Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

The Lion King

Harvey, 16

4 out of 5
School
Norwich City College
Review Date
21 November, 2014

The Lion King

This film was a huge part of my childhood. I'd only seen it on VHS and DVD, so I leaped for joy when I found out I'd be able to see my favorite Disney film on the big screen. This classic film from 1994 was a huge hit when it was released and is still held in high regards 20 years on. The film includes the voices James Earl Jones, Jeremy Irons, Matthew Broderick, Rowan Atkinson and Nathan Lane; just to name a few. Starting with a visually stunning opening paired with the genius score provided by Hans Zimmer and the first of many songs written by Tim Rice and Elton John, the film captures your attention immediately. It's bright colors and friendly but detailed art design get you hooked from the first frames. The story follows Simba (Jonathan Taylor Thomas), son of Mufasa (James Earl Jones), a young Lion cub with a curious and stubborn mind. After his Uncle Scar (Jeremy Irons) causes Mufasa's death, Scar tells Simba that he had caused his own father's death. His mind heavy with guilt Simba runs off into the desert. He is found by Timone and Pumbaa (Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella) who teach Simba to put his past behind him and after the catchiest song in the film "Hakuna Matata", which also acts as a montage, Simba is grown up and now voiced by Matthew Broderick. After the Pridelands become almost uninhabitable. Simba is found by his childhood friend Nala (Moira Kelly) who tries to persuade him to return home and take place as king. He refuses, but after he finds out, with help from Rafiki (Robert Guillaume), he finds his strength and returns home to take on his evil Uncle. Putting aside my nostalgia and the high pedestal this film has been placed on, I still really love this film. It has the best hand-drawn Disney animation ever to grace the big screen, the acting is amazing and the score will take your breath away one minute and punch you in your emotional gut the next. The lessons it teaches children such as you can't stop bad things from happening keep it an essential film for when they're growing up. Even with the sad bits this film still delivers some of the best comedy in an animated film. This film is pure genius, it's been a classic for twenty years and it'll be classic for twenty more. The Lion King is a must watch and is highly recommended.

Final Verdict: 9/10

Philadelphia

Shivani, 16

5 out of 5
School
Soar Valley College
Review Date
20 November, 2014

Philadelphia

Philadelphia is an emotionally moving film that highlighted some very controversial themes throughout the movie. It focuses on a lawyer played by Tom Hanks who is fired from his firm, and he believes that this was because of the fact that he has AIDS and is homosexual. At the time this movie was set people were not very educated on the disease and thought of it to be contagious. However we now know that is untrue and medical knowledge has advanced since then. In the movie there is a scene where Tom Hanks' character is asked to move to an isolated room in a library due to his AIDS, and I think this scene really shows how at that time people with the disease wanted to be kept far away from others, as they were thought of as 'unclean'. Also homosexuality was not really socially accepted during that time period, and Philadelphia shows this well by us seeing Tom Hanks' character, Andrew Beckett fighting for his case and announcing that AIDS and homosexuality wasn't accepted. Overall I really enjoyed the movie and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Tangled

Isabella, 9

2 out of 5
School
Stratton Primary School
Review Date
20 November, 2014

Tangled

i love this film its very creative and happy well until she gets kidnapped. I am glad im not Rapunzel. I mean who would want to live with a which that keeps you a prisoner in a big brick tower. i wouldn't. Anyway it was very sad at the end. I would love to see it again. they all lived happy ever after after all.

Gravity

Harry, 12

3 out of 5
School
Lord Williams Upper School
Review Date
19 November, 2014

Gravity

this is about astronauts that are in space on a mission, I think because everybody was talking.
It's quite a tense and exhilarating story with a good flow but I just don't like it.
With there space suits on (and as they are American actors as well ) it's quite hard to hear what they say when they panic. there is a lot of 'and it went quiet' moments that are a bit weird and unnatural and regular. also there are a lot of metaphors in the story so sometimes you don't really understand what are doing. and my most important reason: there shuttle was destroyed 3 hours roughly until they reached Earth, how on earth can Sandra Bullock retain her bladder? I'm surprised the didn't get the squitts as she entered the atmosphere.

Recommended for those who are brave enough to watch Godzilla. (12+).
Film factors
Action3/5
Tense4/5
Realistic4/5

2001: A Space Odyssey

Finn, 15

5 out of 5
School
King Edward Vi School
Review Date
19 November, 2014

2001: A Space Odyssey

Usually in our Filmclub we have a lengthy discussion after watching a film. After watching 2001 we all got up and left in silence. There were no words.
The soundtrack and special effects were the first of their kind and it set the benchmark for all Sci-Fi films to come. Look anywhere science fiction and you will see references to it, in the week after watching the film I saw 2 myself (in Futurama and Red Dwarf).
But disregard the objective masterpiece of this film, you won't be thinking about that after watching it.

If you want a few hours of not knowing who you are anymore then I whole-heartedly recommend this film.

Mrs Doubtfire

POPPY, 10

5 out of 5
School
Aloeric Gm Primary School
Review Date
18 November, 2014

Mrs Doubtfire

I LOVE THIS FILM I COULD WATCH IT 1000000 TIMES AND STILL BE INTEREGED!!!
How far does a normal father go to spend more time with his beloved children?
Daniel Hillard has 3 lovely children the oldest is a girl and the second oldest is a boy and the youngest is a girl but I shan't reveal their names!!!Can a terrible break-up stop a father from watching his children grow and spout into grown-ups??? Well Daniel Hillard goes through ups and downs for example: Ups: he lets his son have a birthday party and completes the young mans dreams!!! Downs: He has a fight with his love of his life and sadly it ruins his relationship and SUDDENLY is FORBIDDEN to see his children but only on Saturday he has tea with them!!!
Daniel continues seeing his children undercover but how and as who???
Robin Williams completed the film with his amazing sense of humour and shall be hugely missed in the world of films!!!

Mr Bean's Holiday

Kaytlin , 10

5 out of 5
School
Stockwell Primary School
Review Date
18 November, 2014

Mr Bean's Holiday

Mr.Beans Holiday,
Thanks for letting us watch this it was really cool the detail, humour, the way it ended with a cliff hanger basiclley I'm saying that it ended with me wanting to watch even more. So i would like to give this a 5 star.Mr Bean's Holiday is such a funny film! At one point, he gets his tie stuck in a vending machine, later on he dances like a total wally! With songs including: Love Machine and Mr. Bombastic. There are some jokes where you will spill your popcorn and some bits where subtitles come on because people are speaking in different languages. I laughed so hard the first time I saw Mr. Beans Holiday, (I nearly fell into the row in front of me!) In other words...GO GET THIS RIGHT NOW ON DVD!!!! (Here in the UK Mr. Beans Holiday came out in March 2007!

thank very much xx

Hocus Pocus

Bianca, 9

5 out of 5
School
Holy Cross RC Primary School
Review Date
18 November, 2014

Hocus Pocus

hocus pocus was fanamazing meaning fantasic and amazing .Iwached this at home six times and you can take that to the bank. it was incredable . i loved and it was incredably gory and hlerous. if you didnt liKE and love this film you are crazy .and if you havent wached it man your realy missing out.

Freedom Writers

Hugo, 13

4 out of 5
School
Bishop Luffa C of E School
Review Date
18 November, 2014

Freedom Writers

Freedom Writers is an amazing film based on a trues story but it often feels claustrophobic. Much of the action logically is confined to a classroom. But Richard LaGravenese misses opportunities to capture ghetto neighbourhoods by moving the camera quickly indoors.

Erin Gruell is a first time teacher who decided to try and educate a bunch of gang members but her biggest problem is with her husband (Patrick Dempsey) who quickly goes from being supportive of her efforts to jealous of the time she devotes to her students.

Overall, however, "Freedom Writers" is a noble effort. At a time when New Year's resolutions to change already are falling by the wayside, you can't help but be moved by a group of young people who followed through on their resolve. This film deserves a high rating.

The Ant Bully

charisse, 0

5 out of 5
School
St. Josephs Primary School
Review Date
18 November, 2014

The Ant Bully

This movie was very enjoyble sinse we are in anti bulling week it was very realted and had an obious moral lieying behind it. The sadest bit of all was when Lucas (Zack tyler Eisen) was getting bullied by Mullet boy (Creagen Dow ) and that made him feel small so he had to find some one smaller than him and the ant colini was they onlything he could see so he visiosly flooded there home and he chanted " I'm Big And Your small" and really when your bullying they only person that looks bad is you. So next i see an ant i am not going to kill it i'm going to let it go.

Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid

Owen, 12

5 out of 5
School
Lawnswood High School
Review Date
16 November, 2014

Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid

You're ridin' the west, keepin' the baddies behind you and robbin' every bank you come across. You're gesturing 'coolly' with your Smith and Wesson and feelin' that epic feelin' o' knowin' you're the main character in an epic blockbuster western!. HELL YEAH!
'Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid' is a classic western full of shootin' the bad guys, escapin' the bad guys, callin' out epic punchlines to the bad guys. But wait a second aren't Butch Cassidy and Sundance kid outlaws? Ain't they the bad guys? Yeah, but they're really cool bad guys.
I think that the choice of actors is a very good one; Butch Cassidy 'the thinker' is played by Oscar winning Paul Newman, (you can't beat those awesome sea-blue eyes) and Sundance Kid, the marksman, is played by Robert Redford (well he's just plain cool)! The two 'lovable rogues' are very hard to dislike yet they can also be very easy to dislike; considering they're both outlaws, killers and can sometimes be very spiteful; it's a big emotional gunfight within your head!
According to official records Butch and Sundance formed a gang together called 'The Wild Bunch' who were known for their flair and daring not their violence. But with success came sheriffs and their men. Fearing for their lives Butch Sundance and Etta (Sundance's fiancee) ran to Bolivia and with large success robbed banks and trains. Eventually (according to the report by the government) the two of them were trapped in a town and Sundance was shot down and Butch shot himself. But is that necessarily true? There have been many people claiming that they escaped and lived out their lives in peace. One man even claimed he was Butch Cassidy!
This has to be one of my favorite films ever; with its daring, exciting fights and humorous tone. But what I thought was great was the fact that in many westerns the story-line falls into cheesy soppy romance but with this it gave you a grim but funny view on 'the wild west'....with a sad ending that made me don my cowboy hat and vow to hunt down the Sheriffs who did this to the lovable rogues, Butch and Sundance.
100% awesomeness guaranteed!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy