Reviews of the Week

Here at Into Film we don't want to tell you which movies are great - we want you to tell us, and everyone else.

Love these reviews? Why not share them on Twitter or Facebook?

A Christmas Carol

Daniel, 10

5 out of 5
School
Upton Primary School
Review Date
8 December, 2014

A Christmas Carol

I really enjoyed this film, how miserable old Scrooge is transformed into a caring rich man.This live action film is a classic that I really enjoy.Dickens had some great ideas for books and he included some great English in order to describe each scene.When the three ghosts showed up, I felt exactly like Scrooge.From now on, on Christmas, I won't just care about the presents and celebrations. I will think about the poor and how I am so lucky to have a life like mine. I hope that Scrooge's chain would have shortened after he was visited by three spirits and that some people will be unhappy about his death.His money will hopefully go to the poor and now I will try and encourage people to give to people who are slightly less unfortunate than us.When read and seen, Dickens explained the whole story crystal clear, and this film will definitely by a film to consider watching on Christmas day. Hopefully this Christmas, everyone will have a merry Christmas. I f Scrooge was alive, the people around him would be so lucky

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Michael, 13

5 out of 5
School
St Richard's Catholic College
Review Date
14 December, 2014

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

A gleaming issue of Empire arrived at my door proudly boasting an image of Thorin set to a white background. I wanted to go into Peter Jackson's final instalment without any knowledge prior to it. And so began my eternal struggle to resist the temptation to read the preview, when the day finally came all of this had paid off as I was pleasantly surprised by the final conclusion. It bears a modest running time of 144 minutes which goes against the infamously long Lord of the rings trilogy formulae. After you see the establishing shot of Lake town burning as the camera flies along side Smaug, you can relax as you know you are in safe hands. The first twenty minutes is pure cinema and lives up to the name Peter Jackson has made for himself. For a film that is 144 minutes long I felt that the minutes just flew by as the performances and raw atmosphere carried the film. All we are left to do is gaze forlornly (like Bilbo Baggins) as this epic of a film passes us by. I am only merely scratching the surfaces as words could not describe what an awe striking enjoyment it is. The cinematography is beautiful as the camera sweeps across luscious landscapes, which is all beautifully scored by Howard Shore plus it's high frame rate it is a pleasure to behold. It was worth the wait spanning of a decade to witness this phenomenon. It would be impossible to write a review of a Hobbit film without sneaking in a mention of Lord of the rings so here it goes: The battle of the five armies is better than The fellowship of the ring. Those words now stain this review however it is a strong opinion which I hold. The plot is mainly Thorin Oakenshield's story but as Martin Freeman pointed out in a interview "Is it called the Thorin" he retorted in a jokey manor. The highlight of it is the battles which rage on for almost have the film and they are a sight for sore eyes (sore eyes that have prior to that witnessed some dull battles). One of the many standout moments is when the dwarfs are holding their shields in a barricade and suddenly the elves leap over them blades first as if they are a run way. This is good for two reasons 1. as we all know there has been conflict between these two races and for them to share a scene this well choreographed is a spectacle, 2. it reminds you that no one could have directed Tolkien's books better than Peter Jackson. However there are a few reservations, there is a line in the film where Kili says to his elf lover "You make me feel alive" which could be the lyrics for a cheesy seventies disco hit plus the scene where Legolas is running up some CGI falling down debris (however maybe that's just me being cynical). There is also the small matter that Bombur in the book becomes so morbidly obese that they have to leave him (this is a matter for fans to quarrel about). With the other films in the franchise the soundtrack was just reprises of themes but with the battle of the five armies the score is something new and fresh. It is worth staying part-way through the credits as the concept art which is on display as the credits roll is astounding. The credits are the only reason to see it in 3D as you can admire the artwork as they credits flow past like a stream. I stayed until the definitive end of the credits not because I was waiting for a post credit scene it was my way of bidding farewell to Middle-earth. When they had finished I turned around and I was the only person left, the usher blurted out a well done and I departed. Verdict: You will thoroughly enjoy this film if you are a fan of the others. It is a triumphant finale to a series which will continue to be loved for generations to come.

Raymond Briggs' The Snowman

Aaron, 11

4 out of 5
School
Halsnead Community Primary School
Review Date
11 December, 2014

Raymond Briggs' The Snowman

An a imothinal film 1 song in it was speakless [dont speak in it] good crimbo film and it felt drifty

12 Years A Slave

Isaac, -1

5 out of 5
School
St Joseph's College
Review Date
10 December, 2014

12 Years A Slave

This film is one of the best ive watched. I feel like they portrayed the feelings of black slavery well, and how unjust this is. All throughout, i felt like i wanted to fight his battles for him. This film really makes the viewer see the hardships that black people went, and how unfair it was; even when he was wealthy, talented, and a family man. This clearly had no effect, as he was tricked away. When he eventually returned to his family, we were taken in a flip of emotion to know they had been reuinted. A very good.film and worth a watch.

21

Owen, 11

4 out of 5
School
Flint High School
Review Date
10 December, 2014

21

This is a film is about a young man who wants to get into medical school but has to get the money to pay for it by playing cards.... seems simple enough right? Well as the film goes on it becomes much more than playing cards. Kevin Spacey is phenomenal and his development of his character is timed amazingly,
Also this film puts you in a weird yet interesting dilemma that you can ponder for days and still never feel happy about it. That problem is are the main characters good or bad? In my opinion they are anti, what I mean is they have good intentions but their method if achieving their goal is against the law.
But what I want to know is what do you think?

 The Lorax

Oliver, 6

3 out of 5
School
Garras CP School
Review Date
8 December, 2014

The Lorax

I quite liked the Lorax but it isnt my favourite film in the world.
This film is easy to watch and understand.
It has a simple story to follow about what happens if you chop down trees.
The lorax is a funny type of creature that is the guardian of the trees.
I think the bears are very cuddly and I thought it was funny when they go mad for marshmallows.

The Book of Life

Jake , 10

5 out of 5
School
Accrington Peel Park Primary School
Review Date
5 December, 2014

The Book of Life

Charming and beautiful animation that will both fill you with joy and soften your heart. The Radiohead songs are brilliant and the animation is just... wow! I love how it's set on the Mexican day of the dead, a very important time for Mexicans. The film never ceases to amaze me. You will be shocked at the twists and turns. Who wouldn't love a film where Ice Cube plays god?

Sunshine On Leith

Rhys, 12

3 out of 5
School
Oakview School
Review Date
5 December, 2014

Sunshine On Leith

This film is a fun heart warming sing along that was a nice change of pace from big blockbuster $ 1 million movies that you usually see. My film club watched this during the Scottish referendum, which I thought was a good idea because its a Scottish film. It will laugh it will make you cry as you follow two soldiers who have just arrived home from Afghanistan to see there family.

Elf

Kallum, 12

5 out of 5
School
Nottingham University Samworth Academy
Review Date
4 December, 2014

Elf

ELF is such a classic comedy Christmas film that will never get bored of this film.It is not just a comedy it can be a film that you can make a lot of memory's with not just friends and family your local ELF. You can always rely on an elf with a snow ball fight because they would come flying at you like a machine gun of snow. You can always ask an elf with questions to do with Santa because he/she would know every thing to do with him. So if you ever see an elf don't forget to have `the worlds best coffee` or you could go and get some noodles and syrup, sugar and anything that is rammed packed with sugar either you could go and get some coffee and a hold bottle full of syrup. OH and by the way I think that elves like syrup and sugar. So I give ELF a 5/5 this Christmas so get your popcorn ready and start watching this Christmas day. Happy Christmas

Duma

noura, 8

4 out of 5
School
Penybont Primary School
Review Date
4 December, 2014

Duma

Amazing! It's about a boy who took care of an adorable cheetah cub. They made best friends with each other as Duma the cheetah grew up. After a while the furry animal went back to his home. Watch it to find out what happens next...
It was a great film, my favourite part was when Duma got use to his habitat and his life in the tall grass. The boy who loved the cheetah had a lot of bravery and teamwork with Duma, and learnt that love never stops, even when someone goes away.
I would recommend this film to people of all ages.

Animal Farm (1955)

Ethan, 15

2 out of 5
School
The Macclesfield Academy
Review Date
4 December, 2014

Animal Farm (1955)

Name of the Film: Animal Farm
Year film was made: 1955
Name of Director: John Halas, Joy Batchelor
Cast: Gordon Heath, Maurice Denham
Star Rating: 2/10
Animal Farm is meant to be about hierarchy and about how once they had got rid of the farmer, they are supposedly meant to be free from it all, but instead the pigs become the new ‘farmers’ and change the rules as they go on.
I wasn’t expecting too much murder to go in this but yet it was abit enjoyable watching animals take over other animals. This film was not as I was expecting it to be as, as it is supposed to be a children’s film yet younger children wouldn’t understand what the actual movie is supposed to be about. As the rating is a U and the age says on this site ‘7+’, I think that people at this age wouldn’t grasp the full potential as they would find parts of the film hard to understand. The film’s information says, “A faithful retelling of the classic story by novelist George Orwell.
At first, the story may seem innocent enough and the colourful cast of talking farm animals cute - but look closer, and there's a dark and powerful tale being told here. When a group of farm animals run the evil farm owner off his land, everything seems like it's soon going to be perfect in this fair and just new world. But soon the pigs start warring amongst themselves, forcing the animals to choose sides...” this seems to give out a lot of info about the film itself and seems to grasp everything the film is about. This piece of info gives out a lot of the gripping and good parts of the film as if to draws your attention and makes you watch it.
I liked the film because of the hierarchy and how after all of what happened with the revolution on the farm and the pigs taking over, the farm returned back to the way it was in the first place. The farmer was replaced by the pigs and slowly the rules that where set began to change for the better for the pigs. This sets out the example that as one leader falls another one takes its place.
The film was made of the Book by George Orwell and is a perfect example of the world’s way of working. One of the pigs names is ‘Napoleon’. This links back to the French Revolution and how he became the emperor after it. This is kind of what happens in the film, as when the animals form a revolution against the farmer they manage to run him out of the farm. Once he has left the farm they manage to keep the rules that they have made for a while until Napoleon manages to take over. He changes the farm to how it would benefit him and the rest of the pigs.
I didn’t like most of the murder in the film as I believe that this wouldn’t be suitable for the age it says. I believe that the main aim of the film was to entertain the people watching it; it was also to teach you lessons about hierarchy and it sent a powerful message that when one leader falls another takes its place. I believe that this film achieved one of its aims (the one to inform you and teach you about hierarchy); this was achieved by all of the film as it sends the message across in every part it shows.
My overall opinion on the film ‘Animal Farm’ is that it isn’t the best film that was around at that time and the murder was a slight too much for the younger viewers. I give this film 2/10 as I believe the film shouldn’t have been rated seven plus.

More reviews

Previous Next

Review of the Week

Only the best selection of reviews get to feature here.

Want to sharpen up your review writing? These resources will help you make those words leap off the page!

Resources:

Review writing guide — Primary Clubs

Review writing guide — Secondary Clubs

SEN Review writing resource

Watch our review writing workshop

Browse by age, recommendations, duration and more with our powerful search tool.

To improve your experience of our website, we would like to use cookies to store anonymous information in the form of a very small text file on your computer.

You can find out more about cookies, including how to manage and delete them, in our Privacy Policy. Allow cookies

This website works best using cookies which are currently blocked. Allow cookies? Allow cookies More info Privacy Policy