Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Dustbin Baby

Millie, 10

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Primary School, Winterbourne
Review Date
5 July, 2016

Dustbin Baby

I really loved this film. Not only was it one of the best films ever but it was sooooo emotional and I would definitely watch it again and again -which would make my family go mad. I think all the actors and actresses are amazing and I would love to see a DUSTBIN BABY 2 coming out as i think this film is one of my top five!

I'll tell you a little about April. As you may have guessed, April is the main character. She was found in a dustbin as a baby on the day she was born. April goes through thousands of ups and downs and I highly recommend this film to people over 7. I feel really sorry for the teacher/Aprils adopter because she decides to give up her job to help guide a young person (who lost their parents early on in life) through the hard times in life.

I think everyone should watch this outstanding film because it is a great story for people who do also have hard times through life as it will make you realise, as it did to me, that you're not the only one going through that.

I have given this film five stars because not only are all the actors sooooo good but they actually make it look like they are really the characters. I know that you have to do lots of research about the character to make it look real but you also have to give them some of your own characteristics to make it easier to tackle. I want to say thank you and well done to Juliet May for directing this amazing film and I think this film and all the actors and people who made the props,costumes and helped out on set should be so proud of them selves.

Once again, I think this film is sooooooooooooooooo amazing and once you have read this you NEED to BUY this film and WATCH it with all your friends and family.

Go on, year 4 and 5 loved it to bit to the point where we NEARLY ALL CRIED in joy at the end. does that tempt you? Not even a bit?

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO AND BUY THIS FILM RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!



please!

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°), 14

5 out of 5
School
Witchford Village College
Review Date
10 July, 2016

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Star Wars has just become even better! This fantastic film really did fit into the Star Wars franchise and got it self a solid 5 star rating! Despite the fact that George Lucas (who directed the other Star Wars films) did not direct this film, it was still an amazing movie which reminded me of how great the original Star Wars films were. J.J. Abrams really worked hard to make this film just like the original Star Wars films. In my opinion, the Star Wars Prequels (Episode I, II and III) were terrible compared to this great movie but I still can't say this was better than the Original Star Wars films (Episode IV, V, VI).

I think the characters were really good in this film and I think that the new characters for this trilogy will do well. I loved the fact that the characters from the original Star Wars films were in this movie as well such as Han Solo (Harrison Ford). Han Solo was still one of my favourite characters because despite how old he has got since he was in Star Wars episode VI, he has not forgotten how to be Han Solo and he was still as fantastic as he always has been. One of the new characters in this film was Finn, I really liked Finn because despite he was just a stormtrooper, he really had a great impact on the film.

I think the films plot was extremely similar to the plot from the first ever Star Wars film: Star Wars Episode IV; A New Hope. It was almost identical actually but that was not a problem because it reminded adults of their childhood and people my age of how great the Star Wars franchise is. The effects have really evolved other the years, this film did not go crazy with the CGI and the effects were really good in general and looked almost real. Another thing which Star Wars have never failed to deliver is a awesome sound track. The sound track was by John Williams who has always made the Star Wars music and the music would definitely not be the same without him.

The film had some dramatic moments and some epic battles but since this is a spoiler-free review, I wont speak about what happens to much. I loved the fact that the droid unit, BB-8 had to deliver secret data (a piece of a map to Luke Skywalker) to the resistance so they could find Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) who has mysteriously gone missing. Again, this is like the first Star Wars movie because in the first movie, R2D2 was also carrying important information. I also loved it where Rey (Daisy Ridley) called the Millennium falcon "Garbage" because it was ALSO referencing back to the first movie where Luke called the Millennium falcon "A piece of junk".

I give this film 5 stars because it was absolutely brilliant and it was just like the original Star Wars films and the characters were awesome, the plot was good, the effects and music were amazing and so much more of this film was outstanding. I recommend this film to adults because it will without a doubt, bring back their childhood and I also recommend this film to teenagers because it will either show them how great Star Wars is or it will show them that Star Wars can still be amazing. This is definitely a film I would watch again and again...

Dazed And Confused

Andrew, 13

5 out of 5
School
Campbell College
Review Date
8 July, 2016

Dazed And Confused

Richard Linklater's famous drama depicts the last day of school in 1976 following the jocks, geeks, stoners and the freshmen showing us how they spend their last day.

Each group of people are followed and are shown to us what they do on the day but most interestingly they overlap and interconnect with another group's story and day. What is great about this film is that any time you watch this movie either a year later or two years after you first viewed the film it feels like you are talking to your friends and are celebrating with characters.

The film was made in 1993 but it succeeds in showing the 1970s through the camera angles, characters, dialogue, fashion but most of all through the music. The soundtrack is a collection of 1970s rock and pop songs which really pull you into the time period.

Overall the movie is a great, fun and hilarious film that needs to be watched at any time.

Snoopy and Charlie Brown: The Peanuts Movie

Alannah, 10

4 out of 5
School
Meadows Primary School & Nursery
Review Date
8 July, 2016

Snoopy and Charlie Brown: The Peanuts Movie

GOOD GRIEF!!! What a great movie;filled with great entertainment and hilarious jokes, it's almost guaranteed you'll laugh your socks off! This heart-warming family film is the perfect watch for any occasion. Personally,the Red Baron side of the film ruined it but it was a creative idea all the same.
When the little redheaded Girl moves in opposite Charlie Brown, he just can't help hoping she'd notice he was even there. Little does he know, she's been watching his little acts of kindness and honesty the whole time.
I liked the animation and the humour of the movie. I also liked the range of soundtracks that complemented the animation, mood and characters. I loved it when Lucy calls Charlie a block-head. I also liked it when peppermint patty calls him chuck.
I would recommend this film to anyone of any age. I would say this is a family- friendly, school- friendly or on your own- friendly film. This is a great film and I give it a fabulous four- star rating!!!

Matilda

Thijs , 10

5 out of 5
School
St Michael's CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School
Review Date
7 July, 2016

Matilda

This is a story about a very smart girl who loved to read. But there was a problem that: Matilda’s family (because they didn’t like reading and wanted to watch TV instead) didn’t have very many books in the house. This is how it goes.
Matilda started reading at the age of roughly 2. She then finished reading all the books in the house by the age of 5. Realizing there were no books in her house she found the library on a map and set out on an adventure to find more books to read. This would be irritating though so, she kept asking her dad if she could go to school. Eventually her dad got a deal for her to go to school with a lovely teacher but a terrible Headmistress who was very strict and unfriendly. But Matilda managed to scare the Headmistress (Mrs. Trunchball) off with her magical powers to move things with her eyes.
The viewer is left with one final surprise…

Alice In Wonderland

Fletcher, 9

4 out of 5
School
Fairview Community Primary School
Review Date
7 July, 2016

Alice In Wonderland

This film is one that I find is mad.
Absolutely mad!
with 5 idiots,
4 amazing cast,
3 magic potions,
2 crazy brothers
and a Alice in wonderland

ITS CRAZY

Antz

Saba, 10

5 out of 5
School
Leopold Primary
Review Date
7 July, 2016

Antz

most films you watch is about people but this one was about ants . we are all equal and we all have rights and we should be brave enough to say no .right is right even if no one is doing it wrong is wrong even if everyone is doing it this ant Z was brave enough to say no and stand up for himself and with courage he went to insectobia

The Last Unicorn

Brandon, -1

5 out of 5
School
Collaton St Mary CofE Primary School
Review Date
6 July, 2016

The Last Unicorn

This review is not for the film in fact its for film club.Today was my last ever film club and i just wanted to rate film club.I'v loved being in this club since the start when i watched spirited away right up to the best ending of film club my neighbor Totoro. I wish i could stay in film club for ever but it must come to an end:(. i would just like to thank miss gempson and miss Stevenson for my experience there. i'm so sad to leave but thank you so much for giving up your time to do this i'm going to miss this lots. many thanks (for this time here) Brandon .:):):):):)

Independence Day: Resurgence

Zak, 14

3 out of 5
School
Into Film
Review Date
6 July, 2016

Independence Day: Resurgence

Roland Emmerich and Jeff Goldblum bring us yet another pointless sequel, but in reality, this was incredibly enjoyable and fast paced so it wasn't as bad as i first feared really. From the classic hit 'Independence Day', excluding Will Smith and replacing him with Liam Hemsworth brings us 'Independence Day: Resurgence'.

For starters, this definitely isn't a terrible film, It has its flaws, but it isn't as bad as people say. Being a huge fan of the first, and with Bill Pullman's spine-tingling speech in the ending which was used in the trailer, I was tempted but I hoped for nothing from this. I always knew they were going to do this movie and that it wouldn't have had a welcoming reception from critics and people alike, but to say the least i really enjoyed it.

The first and second act are quite boring, as they spend pretty much an hour getting to the main event of the story. But it definitely kept me awake though, there wasn't a dull moment to be seen really apart from the boring backstory which we already knew. The acting in this film is very lazy, especially from Hemsworth and King, but from the old side, there weren't many flaws at all. Goldblum and Pullman reprise their roles respectively as David Levinson and Thomas Whitmore and nail it.

The action wasn't fluent, and some scenes felt very rushed. The CGI was great though, the Alien Queen was awesome and was crafted into the story well. Think of the film as an hour of plot, and then an hour of Alien killing and mass destruction. Ultimately that is all it is! Camera shots used noticably in many of Emmerich's movies were extreme wide shots which didn't really work, but for scenes in landscape they were executed perfectly.

Overall, it isn't a great movie but it certainly isn't horrendus. The soundtrack was cool, most of the acting was great and also seeing Levinson back on the screen after almost 20 years was so cool. If i were you, and you weren't expecting much from this and you contemplate seeing it, stick to your guns and see something else. There was a lot of fan service in this movie for people who had seen the original which i thought was a nice nod too.

I would give Independence Day: Resurgence a 7\10. Enjoyable and very fun, but made no sense and some acting wasn't to standard.

Captain America: Civil War

Nathan, 14

5 out of 5
School
James Gillespie's Primary School
Review Date
2 July, 2016

Captain America: Civil War

I feel as if the Captain America films are steadily building steam. The first in the trilogy, the First Avenger, was good. The Winter Soldier was decidedly excellent. And now Civil War has topped them all. Hats off to the Russo brothers, who managed to deliver something quite special.
It would've been too easy for Civil War to be a crowded mess, featuring no less than a dozen superheroes, introducing newcomers such as Black Panther and the new Spiderman, and including characters from the Avengers and other Marvel franchises such as Scarlet Witch, Ant-Man, Black Widow and Vision. However, it feels as if we spend just the right amount of time which each of the supporting heroes, who are all instantly recognizable with trademark traits and costumes.
The action scenes are a joy to watch, pitting superhero against superhero. With seamless choreography and CGI, it is wholesomely fun to watch how the different characters with their different powers and abilities fight against each other. There is also a significant comedic element in the action as well as the entire film, witty quips delivered at precisely the right moment.
But as well as being funny and entertaining there is a serious note to Civil War. It shows how friends can become enemies, how people turn on each other. Also, it explores the morality and accountability of our heroes for the destruction they cause in their city-destroying battles with the bad guys to save the planet. The script has a strong structure and good pacing, witty dialogue and characters who are believable despite being able to fly or lift cars.
I would heartily recommend that you see this film, which is arguably Marvel's finest and definitely one of the best superhero movies of all times.

Kes

James, 12

4 out of 5
School
The Oaks Secondary School
Review Date
1 July, 2016

Kes

A sad film about a boy named Billy, who has a very sad poor home life. I found this film depressing, but still watchable.
The film told the story of how a young boy with not much future and no friends. But he decides he wants a Kestrel to train.
The story really makes you think about what we have and what is needed in life. This film haws a sad ending so be prepared.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy