Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

Citizen Kane

Dan, 16

4 out of 5
School
Gwent College
Review Date
11 September, 2014

Citizen Kane

Citizen Kane. A film that some call the greatest piece of cinema ever put to a projector and canvas and has a general consensus of being the film that pushed many new techniques in the industry that are still seen today. While I personally wouldn't go as far as the greatest film of all time, I can’t deny the stunning cinematography and atmosphere director Orson Welles creates. The film is centred around wealthy newspaper owner and politician Charles Kane (played by Orson Welles) and his dying words of “rosebud”. A reporter is tasked with finding out the meaning to the multi millionaires ominous last word and so visits his former work colleagues, friends and lovers to get the answer. Each character the reporter interviews tells the slow deprivation of Kane’s mind as he grows older and more troubled psychologically, culminating in a complete breakdown of his psyche. The ending of the film and the final meaning to the last word is very clever and rather thought provoking when cosidering the triviality of what all of the reporters work turns out to be for.

As I mentioned before the cinematography in this film is something to behold, every shot is framed perfectly and Welles’ use of mirrors and distorted lenses make every scene gorgeous to look at. The sets are also wonderful to see, particularly Kane’s mansion ‘Xanadu’ and its interiors. The characters that the reporter interviews, while each with an interesting story to tell, can become a little tiresome but it’s not enough to make you want to stop watching. Charles Kane is portrayed astoundingly by Orson Welles who perfectly captures both the arrogant, young, buisnessman Kane and the older, more troubled and decrepid Kane. You can really sense his bitterness and anger at the people around him but you can also sympathise with him. This is a man who was taken away as a child from his parents so that he could have a better life, however thinking it would be ‘fun’ to write a newspaper his hobby turns into a passion when he decides the paper must speak what other newspapers darent not to and gives it his full attention over relationships, friends and even sleeping and eating. In a way he’s kind of similar to a less horrible Scrooge if the three ghosts hadn’t visited him on Christmas eve and he was left for his bitterness and determination to succeed to slowly eat him away over time.

All in all the film is the character study of a man who simply allowed money and wealth to consume him and his motivations. In that sense it sounds rather cliché but just trust me when I tell you it really isn’t. It’s a fascinating piece of cinema that has certainly earned the right to stand the test of time that it has and is definetly deserving of the title of one of the best films of all time.

Planes

Maikls, 5

5 out of 5
School
Graiseley Primary School
Review Date
12 September, 2014

Planes

Its all about a plane his name is dusty the film was amazing it was fun he was a crub duster he wanted to race but if he did he would brake down then he joint a race he practist and he got good the race had begain his friends whached him on tv they said he was very good he got cold in the race he was afraid from hights he loved the race he was amazing I loved it people took fowtos of dusty...

Gravity

James, 14

5 out of 5
School
St. Georges Academy
Review Date
12 September, 2014

Gravity

Gravity isn't what I expected, which was just explosions and deaths in space and endless action scenes. Gravity is more like the original Alien, where a lot of the time it's just the main protagonist on their own, in the empty freezer of space, with a never ending feeling of danger and suspense.

In Gravity, Dr Ryan Stone (Sandra Bullock) is going on her first shuttle mission along with Matt Kowalski, a veteran astronaut to service the Hubble Space Telescope. But a Russian missile strikes a nearby broken satellite soon after they get to the telescope. The chain reaction ends up destroying the station that Stone and Kowalski are on. They are suddenly catapulted into space, with no way to get back to earth safely.

What follows is an intense, scary and overall brilliant film. The animation is superb, the acting is sublime and you really connect with the characters. Definitely one on my top 10 films of the century so far.

James and the Giant Peach

Evan, 7

4 out of 5
School
St. Annes & St. Josephs RC Primary School
Review Date
11 September, 2014

James and the Giant Peach

I enjoyed this film becasue it was amusing and exciting. When James climbed through the peach he turned into a cartoon character and met lots of funny charaters. I loved it when he landed on the Empire state building and he was no longer animated. I would recmcommend this film to be watched with all the family. I think the moral of the story is to stay away from mean people.

A Cat in Paris

Freyja, 9

5 out of 5
School
Giffnock Primary School
Review Date
11 September, 2014

A Cat in Paris

This funny yet dramatic hand-drawn film is wonderful! It's everything that i love about movies cramed into one short but amazing film! The main plot is about a little girl who follows her pet cat at night, but get's into alot more than she asked for!... i love cat's as well, so i thought that i was sure to love this....and i was right. This is surely on my list of favouite movies!

Belleville Rendez-Vous

Kara, 12

2 out of 5
School
Kings Priory School
Review Date
10 September, 2014

Belleville Rendez-Vous

I think that Belleville rendezvous was a very creative film and that it is very clever. I think that the way the people who created the film were clever in the way that they managed to match the music with what was happening in every single bit of the film. I also think that the plot was very original as were the characters. However I didn't really think that the film was realistic which I didn't really like and as I got further into the film I started to get abit bored and lost all interest. Aswell as that because I'm not used to silent films I didn't really understand that much. I gave this film a two because I didn't really enjoy it.

The Lion King

Ellie, 12

5 out of 5
School
John Paul Academy
Review Date
10 September, 2014

The Lion King

I absoloutley loved the lion king especially with its history it was inspired by Shakespeares play hamlet and also from the bible the story of moses I like films like this I think the genre of this film is family or childrens it is a very good film you just cant tear yourself away from it and in the time of the making of this film it was unknown to employ already famous people to perform but disney did do this with this film I love how disney took a playwright and bible story and turned it into such an amazing adventurous family film definetly 5 stars I just really enjoyed it .

Belleville Rendez-Vous

Abby, 0

4 out of 5
School
Kings Priory School
Review Date
10 September, 2014

Belleville Rendez-Vous

I thought 'Belleville Rendezvous' was very unusual and like nothing I'd seen before. I was not too keen when the cyclists were very tired and their breathing was heavy and their mussels bulged. I think the story idea was very intriguing and exciting it was a bit confusing at first by at the end I understood. It was a bit like finding the missing piece of a puzzle and after that it all made sense. I loved the jazz style music because it was super catchy and made me sing it all day long. There was a great contrast between the of the miniscule, oversized, deconditioned gran and the athletic, tall, skinny boy. I would definitely recommend this film to family and friends.

Home Alone

Lynton, 16

5 out of 5
School
Boston High School For Girls
Review Date
10 September, 2014

Home Alone

This is quite an old film but I really enjoyed watching it. Home Alone is a film about a child who gets left at home at christmas time because his parents forget about him. Little did they know that there would be some robbers on the loose who just broke out from prison and are planning to rob his house.
Despite only being 9 years old he pulls out all the stops to protect his house whilst his family are in a race to get back to him. This is the first in the series and is a really funny and enjoyable film.
I really reccomend that you watch this film if you want a laugh.
I like watching this film because it helps to cheer you up and make you laugh. The rest of the series is very good aswell however my particular favourite is the first one.
The ideas behind the film are really good. He lives in a big house in the middle of america during christmas time and the idea nehind getting left at home allows the creators of the film to add in some really comical pranks and events which will make you laugh.

The Breakfast Club

Megan, 17

5 out of 5
School
Boston High School For Girls
Review Date
10 September, 2014

The Breakfast Club

One of those rare films about teenagers that really addresses the issues and troubles of each individual - by actually giving them enough screen-time to do so!
By throwing five kids together and refusing to let them out of a library, you're basically going to end up with either a blood-bath or a sickly-sweet group discussion about /feelings/. Luckily, The Breakfast Club avoids both by meeting comfortably in the middle. Each character is vivid and believable in this heart-warming yet socially-educational 80's movie, and it is both tragic and humurous in a realistic and relatable way.
John Hughes has proved that by trapping a brain, an athlete, a basketcase, a princess and a criminal together for an entire day, you can achieve epiphanic greatness.

Frozen

Sophie, 16

2 out of 5
School
Kirkwall Grammar School
Review Date
6 September, 2014

Frozen

I wanted so much to like this film. Maybe I'm just too old.

This film is so popular that I was convinced that the plot to Frozen would be a unique and fresh idea, but as the story went on it became apparent that this is just another Disney where a perfect princess needs an act of true love to save her life. Isn't that just about every Disney princess film ever made? Uh, yeah.

Disney films have become funnier over the last few years, and I have to admit that I did laugh while watching this film. The animation is also very impressive and I really liked that the reindeer couldn't talk.

'Frozen' is a good film with impressive animation and quirky characters. I just feel let down by the plot which was painfully predictable and the characters that were all perfect and amazing singers. However, I understand the film is for people younger than myself and were I younger I would probably have loved it.

Next time I would like a Disney film with a princess who wasn't perfect, in looks or in personality. I'd also like to see a Disney film with an LGBT lead. And a plot that revolved around something more realistic than true love.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy