Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Blackfish

Christy, 13

5 out of 5
School
John Paul Academy
Review Date
17 February, 2015

Blackfish

Blackfish is a stunning documentary about killer whales being kept in captivity. Although we see the story's of lots of different whales there is one we follow in particular, which is Tilikums story. Tilikum is a huge killer whale who was and still is living in Sea World Orlando. He is one of the biggest whales to be kept in captivity. But his story starts at SeaLand Pacific, where he killed one of the workers by pulling her under the water when her foot slipped into the pool. After this he was moved to Sea World Orlando for breeding purposes but soon became part of the show. There he has killed yet another two people, one of which being the tragic death of beloved Sea World trainer Dawn Brancue. The documentary arises the question on who is blame for deaths and injuries of trainers. In my opinion, it's the company we should blame. Putting whales in tiny spaces and mixing them with whales from other pods isn't right. The deaths and injuries are caused by the whales being aggravated and annoyed, as I would be if I was put in a tank.

This film is amazing, and it makes you think about whether this is right or not, and just wanting more information. It's gripping right from the start and you just can't stop watching it, I have watched it 3 times already!

The Snowman and the Snowdog

Isabel, 8

5 out of 5
School
Dodford First School
Review Date
2 March, 2015

The Snowman and the Snowdog

***Paper review***

I think the snow man and the snow dos is a great film because it has happy bits and sad bits and because the muisik was very good because it shows you how they feel even though caricters dont speak. I allso liked the pitchures of the caricters.

Batman - The Movie

Christopher, 14

5 out of 5
School
Ballyclare High School
Review Date
22 February, 2015

Batman - The Movie

Fresh off of the small screen and straight onto the silver screen it's Batman-The Movie. First let me get something straight... If you're looking for a dark brooding Batman trying to get over the sadness of his parents deaths then you won't find it here. If however you are looking for a stupid, idiotic, camp movie that was made with the express purpose to entertain you then this is a glorious treasure trove of camp. And if you are looking for a dark, brooding Batman in this movie then you should realise you won't find it by the time he uses the Bat-Shark Repellent to get rid of a Shark that makes Jar Jar Binks look realistic.
Like my Back to the Future review I am going to split this review up into 4 sections. Plot, Special Effects, Music and Acting.

Plot: The main gist of the story is that all of Batman's main enemies from the show (The Joker, The Riddler, The Penguin and Catwoman) have teamed up to carry out the ultimate evil plan to use a device to dehydrate all the members of the United Nations who are conveniently in a small room arguing so the don't notice a gang of criminals, a clown, a small flightless bird, a cat and The Riddler (who I can't think of a joke for) wheeling a giant machine and dehydrating them into powder. They plan on holding the member of the United Nations for ransom. A fairly over complicated plot for what boils down to a simple kidnapping. Unlike many other movies the villains actually succeed in their plans!!! You need to see the movie to get the full effect of just how great the camp is. Despite this the movie has way to many plot twists that only the audience know about but honestly in this movie it doesn't matter.
The movie is so wacky that you stop watching to see what "amazing" thing happens next but instead start watching to see what crazy thing the writers thought of next. They pull out all the stops on one particular scene when it comes to campiness and that's this one.(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIPZROBiNik) As that's really all you need to know about the plot without me stepping into spoiler territory.

Special Effects: This movie has some of the best-worst special effects ever seen and it works way too well. From the stupid foam Shark from the earlier mentioned scene, to the comic book onomatopoeia every time someone is punched in the fight scenes. To get the amazing silliness of the special effects all you need to do is see the film of alternatively look at this screenshot.
( http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--Q6tfvvXW--/18b0m56evwhaejpg.jpg) The only actually good effect is the Batcopter which was actually a real helicopter. That all I have to say on the effects so let's move onto...

Music: There really isn't much to say about the music as it is either the original theme song (the one that goes Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Na, Batman) or random musical flourishes.
That literally it and that's also all it needs.

Acting: The acting in this movie is just fantastically camp. From the incredibly great serious reads of stupid lines from Adam West to the insane cackling of the villains to be parodied for years to come it oozes hilarity. My personal favourite actor in this movie is Adam West as he honestly feels like a billionaire when is playing Bruce Wayne and a wacky crime fighter as Batman.

Conclusion: In conclusion this movie feels less like a Superhero movie more like a parody of Superhero movies. I honestly can't recommend this movie enough for people looking for some stupid campy fun. So jump in your Batmobile grab this movie and pick up some Bat-Shark Repellent while you're at it. You'll need it.

 The Lorax

Joshua, 5

5 out of 5
School
Grazeley School
Review Date
22 February, 2015

The Lorax

I liked this film because it was so funny. My favourite character was the Lorax because he was really funny and the scary green guy. I liked the bit when her first arrived and couldn't reach the door knob and when he said, "I am going to eat this white, squishy thing, but it doesn't mean I like it!" I would tell my friends to watch this film because it is so fun.

Kingsman : The Secret Service

James, 15

5 out of 5
School
Ballyclare High School
Review Date
21 February, 2015

Kingsman : The Secret Service

2015 could be the year of the spy. Later this year, we have Mission Impossible 5, The Man from U.N.C.L.E as well as the return of Bond in SPECTRE. First to the gates however is Matthew Vaughn's loving homage to Mr Bond, Kingsman: The Secret Service. The rest of the films this year have a lot to live up to, because this was amazing. Kingsman is the most fun I've had in the cinema for a long time. This film is just a plethora of positives, the acting was brilliant, the action insane and the soundtrack amazing. Colin Firth plays Harry Hart, an agent for the top-secret private intelligence agency Kingsman. If there's a stereotype of Colin Firth roles in your head, get rid of them immediately, as this is unlike anything I've ever seen him do before. At times, it would've been nice to see a bit of humour coming from him, but I didn't really mind it. Apparently, Firth did 80% of his stunts himself. The action in general in this film is the best I've seen for a long time. Extremely well choreographed and filmed fluidly, it's hard not to be impressed. I've heard many people criticising the violence of this film, but I didn't see the problem. It was highly stylised, not highly graphic. Taron Egerton plays Eggsy, Hart's apprentice to be the next Kingsman agent. Egerton is the real star of the film. He had the right amount of wit, acting chops and ability for action to be perfect for the role. Samuel L Jackson plays the villain of the piece, Richmond Valentine, an internet billionaire who has seedy intentions. Jackson was brilliant, but I thought they could've done a bit more to make him seem more menacing. The supporting cast are all excellent, especially Mark Strong.

Like the classic Bond films Kingsman is inspired by, each scene is over the top and, quite frankly, brilliant. The plot twists and turns with abundant pace, the characters face off with amazingly witty dialogue and the action explodes onto the screen, Kingsman has set the bar high for the rest of the year.

Mulan

Bethany, 17

4 out of 5
School
City College Norwich
Review Date
21 February, 2015

Mulan

The film based on the Chinese legend... Mulan.


The Story

The story is about a young girl who joins the army because her father is too weak to fight in the war against the Mongolians. Even though it is forbidden for women to fight.

The film nowadays is advertised as a Disney Princess film. But it is not. Mulan is an only daughter of a warrior family. There are no princes in this film, either.

The story shows us that women in ancient China were not given the same rights as men, without shoving it down our throats. It also talks about the ancient customs of China that are still practiced today.


The Characters

The characters are a mixed bag. While Mulan and Shang are done well. The comedy reliefs can get annoying at times. Especially the dragon voiced by Eddie Murphy.

Mulan is portrayed as an independent women. A slight spoiler here, but, she does NOT find love in this film. No epic first kiss or anything. She goes against the laws of China to show that she is a independent person with her own rights and beliefs.

In fact, the 'independent woman' aspect of this film is done better here than in Frozen.


The Animation/Special Effects

The animation is very well done in this film. The art is done like a chinese painting which is done very well in this film.


Final Thoughts

Overall, this is a great family film that is great for almost all the family. I say almost because this film is surprisingly dark. So parents may want to keep in mind that there is a scene with a brief sight of blood in this film. But unlike the film Tangled that got a PG rating because of the brief sight of blood, this film kept it's U rating. (I don't get the BBFC ratings sometimes). So it may be best that a parent watches this film before a very young child watches this film.

The Story 4/5
The Characters 3/5
The Animation/ Special Effects 5/5

Overall 4/5

Muppets Most Wanted

finn, 8

5 out of 5
School
Whitefriars Junior School
Review Date
20 February, 2015

Muppets Most Wanted

this is the best film ever because of the explosions. it's like a micheal bay movie.
I recommend that you watch this it will make you lol
THE EXPLOSIONS ARE COMING FOR YOU


BANG! BANG! BANG!



5+ for the people that want to see a fun movie BANG! BANG! BANG!

Miss Todd

Kaitlin, 10

5 out of 5
School
Duffield The Meadows Primary School
Review Date
19 February, 2015

Miss Todd

I loved this film! I think it was stop motion animation, because you could kind of see the paper images, anyhow I loved the technique and style. It was about a lady called Miss Todd. She dreamed of being a pilot, and making planes.They wouldn't let women into flight school, let alone actually fly the planes! I think everybody should've been allowed to have a go, however, that was not the case. Will Miss Todd follow and succeed in her dream? More importantly, will she fly?
This was a heartwarming tale of persistence. Miss Todd would have done anything to fly that plane. So she did something about it...

Babe

Jessica, 10

1 out of 5
School
Barming Primary School
Review Date
17 February, 2015

Babe

This film was OK but the thing is it was too sad for me. What I mean by this is that right at the beginning a young pigs mummy was taken away to be slaughted and most animals died in this film. Over all the film was good but a bit boring and upsetting. Also the film has stopped me eating bacon for a while and I hate slaughter houses for the poor innocent animals. My favourite characters were the young border collies as they reminded me of a dog we used to have. My favourite part was when the farmer was dancing in his home with joy. I hope you enjoy the film Babe and find out what happens at the end of the film by what the farmer danced around for...

By Jessica xx

Dirty Pretty Things

Dan, 16

4 out of 5
School
Coleg Gwent
Review Date
16 February, 2015

Dirty Pretty Things

Dirty pretty things was at times extremely uncomfortable to watch, however it was certainly worth watching. The two main protagonists are extremely well characterised and the story stays unique enough to be entertaining throughout. Whilst I wouldn't say it worked against the film, the scenes of sexual violence throughout film do become very hard to watch, however they don't seem to be forced or just included for the sake of it, I see them as important to showing the hostility and evil of the world around them. There are also quite graphic scenes of surgery throughout. The film climaxed, settled down and climaxed again in all the right places. The characters that you are supposed to like you really empathise with, and the characters you're supposed to hate you despise. Fortunately the film ends nicely with the antagonists being somewhat punished accordingly and the story ending on a somewhat high note. All in all, an entertaining if somewhat uncomfortable film.

The Invisible Man

Clara, 10

5 out of 5
School
Ley Hill School
Review Date
14 February, 2015

The Invisible Man

This is an interesting film made in the 1930's. A secretive man arrives at an inn with a very secret project, he keeps him self to himself but when he is threatend by the locals he is prepared to let out the biggest secret you will ever know! This film is filled with unexpected twists that keep you on the edge of your seat! I really applaud the special affects in this film considering the period of time in which it was created because there are so many things that are made to look very realistic!

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy