Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

The Bourne Identity

Alex, 1

5 out of 5
School
The Glebe Primary School
Review Date
18 September, 2016

The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity is directed by Doug Liman and stars Matt Damon, Franka Potente,
Chris Cooper and others, and is the tale of a man who is found washed up in the sea,
with severe amnesia and two gunshot wounds in his back. After being taken to shore,
he goes on an adventure to discover his identity and try to find the people responsible.
But being hunted by a corporation led by Chris Cooper is making it a lot harder for him.


Now when Jason Bourne came out in the summer, I really wanted to go and see it,
but because watching the previous films would definitely be beneficial, I decided not
to go see it immediately.
I still haven't seen Jason Bourne (though I'll probably try and get that for Xmas (yep,
starting on that ALREADY)), nor have I seen The Bourne Supremacy or The Bourne
Ultimatum, but we are focusing on Identity, what are my thoughts on Identity?


Well, the first thing you need to know is that, compared to Supreamcy and Ultimatum
which are straight-up action movies, apparently, I consider The Bourne Identity
to be more of a drama, with some elements of an action thriller incorporated into it.
And if you go into this movie expecting a drama, I think you're gonna love it.
Because I kind of did, in fact after I saw it I wanted to pop in Supremacy instantaneously.


The best thing about The Bourne Identity, by far, is the stakes and the realism.
You feel as if you are on this dangerous journey with Jason Bourne, you feel
as if this government group is chasing you, you feel endangered, you care
so much about the characters.
And this movie is so much more realistic than Bond. With Bond, there is always
a degree of cheese and camp in there, even with Casino Royale, and The
Bourne Identity possesses none of that, this is almost a straight-up humourless
thriller. But the fact that it doesn't have that much humour doesn't really bother you.


The action sequences in this movie are more limited, but when they're taking place,
they are awesome.
My favourite one is this fight scene in Bourne's apartment.
It is so white-knuckled, every time one of the characters hits a wall or something,
the BOOF sound is amplified, this just makes the stakes even higher, and the way
the action sequences are filmed incorporates some shots where the director,
Doug Liman, is shaking the camera, and this just creates such a great unpredictable
flair to the action.


And I can't talk enough about Matt Damon, this guy NAILS IT as this broken assassin
trying to piece together his life.
Matt Damon does a lot of his own stunts as well, he's a great stunt actor, and that's
what makes the action scenes all the more compelling.


I do have a couple of personal nitpicks with this movie, though, it is not a absolutely
perfect.
The introduction to the supporting woman, played excellently by Franka Potente,
doesn't really give you the proper impression that she is going to be a prominent
character. It feels more like a tacked-on addition to the scene where introduced
where she's introduced.
And lastly, in the second act, there's a lull there. It's not massive, but it's just like
OK, I know where this is going, can you please just do it?

But overall, I had a blast with The Bourne Identity. It's a really investing film
with a fantastic lead performance by Matt Damon, some great action scenes,
and I cannot wait to see Supremacy and Ultimatum.

I'm gonna give The Bourne Identity an A.

Guys, what are your thoughts on The Bourne Identity? Thanks very much for reading.
I'm gonna have a review of Noah coming your way very soon, and as always, enjoy the
movies!

Spider-Man

Olaf, 13

4 out of 5
School
Saint Augustine's Catholic High School
Review Date
18 September, 2016

Spider-Man

This movie is one of the first ever made Spider-Man movie with good camera quality , movie that looks realistic and the movie with good speaking that everyone can hear and understand. This movie has two more sequels in it, but it's better to watch the first part (Which is the one I'm talking about) to get all the facts, than just watching the second sequel, and not knowing what are they talking about. It's a great movie for the people who like Marvel movies. This movie might be a little bit scary, because of how the bad guy in the movie looks like, and how he speaks.

The 33

Grant, 12

4 out of 5
School
Cardinal Newman High School
Review Date
18 September, 2016

The 33

I personally am willing to say that I have mixed feelings on The 33. However as you may see I liked the movie and would definitely watch it again but as I said it's not perfect and I am going to try and give some fair constructive criticism.

I feel like the first half an hour of this movie is pretty bad and it is a shame because it detracts from how good the rest is. First off I don't think that the opening makes much sense as it was over in about 3 minutes. I think that the whole first 30 minutes of the movie were completely rushed and they didn't give any characters or the story a chance to flesh out. Plus adding to this matter the mines collapse was also poorly done, they should have had more time in the mine before it collapses instead of fitting it in to the first 10 minutes.

Now besides poor character development in the first half of the movie the second half really picks things up with the growing problems and protesting as well as the miners realising that they have to work together to survive. in the second half we get to know the characters more and even there families. It has great development and the story is well written. As you get deeper in the film it seems so much more real with the miners struggle with sanity.

After watching this film I went home and watched the real footage of the 2010 mine accident and you realise how well they brought it to film. The acting from the lesser known cast is also outstanding but as well as that this movie also brings a great twist to the disaster genre with how it focuses more on the positivity of the story than sad side of the story.
With a first while that leaves more to be wanted but a truly great second have I give The 33 4/5
By Grant

Arrietty

Harry, 10

5 out of 5
School
Bowhill Primary School
Review Date
16 September, 2016

Arrietty

WOW! I never knew that anime was so glorious, arty, and outstanding! I rate this film 5 stars because some bits were creepy and some bits were happy. time to make up a new film club word filmclubalorias that's what I say to this film.

the best bit was with the borrowers and the terrible bit was when it ended with a cliff hanger. hopefully some day they will make a arrietty 2.

my favourite character's are arrietty because she is sassy and there parents.

Johnny English Reborn

Luis, 12

3 out of 5
School
Hartismere High School
Review Date
14 September, 2016

Johnny English Reborn

This film was well made and interesting, at parts it felt like it was missing plot. but its great for all age groups and has some bits that smaller children would like, and references that old people would find amusing.

This film can be good at the start but the loses plot, and it feels like one of those generic movies that has no plot rather than the simple "AHHH BAD GUY WE MUST STOP HIM" Other than that its a funny film at sometimes and gives you tense moments but the simple plot lets you down.

500 Days of Summer

Liam, 17

1 out of 5
School
South Eastern Regional College
Review Date
11 September, 2016

500 Days of Summer

To describe this film, I was going to use the comparison of it's value to that of human excrement. However now that I think back over this similitude, I think it is an offence to human excrement as even that would have more personality and charisma than this "film".
Overall we watch from the perspective of Tom (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) as he fulfils the stereotypical "hopeless romantic" role and secures a relationship with the cold and vexatious Summer (Zooey Deschanel), who strings him along only to cut him off when she enters boredom of his affectionate personality.
Additionally and unsurprisingly, Zooey Deschanel's portrayal of Summer is both irritating and painful to watch, making her character all the more easy to despise. In a strange form, this makes her depiction the most accurate of all the characters. Frankly if I could give this movie no stars, I would.

Eddie the Eagle

Maisie, 12

5 out of 5
School
Hartismere High School
Review Date
8 September, 2016

Eddie the Eagle

Eddie the eagle is a funny, educational and heartwarming family film. It's based on the true story of the determined boy Michael Edwards (Eddie the eagle) as he strives to for fill his dream of becoming a Olympic ski jumper. It follows him though the obstacles he has to overcome and the battle he faces with the Olympic committee. The end follows as he competes in the Olympics and the spectators take him into thier heart even though he comes last. I recommend this film as it teaches people to never give up.

Inside Out

Finlay, 9

5 out of 5
School
St Ninian's School
Review Date
8 September, 2016

Inside Out

I thought inside -out was helpful because it made me think about my brain if there was little people inside my head like Joy Anger Disgust Sadness and Fear this movie is so funny and exiting and the movie is about a girl called riley and also that she learns her emotions and I liked it because it taut me about my emotions and if inside-out was an ice-cream flavour its flavour would be vanilla because riley is no different to anyone else enjoy the movie




Finlay

Big Hero 6

Rhys, 13

4 out of 5
School
Glenwood High School
Review Date
7 September, 2016

Big Hero 6

Big Hero 6


The first film we watched as part of our Film Club was Big Hero 6. I quite enjoyed this film even though I was unsure when the film was first chosen. My favourite part of Big Hero 6 is when they are all testing out there super suits on Heathcliff the butler.

I liked how there was a diverse group of students who all work together to take down Yokai. However my favourite character was Honey Lemon (Génesis Rodríguez), I think this is because we both have very similar personalities. My least favourite character was Wasabi (Damon Wayans Jr.) as I don’t think he had as much character development and was slightly ‘boring.’

The first scene of the film was also one of my favourites, in which we see Hiro bot-fighting Yama, until his brother Tadashi saves him. Hiro is taking home to his Aunt’s Café. Here we meet my second favourite character Aunt Cass. The reason she is one of my favourites is she cares for her nephews even when she knows nothing about parenting and is always busy in the café.

All in all I think Big Hero 6 is an enjoyable film which I would recommend.

Howl's Moving Castle

Arthur, 11

4 out of 5
School
Boutcher CofE Primary School
Review Date
4 September, 2016

Howl's Moving Castle

I like myself some Studio Ghibli, and this (in my opinion) is one of there best. Based on the great Dianne Wynne-Jones books, which were enjoyable to read, Howl's Moving Castle follows Sophie, a young girl, turned old. I won't give away the story because I think it's more enjoyable when you are in the unknown but I will tell you what it's not. It's not too long or too short. It's not too boring because the animation always keeps you in. This movie is not perfect but you only begin to see the flaws on the third or fourth viewing. An almost perfect experience.

Alice Through the Looking Glass

Seren, 4

3 out of 5
School
Blue Bell Hill Primary And Nursery School
Review Date
30 August, 2016

Alice Through the Looking Glass

This film is about a naughty queen who tells people what to do. My favourite character is Alice because she is very brave. My favourite line in the film is 'she ate my snoozle!', because it's hilarious! I gave this film three stars because it is a little bit scary, especially the part when everyone turns into statues.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy