being honest I would definitely recommend it to all ages. This is because older children will understand the heart-warming storyline whereas, the younger children will enjoy the singing and the characters. A wonderful film that I will definitely remember throughout my life.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Aoife, 11

5 out of 5
School
Ballycastle Integrated Primary School
Review Date
6 August, 2014

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

This film is tense and thrilling from start to end, with a clear and harsh message ringing through it all of the time- you have to be careful who you trust.
The characters of the apes are all incredibly well defined, even though they only speak a few words, their faces say everything that their mouths don't.
It keeps you guessing with unpredictable twists and turns, and you find that you can't look away from the screen for even a second without seeming to miss something.
In this film is reflected the great beauty which films can achieve, showing a delicate balance between two sides, the humans and the apes, which sounds as if it will be another massive movie cliche, but turns out to be an unmissable cinematic experience, telling a story of leadership, choices, and bravery beyond measure.

Set in a post-apocalyptic world where life is a constant test of strength and endurance, I really believe that this film has absolutely no faults, and is completely perfect, even if it makes you jump at least once every thirty seconds.

Guardians of the Galaxy

Johnny Ray, 15

5 out of 5
School
St Patrick’s College
Review Date
5 August, 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy

Out of every movie coming out this summer, "Guardians of the Galaxy" has always by far been my most anticipated for several reasons. I liked the fact that I'd never even heard of the comic-book series which would make the film a whole new experience for me, it's a big space opera like "Star Wars", the trailers made it look extremely fun, but more than anything what excited me the most was that it was going to be written and directed by James Gunn. I've been a really big fan of James Gunn's work ever since I first saw his delightfully disgusting horror comedy "Slither", so when I'd heard that he was going to direct the extremely strange "Guardians of the Galaxy" I couldn't wait to go see it.

After seeing "Guardians of the Galaxy" I have to say that I had a lot of fun watching it and found it to be really entertaining. I did think that it had a few flaws but they most certainly didn't lessen my enjoyment of the movie as a whole. I found this film to be very refreshing as it was definitely the most fun big blockbuster movie of this summer and in a good while, because these days most big summer movies try to be dark, gritty and brooding (especially in the superhero genre) whereas this movie was colourful entertaining and funny.

"Guardians of the Galaxy" focuses on main character Peter Quill who prefers to be known by his much cooler sounding outlaw name "Star Lord". Quill attempts to steal a priceless and powerful alien artefact known as the infinity stone, which is also sought after by a ruthless villain named Ronan the Accuser who wants to use the artefact to destroy the planet of Xandar and to conquer the galaxy. Peter Quill ends up teaming up with four other strange alien outlaws to become the guardians of the galaxy and stop Ronan the Accuser.

Many people have very accurately compared James Gunn's transition into big budget filmmaking to the likes of Sam Raimi and Peter Jackson who both also started with funny low budget horror movies, and moved on to bigger budgeted movies but also maintained the charm of their earlier films whilst doing so. I think that the best aspect of Gunn's direction is that he always seems to get really great performances out of his cast especially comedic performances. Similar to the films of Edgar Wright though Gunn manages to mix witty dialogue and humorous situations with genuinely emotional moments that help you to better connect with the characters. This film's script is very funny often in a rude or raunchy way, which was something I was a bit worried about before going to see this film. I expected Marvel to maybe restrict James Gunn from writing in his trademark naughty jokes in order to make it more family friendly, but I was glad to see that they actually let him get away with quite a lot. The only thing that I found to be wrong with the script is that it was sometimes hard to follow the different names for all of the aliens and planets, but I entually adjusted to them. I think that one tiny flaw in Gunn's direction is that although the action scenes in this film are generally rather well done and fun to watch, they sometimes feel a bit hard to follow and a little too long.

All of the cast gave a good performance and a lot of them gave great performances. I think that Chris Pratt was terrific as the protagonist Peter Quill. He was very charismatic and funny. He played the part like a ruder Han Solo from Star Wars. Zoe Saldana comes off to me as an actress with limited range because I've only ever seen her as cool femme fatale characters but that's her trademark and she does it well here as Gamora the green alien assassin. Bradley Cooper and Vin Diesel both give funny voice performances as the wise cracking talking racoon Rocket and the somewhat clueless talking tree Groot (It was probably very easy for Vin Diesel though as his only lines of dialogue are "I AM GROOT!"). Out of all the cast I was most impressed by Dave Bautista as vengeful alien Drax the Destroyer. Seeing as Bautista is a former wrestler and this is his first acting role it's very impressive how well he played his part.

The special effects were great in this movie. I especially liked how well animated the CGI characters of Rocket and Groot were. As a big fan of practical effects it was very cool to see a lot more make-up effects and actual sets in a modern movie. One of my favourite things about James Gunn is that he says that the best way to do special effects in movies is by mixing the best elements of practical and digital effects and I whole heartedly agree with him on that.

I wouldn't mind purchasing this film's soundtrack as it has a lot of very fun and cheesy retro tracks that work really well within the context of the film.

This film is jam packed full of fun little Easter eggs for big fans of Marvel's comics and movies and fans of James Gunn's previous films. My personal favourite is a little nod to "Slither" which can be spotted by eagle eyed viewers.

I thoroughly enjoyed "Guardians of he Galaxy" and would say that it earns to the titles of my new favourite Marvel movie and my favourite movie of this summer. It just manages to beat "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" to my top spot. I would give "Guardians of the Galaxy" a rating of 5/5 as it was the most fun movie that I've seen in the cinema in a while and I look forward to seeing it again the next chance I get, whether it be when it comes out on DVD or again in the cinema. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes really fun entertaining movies filled with action and especially to fans of fun science-fiction like myself.

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

Aaliyah, 10

5 out of 5
School
Rowdown Primary School
Review Date
4 August, 2014

The Adventures of Tintin - The Secret of the Unicorn

the director of riders of the lost ark the writer of doctor who and sherlock the last James bond -could you ask for a better action adventure pedagree ? probraly not witch is why Steven spiye lbergs adaftition for mutch- love comic book about the bog reporta and his faithful dog Snowty has had fans on tenter hooks for months. Well the waitings over andit's as good as it looks the anamation is crisp's get glowing with life the voicework {particotaraly Andy sperkis as the iraspicable captin huddge is spot on and it's an spot on afection } for it's subjectas it is a breathless adventuer . A treat.



made by Aaliyah

Back to the Future

Jenna, 8

5 out of 5
School
Millbrook Primary School
Review Date
4 August, 2014

Back to the Future

This is my best film, some parts are very funny george mcfly was really daft just like my Dad. There is such great actors like doc brown, Marty mcfly, george mcfly, Biff Tannan, Jennifer and lorriane. Lorraine was Marty mcflys Mum that was meant to be back together with george mcfly so Marty mcfly went back in time to be in the future. At the end lorraine was back together with george them two went to the under sea dance, but just then a gingered haired lad went and snatched lorraine so Marty was getting in visible but just then george swiped her in his hands and Marty was all better again as Marty was going out the door they all said bye and Marty said if u had kids if one of them accidently set the house on fire and he was eight please go calm on him ( that was Marty) Marty went back into past. To be continued ............. :B

From Jenna xxxx hope u enjoy it :B

Toy Story 3

Ashley, 11

3 out of 5
School
Gwernyfed High School
Review Date
28 July, 2014

Toy Story 3

I thought the film was good because its great for kids about five not to leave your toys behind dont forget about them. I also thought there was to much evil because the cuddly bear all of a sudden turns evil, dont forget that a toy or teddy is part of you precious life. If you dont want them give them to someone you trust.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy