Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

In the City of Sylvia

Megan, 12

4 out of 5
School
Stanground College
Review Date
18 March, 2015

In the City of Sylvia

In the City of Sylvia:

José Luis Guerín is a famous French film maker who mainly revolves around thoughtful and insightful work in his films. The film is based on Guerín’s real life experiences which were proposed very naturally and simply, not like any other movie I’ve ever seen as it is very unique. I believe that the characters played their roles well. Most people say the movie is enigmatic but I think that it is more emotional, expressing this through an outburst of sight, sound and feeling. This film was hard to write a review on and to me it was a challenge; well… it wasn’t exactly your average action-packed, thriller! I believed that the movie progressed as it went on and that José has created an idolizing, poetic movie with a sweet essence of a realistic romance story. This shows us the typical reality and complexity of human feelings. I certainly also have to acknowledge José for the fantastic music and the superbly shot scenes.

At first I thought that the main character in this movie (played by Xavier Lafitte) was a peculiar stalker, tracing women and following them but then I got to understand the story and the real purpose of this. Xavier’s character seeks for a woman he fell deeply in love with six years ago. This results in him roaming the streets and cafes with only a rough sketch to identify her. He comes across many women who he draws to compare the two. After searching he believes to have found the woman he met and instantly follows her however when she declares she doesn’t know who he is he is struck with sadness and devastation. Despite this movie having a sad ending, it leaves behind a truthful message about love and heartbreaks.

Overall, In the City of Sylvia is a timeless masterpiece! I enjoyed this movie however I would recommend reading the book first as the film is very emotionless and mostly silent. This is because the storyline can be misinterpreted or can puzzle some. Despite this it is a fabulous film and would recommend this to people my age and older.

The Mighty

Matty, 10

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
22 March, 2015

The Mighty

`The Mighty` stunned me and made loads of different emotions swirl around in my mind. Two kids: one crippled and extremely intelligent and one overweight, who's dad is in jail and not intelligent at all, become the closest of friends and go on an outstanding adventure, overcoming some of their fears and doing things that they would never dream of doing before. As they were both bullied this was an extraordinary accomplishment.
There was excitement throughout the whole film, some terrifying/ scary scenes and some full with suspense. However, there were also cheerful ones too which made smiles appear and also upsetting scenes. There were basically all different types of scenes! Because of the variety boredom never ocurred to me. I loved the fact that it's about overcoming bullying and standing up to bullies; it was a very sweet feature. I'm a massive fan of Kevin and Max (the two kids and main characters) as they were very brave, worked as a team and helped eachother out with things.
For once in a film I can't think of any negative features which is very rare and which is why I'm giving it five stars and ten out of ten. I would 100% recommend this film unless you're not a fan of noise (a lot of shouting happened) or if you get scared easily. Thumbs up though!

Micmacs

Eddy, 14

5 out of 5
School
Sawston Village College
Review Date
21 March, 2015

Micmacs

OK... So this is a comedy, and it is very funny and VERY French. It sucks you in and absorbs you in its soft filmic interior until you can only interpret what you see as sublime. The director said that is was inspired by ‘Delicatessen’ (something which will become blindingly apparent over the coarse of the movie) with the character set of toy story.

The plot follows Basil – who is shot between the eyes in the first scene by a dropped gun. He is then nursed back into health in hospital and emerges to find himself homeless and jobless. So of coarse the logical step for a brain damaged busking hobo is to seek revenge. After a few days on the street he meets a group of inventors who live in a cavern hollowed out in a scrap heap, which suits them as they are all inventors of artists – so they are in no short supply of nuts and bolts.

This movie is a feat in both artistic and technical aspects. It was shot at the peak of the development of film cameras and its cinematography easily justifies such a beautiful image. And it managed to be a film inspired by the famous ‘Delicatessen’ and still is a stunning film in its own right. If you are not the type to watch foreign film then I urge you to make an exception and I promise you will not even notice that it is in French – the subtitles will enter your mind bypassing your eyes and strait into your feelings.

Madagascar 2 - Escape to Africa

Adam, 13

3 out of 5
School
Elfed High School
Review Date
20 March, 2015

Madagascar 2 - Escape to Africa

I was tempted to give it only two stars. But I can't for this movie IS THE SAME AS THE ORIGINAL! This sequel made no improvements nor did it progress the story in any significant way. Mart (Chris Rock) is still as annoying as Jar Jar Binks. Melvin is still a nervous wreck and Alex is still...well Alex. I admit it made me chuckle more. Apparently Ben Stiller is in this movie but I couldn't tell! This movie introduces new characters but either does nothing with them or they disregard their existence in the third movie! A few questionable moments one near the beginning, one after the half way mark and one near the end. I will let you find out what they are. When I thought one Chris Rock was enough....
This sequel is POINTLESS this movie should have been what the third movie is! Skip this movie and you wont be missing much at all. 89 minutes of my life wasted on this movie. Thank God Filmclub doesn't charge to watch a movie otherwise I would demand a refund after viewing this.

The Mighty

Hannah, 0

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
19 March, 2015

The Mighty

The mighty is a fantastic movie that is extremely enjoyable film to watch. It is all about a big boy (mighty) who has stayed in the 7th grade for over 2yrs he is quite stupid. Every thing changes when a genius boy moves into the house next door called Kevin (freak). Slowly they create an unbreakable bond. Since freak is a cripple boy and mighty has no brains they use each others talents to help each other out (freak sits on mighty’s and helps mighty with his difficulties. Together they work together to overcome their fears and meet an extremely thrilling adventure… this film has the perfect balance between humour, action and sadness. After maleficent this has definitely been the best film I have seen at film club. I just love this film! This is why I have given it 5 stars!

A Bug's Life

Leo, 7

5 out of 5
School
Monteclefe CofE Va Junior School
Review Date
19 March, 2015

A Bug's Life

I loved the film because I like bugs. it is good to see nature having fun, this is how I imagine they live . I would recommend this film to my mum and dad, 10/10

The Godfather

Raval, 14

5 out of 5
School
King Edward Vi Aston School
Review Date
18 March, 2015

The Godfather

What is there to say more about this movie? Mostly everything has already been said about Francis Ford Coppola's iconic work. The Godfather is a magnificent mafia masterpiece, which has marked its time in the history of all motion picture art for many decades and will do for many more. Perfect is too little of a word to describe The Godfather.

Well, where do I begin? It begins with a usual Italian-American family, the Corleone family, who own a business, but thier business is nothing normal. It is led by 'The Godfather' - Don Vito Corleone - played by Marlon Brando, an actor who has mostly been know for his fights with directors than actual acting, but here, Brando is unmistakably phenomenal. He portrays the character fantasticly well, when showing the authority he holds over his family and the other 5 families who are all rivals in the businesses. This is shown brilliantly in the line: 'I'm gonna make him an offer he can't refuse' and the actions he does after that, however to contrast that later on in the story, Brando does well to show a slight weakness through the character. This is why his performance is phenomenal and one of the most effective in film history.

Following on, Don Vito doesn't just care souly on his business but instead does his most to protect and love his family. His sons, his heirs, play a huge part in the story, as in the end one could argue that the whole of this story is about one leader caring for his family. The Corleone family also has female members however they are not as significant to the story, this shows a good portrayal of the male domination during that time. Sonny Corleone, played by James Caan, has the less of a connection with the business end, however protects his family dearly especially Connie Corleone (His sister) played by Talia Shire. This connection and loyalty is shown through pure class during the movie. Tom Hagen, played brilliantly by Robert Duvall, helps his father Don Vito with his business and is always there by his side. Tom is thought of as a brother, although he is not a blood relation, as Don Vito brought Tom too his family, when seeing him as a poor orphan on the streets. This shows that Don Vito doesn't just have feelings for his family but others too, including Tom Hagen. Fredo Corleone, played by John Cazale, isn't like the first two sons as he doesn't stay along side with his father however instead prefers to stay in Las Vegas to create his own business. But then there is Michael Corleone, played by Al Pacino, this character is greatly effective in this plot. Firstly, Michael being the youngest son is a very feeble character, but he gradually shows who he is. This is portrayed perfectly by Al Pacino.

There are many other convenient characters which all have a impacts on the plot. The thing about Godfather is that it doesn't have a basic start, middle and end, like many films even the other fantastic ones like The Shawshank Redemption (which don't get me mistaken, is equally as good as the Godfather). The Godfathers story is recognizably unique in many ways. Mario Puzo, the writer of the Godfathers, created a brilliant story plot, however brilliant was not enough, so that's why Francis Ford Coppola came and changed much of it making it a masterpiece.

Every part of the Godfather is faultless. It is and will be one of the most outstanding movies of all time with a phenomenal written story; perfection through the screenplay and flawless acting. Legendary.

Back to the Future

Tess, 10

4 out of 5
School
Langley Primary School
Review Date
17 March, 2015

Back to the Future

This is a classical film maby made in the 19's e.g 1985 ,1999,1989 . The film was about a boy who was friends with a siencetis called Doc and his pet Enstine ( the dog) the siencetis was shot by these strange people . And the boy goes back in time to save his companion on his adventure he found his parents (younger) his mother is beginning to like him a lot and his father needed idvice to make his mother to fall in love with him . His brother and sister started to Diapper from a photo and he was beginning to . I thought this movie was inspiring because his dad finally stranded up to the big boy ( bully ) which shows stand up for your self and don't hide in the shadow I give this movie a thumbs up and 4 stars by Tessa x

Fly Away Home

Lily, 10

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
16 March, 2015

Fly Away Home

This is an amazing film with all kinds of emotion. When you see the baby birds they are so cute and everyone watching the film was going mad at the cuteness and making all kinds of noises. Also, it is so funny how the birds follow Amy around the place. I loved this film; it has excitement, emotions, cuteness, and so much more!
When Amy and her father find a load of abandoned eggs, with Amy wanting to keep them and their instinct to think about, it’s a challenge to come to a final decision, and when they do they have a lot of work to do.
I love it how Amy and her father fly around on the field by their house in Canada.
And also, don’t think that this film has no excitement, because it does!
I recommend Fly Away Home to any age since it is a lovely film for the whole family to watch and I give it a BIG, FAT, MUSCLEY five star that stands out in a crowd!!!!!!!!

The Iron Giant

Katie, 9

4 out of 5
School
Rowdown Primary School
Review Date
16 March, 2015

The Iron Giant

This film tells you that however big and scary you look it's about the heart and friendship. I recommend this film to everyone. It could be a family film, a one person film or something you just watch with your mates. My favourite part was when the iron giant jumped into the freezing cold pond and then he flooded the woods because it was funny. I disliked the bit when the army started shooting the giant.

Chappie

jack, 24

4 out of 5
School
Bishop Luffa CofE School, Chichester
Review Date
14 March, 2015

Chappie

I will admit there have been many times where i have seen the trailer for this movie, and the result of seeing it was... confusing. Want to know why? For all you people who want to know why, this is my review of Chappie.

So what do you get from Chappie? A whole big mess! I know I know what you are thinking: "But Jack you gave it a 4/5, how is it a mess?" Let me explain before you start raging at your screens if you gave it a 5/5. Think of it as a Boxing match. In one corner you have an epic Sci-fi film that works really well and you could have had the film left at that. In the second corner you have a Crime/Action/Drama. Get my point yet? Yes I know most films are Hybrids when it comes to Genres, and don't get me wrong I like most films. So how does this relate? The Genres that are in this film just don't work with the plot. Simple as. To make this mess worse is the fact that Hugh Jackman's characters motives, while easy to understand, are just never touched upon in great enough detail. Believe me I'm not the only one who says the Genres don't make sense take a look at what Mark Kermode says: "the surrounding drama remains too tonally conflicted to engage our sympathies. Star-names Sigourney Weaver and a terrifyingly mulleted Hugh Jackman are somewhat sidelined as Deon’s cynically self-serving business associates." I rest my case. The films Genre issues sabotage any hope of this film being as good as it could have been. Next bad thing was that as a genre The main criminal...leader I guess is far too stereotypical which is just annoying. Yes the performance of the actor was very good but just too overboard.

So what was good about Chappie? Quite a lot. The story was definitely worth the effort of the screen writers. No really give those guys a medal sure there lot's of plot holes but the explosions look like a Michel Bay Film... and for a good reason. The design was brilliant and despite every problem from the genre rant I guess. i cannot say I disliked the film and since I have only ever seen Elysium that this director ad released, it just felt so inferior, especially as that film did have some very dark moments. This film just felt lazy compared to Elysium but was by no stretch a bad movie but had such a lot of potential. The acting was brilliant so i cannot find much fault other than nitpicking really.

I know that this is a very long review but I did feel that I had to make my point but I hope you took the time to hear me out and I am sure many of will agree with me, at least to a certain extent. Thanks everyone take care.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy